Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best value Doris Day compilation presently available
The charm of Doris Day's innocent, girl next voice just grows over the years. This 1997 release on Columbia is the best value Doris Day compilation presently available, including lots of the earlier recordings, although I narrowly prefer the wonderful 1998 Columbia compilation The Best of Doris Day [Columbia]. Just buy one, and relax into a simpler era.

If you...
Published on 2 Nov 2010 by Mike L

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars doris day songs
background music is a bit loud and high pitched and some songs do not sound like doris day because of this,not as good as the tape i once had.
Published on 5 Sep 2011 by wilfred


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best value Doris Day compilation presently available, 2 Nov 2010
By 
Mike L (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The charm of Doris Day's innocent, girl next voice just grows over the years. This 1997 release on Columbia is the best value Doris Day compilation presently available, including lots of the earlier recordings, although I narrowly prefer the wonderful 1998 Columbia compilation The Best of Doris Day [Columbia]. Just buy one, and relax into a simpler era.

If you want to start with a bigger collection: try the bargain 2008 2-CD set on Not Now Music, The Best Of Doris Day [Not Now Music], which is actually the earlier 1-CD The Best of Doris Day packaged with the CD reissue of the two Columbia albums Day By Day/Day By Night from 1956/1957.

I've collated the recording years below. "Sentimental Journey" sounds to be the original version, released in 1945, rather than the 1964 re-recording. It became the unofficial anthem of soldiers returning home from the war and sold over 5 million copies.

1 Move over darling 1963
2 Secret love 1953
3 Whatever will be, will be (Que será, será) 1956 with Frank De Vol & His Orchestra
4 Lullaby of Broadway [78rpm version] 1951 with Harry James & His Orchestra
5 Love me or leave me [78rpm version] 1955
6 It's magic [78rpm version] 1948
7 Everybody loves a lover 1958 with Frank De Vol & His Orchestra
8 Dream a little dream of me 1957 with Paul Weston & His Music From Hollywood
9 Pillow talk 1959
10 Cheek to cheek 1958 with Frank De Vol & His Orchestra
11 Fly me to the moon (In other words) 1964
12 Close your eyes 1961 with the André Previn Trio
13 Quiet nights of quiet stars (Corcovado) 1964
14 Night and day 1958 with Frank De Vol & His Orchestra
15 Let's face the music and dance 1958 with Frank De Vol & His Orchestra
16 Pennies from heaven 1958 with Frank De Vol & His Orchestra
17 Over the rainbow 1958 with Frank De Vol & His Orchestra
18 I'll never stop loving you [78rpm version] 1955
19 If I give my heart to you [78rpm version] 1954 with The Mellomen/Frank and Frank De Vol & His Orchestra
20 Bewitched [78rpm version] 1949 with The Mellomen
21 A very precious love 1957 with Frank De Vol & His Orchestra
22 The Black Hills of Dakota 1953 with Paul Weston & His Orchestra
23 Teacher's pet [78rpm version] 1957 with Frank De Vol & His Orchestra
24 Makin' whoopee 1959 with Frank De Vol & His Orchestra
25 Ready, willing and able [78rpm version] 1954 with Buddy Cole & His Orchestra
26 Sentimental journey [78rpm version] 1944/5

Update 2012: check out the 3 CD, 60 track compilation Day By Day - The Greatest Hits & More. Regrettably "Bewitched" is missing and it omits "Move over darling" (not a problem for me), but it's a very strong offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHOW!, 5 Aug 2009
By 
D. Smiri - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What can one say....its Doris Day! No need to review this little lady as every song she sings is great! And you can even listern to the album beforehand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daydreaming Doris Day, 21 April 2010
By 
A fabulous album that has lots and lots of great well known tracks. I play it all the time very easy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A VERY PRECIOUS LOVE- DORIS DAY, 11 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For want of something to watch earlier this evening, I finally settled down to view 'What Katie did next' on television.
My attention span lasted all of five minutes, but I watched long enough to hear a wondrous song pop up on the soundtrack.
It was 'Cheek to Cheek' sung by the magical Doris.
So after logging on to my computer I went straight to Amazon looked up Doris Day and wonder of wonders I found the song on this Doris Day album along with many others just as exquisite.
I bought it and will wait patiently for it to arrive.
I read recently that Doris Day is not in the best of health.
I wish her well and take this opportunity to thank her most sincerely for all the joy she has given to the World via her films and music.
'A Very Precious Love' she most certainly is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The very best of Doris Day, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful album with lots of Doris Day's favourites. Her voice is timeless and never fails to evoke emotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top marks for Doris, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really great, love it and wish I'd had this years ago. I'll be listening to it for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doris Day CD's, 31 Jan 2012
By 
Tootsmalloy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I love this CD of Doris Day especially because most of the songs are very romantic. I already have the CD but just had to buy another copy for one of my Daughters who is a big fan. The CD is entitled The Very Best and it certainly is the BEST. It arrived almost the day after ordering it and it was well packed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars doberman, 26 Oct 2011
Another great CD from Doris Day. Having collect most of her CDs released in the UK Ive never been disappointed,so if you are into easy listening sit back relax and listen to a great singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the very best, 27 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an excellent reminder of how stylish a singer Doris Day was. Every word as clear as a bell. Every emotion expressed. And all with the Doris Day smile evident.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good cd, 7 Aug 2014
If you just want the one cd of Doris Day this is a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews