Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars9
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2013
Released by Film4, this DVD includes cast and crew interviews, a featurette, plus trailer. The film is 89 minutes and extras another 25 minutes approx.

Written by Rob Young and directed by Marc Munden, the film Miranda is about an enigmatic young woman who enters the life of shy, daydreaming librarian Frank. Suddenly, he finds himself catapulted into the world of confidence tricksters, sadistic villains and amazing sex. But who is the real Miranda?

Filmed mostly in urban Yorkshire's grim interiors, the film has a stark reality of everyday life, which is carefully and cleverly juxtaposed against the dreams and ambitions of the working class and the achievements and methods of the elite class. Portraying the multi-faceted Miranda is the wonderfully adaptable and accomplished Christina Ricci, in one of her many excellent characterisations. Guiding her manoeuvres is the elegant schemer Christian (played magnificently by a superb John Hurt). The new love in Miranda's life, Frank, is yet another incredibly good character role taken to great heights by a simply stunning John Simm, who is totally believable yet also incredibly funny at times. Kyle MacLachlan plays the role of Nailor, who is more than just Frank's rival for Miranda's affections.

Some very strong performances from this cast, who all seemed to push each other to that higher level. Recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2007
Okay, so slightly biased, I used to use the library building featured in the film. But anyway, John Simm is great, as always. A very screwy film, with some seriously f-ed up characters. Well worth watching. Ignore the first post, the guy is clearly lazy, and not bright enough for a very clever mediation on life, love, and relationships.
Hard work but worth it!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2010
An early film appearance from John Simm sees him cast as a day-dreaming librarian who falls for enigmatic hustler Christina Ricci. The promising cast is further bolstered by Kle MacLachlan and the inimitable John Hurt, however this talent is mostly wasted, as the flimsy plot and tedious set pieces do nothing to bring the film to life. Forgettable.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
the film is very british and quite off the radar so all in all very enjoyable, all the cast work well together
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2008
I was expecting great things from this film , given the actors appearing in it , but I am afraid it failed to live up to expectations . It was very hard going , and you have the feeling that the people were in it only to get another pay day . One of the stars I have given it is only for the fact that Christina Ricci is in it . If you are a fan , then watch the far better films such as The Opposite of Sex , Buffalo 66 , Desert Blue , or Pecker .
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
A stellar cast is totally wasted on this rubbish. Poor in the extreme from beginning to end. Unfunny, for a supposed comedy, plot is risible in the unkind sense of the word and there is a tangible sense of some very good actors going wearily through the motions of a very poor script and thinking of the pay cheque ahead as somesort of limited consolation for having their names associated with this dross. Don't waste your time on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Saw this online for £20 after my last copy was damaged. It's hard to find this film on DVD for some reason, but its a really good quirky Brit flick. If you are after something different I would try it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
This is a fast moving film with stunning performances from all concerned: British and American actors coming together with grace and humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2007
It's been a very long time indeed since I last gave up on a movie half-way through; especially one with a cast list which includes two of my favourite US actors. This one, however, proved to be a struggle right from the off. I'm tempted to describe it as a triumph of style over content, only the style never did quite manifest itself. Overall I was left with the impression that two otherwise top-notch US actors had somehow been kidnapped and their release made conditional upon their appearing in this sluggish and valueless production. John Hurt also appears: I guess it must have been just for the money.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)