Customer Reviews


185 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC
I have been playing games for 25 years and loved the max payne 1 and 2 and max payne 3 delivers the best game I have ever played. You get 2 discs which contains days of play, stunning graphics, fantastic storyline the list is endless. GET THIS GAME
Published 17 months ago by Mr. S. Humphries

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not all that great.
To say Max Payne 3 is a bad game is a bit harsh. It's a good game with many flaws.

Cinematically and narrative wise it's excellent, the story of Max really pulls you in all it's gritty, sombre glory. Though it has to be said that it's not the first time we've seen the story of a depressive alcoholic ex-cop, who's family have been murdered and has nothing to...
Published 17 months ago by William Templar


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 20 Jan 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have been playing games for 25 years and loved the max payne 1 and 2 and max payne 3 delivers the best game I have ever played. You get 2 discs which contains days of play, stunning graphics, fantastic storyline the list is endless. GET THIS GAME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sustains the best parts of a brilliant series., 3 Jun 2012
By 
Triple_Sod89 (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I was looking forward to Max Payne 3 for a long time before I bought the game. I have a deep rooted love for the first two installments and had every faith Rockstar would eventually deliver another tounge-in-cheek, neo-noir, stylish-death shoot-fest that I would love just as much.

And they did it.

I read a lot of negative reviews before I finally decided to just give the developers the benefit of the doubt. The majority seem to complain about the very things that make the series great. I'm so grateful Rockstar didn't just cop out by making a Call of Duty clone that would have pulled in the mainstream gamers - they stayed true to what the series has always been about: self-conscious noir storylines with gameplay that promises endless satisfaction through shooting people in the face whilst in awe of the way your balletic violence is conveyed.

I haven't even tried the multiplayer yet so will update review in due course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not all that great., 23 Jan 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
To say Max Payne 3 is a bad game is a bit harsh. It's a good game with many flaws.

Cinematically and narrative wise it's excellent, the story of Max really pulls you in all it's gritty, sombre glory. Though it has to be said that it's not the first time we've seen the story of a depressive alcoholic ex-cop, who's family have been murdered and has nothing to live for. Perhaps not hugely original, but very we'll written when all said and done and you can't argue with that.

The story is well supported by a montage of wonderfully detailed scenarios, and sharp graphics. Essentially they are all just A to B glorified corridors, but they are well rendered and add to the gritty feel of the game.

Unfortunately, great stories and good graphics don't make a good game. The finishing touch is always the game-play. And.... You guessed it, that is the failing of this game.
Firstly Max handles like he is running through treacle, hit sprint and he moves no faster. There is a standard cover system, but it's got nothing on the likes of Splinter Cell Conviction, Gears, or even R6 Vegas 2.

Another oversight is the levels and cut scenes, you are pretty much railroaded through the levels with very little time to look around for ammo and health.
Many times after a gun fight it goes straight to a cut scene into the next area, so often you end up facing 6 armoured guys toting assault rifles with nothing but a pistol and 2 shots, oh yeah...with no health. This is incredibly frustrating, sometimes if you're really lucky after a cut scene transition, you will loose the guns you've picked up and be left with just a pistol and a couple of mags.

If that isn't irritating enough, as the game progresses the enemies become almost invincible, taking entire magazines of rifle ammunition to kill. So you spend most of your time struggling in shootdodge or bullet-time trying to score head shots (which don't always kill them...), but when Max lands he's not exactly quick on his feet to get up, and you get shot to hell on the floor too.

The game also suffers from a lack of variety when it comes to weapons. Ammunition, and health are always in very short supply. There's challenging, and then there's facing down 8 invincible enemies with only a rifle, twenty bullets and just enough health to remain standing. This is on medium difficulty by the way.

There is an aim assist, but that sometimes won't target the closest threat, or will aim low on an enemy behind cover. Sometimes it misses the guy standing six feet away altogether.

Basically put; many of the times you suffer an untimely death will be because of the controls and how the game handles. Or because a cut-scene dumps you in combat with no ammo or health - not because you suck.

So to sum up:
Pros: The story is really good, perhaps a little cliche in places, but you gotta love Max's gritty dry tones, and subtle humour. The levels are really detailed and the graphics are sharp. The game is involving and can be fun to play and to watch.
Cons: Controls are a little slow, level design lacks imagination in direction of play, never enough health or ammunition to keep the play smooth and flowing. Enemies become almost invincible later on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up the ante and the Payne, 22 Dec 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I feel that I had to write a review about this game (this is my first review) as I really enjoyed it. I feel that firstly it differs greatly from your COD and military shooters as it has a different story and different setting. Brazil looks great and the environments are fantastic. The story really engrossed me. I feel that players need to give this game a go. Its fun, its different and its MAXimum realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Game., 18 Jun 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A fantastic all round package, has a great single player and aswell a great fun multiplayer, I don't see why there are some bad feedback for this game, maybe they were expecting a open world game like gta and that's why they were disappointed, anyway the game has great story line and the charm of max Payne is great and the attention to detail to the game is amazing, just had me think wow at certain points of the game, anyway I know we all are waiting eagerly for gta v, but this is a good filler until then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a rental, 6 Jun 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As per the title, max payne is an enjoyable game with a good story line but is really only worth 1 play through in my opinion. Despite the enhanced graphics the gameplay has not really moved on from xbox 2 so can get a bit tedious towards the end of the game.

For these reasons I'll give it a 3 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good experience, average game, 12 Jun 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Good experience but not worth 40. Would be a bargain for 20.Good story, but limited gameplay, however it is very challenging on harder difficulties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely marvellous, 10 Jun 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Really enjoyed this - haven't played MP2 for some reason but had the first years ago and figured I'd give this a go, especially after such good trailers.

I was taking some time to initially decide whether to go for Tom Clancy's Future Soldier or this, and very pleased I got this first. Although I completed it over the weekend I did spend a good 16 hours (including a few hours on multiplayer) in finishing it. The mrs isn't massively happy but then she also sat and watched some of the game towards the end and was impressed, although squealed quite a bit at some of the fairly graphic scenes.

Anyway very impressed hope this review is of use to anyone else doubting whether to buy it - its a must and will probably live in my collection with Skyrim, MW3, Black Ops, LA Noir and Dragon Age Origins whereas the majority of played games get sold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars maxpayne-full, 12 Aug 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having played previous max payne games on ps2 i was looking forward to this games release well to say that i was disapointed is an understatement first of all this so called "game" feels more like a video as there is so many cut scenes then when you are finally invited to take part in the game its only for a few minutes and then back to the "film" i was so dissapointed with this game i exchanged it next day !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ultimate cinematic / game experience!, 4 Jun 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
An unreal experience. The closest thing Ive ever played to a cinematic experience, on any console in my 25 years of gaming! This is outstanding. A believable, well written story that weaves beautifully into astounding gameplay.

Yes, there's limited weapons, the levels are extremely linear and max hasnt got many moves.. But the realism this game gives is second to none! Will only be fully appreciated by the mature gamer IMO. People that value & enjoy a storyline, realise the effort put into how a character reacts to damage, attention to detail in levels etc. A superb release yet again from Rockstar!

To be fair, I don't see a great replayability factor though. A must buy tho, as its a modern masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360)
Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) by Rockstar Games (Xbox 360)
3.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews