Customer Reviews


227 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Max Payne, Now With Gritty Detail
I'm a bit late to this game, and I think like a number of others I was put off by the weird advertising decision to show Max Payne as a bald guy in a Hawaiian shirt, which led many to fear that Max Payne wouldn't be the same gritty action-fest they knew and loved…

…but man was I wrong to have my doubts! This sequel is expertly crafted with fantastic...
Published 5 months ago by Mr. I. Simms

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not all that great.
To say Max Payne 3 is a bad game is a bit harsh. It's a good game with many flaws.

Cinematically and narrative wise it's excellent, the story of Max really pulls you in all it's gritty, sombre glory. Though it has to be said that it's not the first time we've seen the story of a depressive alcoholic ex-cop, who's family have been murdered and has nothing to...
Published on 23 Jan. 2013 by William Templar


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Max Payne, Now With Gritty Detail, 17 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm a bit late to this game, and I think like a number of others I was put off by the weird advertising decision to show Max Payne as a bald guy in a Hawaiian shirt, which led many to fear that Max Payne wouldn't be the same gritty action-fest they knew and loved…

…but man was I wrong to have my doubts! This sequel is expertly crafted with fantastic visuals, a dark and blood-soaked storyline, and fantastic gameplay that preserves many of the best bits from the previous games, while adding a solid cover shooting mechanic, and "last man standing" slow motion to kill an enemy before they deal the fatal blow to you. It feels refined and smooth, while keeping the gun-play very, very deadly.

Regarding difficulty, I've only played through on medium so far, and I found that pretty tough in places, particularly when there are frequent enemies ambushing you down seemingly deserted corridors, requiring fast reflexes to shoot dodge or find yourself gunned down with no cover to hide behind. It all serves to make the game very tense, requiring careful use of your slow motion bullet-time to leap to fresh cover and get those precious killing head-shots. There are also numerous set-pieces to keep things fresh, alongside "free aim" segments of slow motion challenging you to kill as many enemies as possible or else be stuck with hard odds after returning to normal. If I were to have any complaints about the game-play, its that the enemy seem to find it too easy to know where you are (so ducking around to another piece of cover doesn't take the heat off you for even a moment), and it can be difficult to know when you've killed an enemy, but otherwise the game-play is faultless, if very challenging at points.

In terms of replay value there are various "grinds" such as number of head shots, kills with particular weapons etc., plus a number of achievements (many in the free aim segments, which I seem to have failed to get any of!). There is also a series of "New York Minute" arcade challenges, pushing you to complete them as fast as possible, so there's some good content even outside of the main game. There are also two additional difficulty levels beyond Hard, though I'm not sure if I'd even want to attempt those without first grabbing more of the golden gun weapon upgrades scattered throughout the campaign. There's also multiplay, though I've yet to try this.

The campaign's story is as action-packed as you'd expect, though not quite as gripping a conspiracy as the first two (I had the villain clocked from the first level's cutscene). Not that that slows anything down as excellent, if a little cutscene heavy, direction, superb character graphics and animation and a few scattered extras to find in the levels tell the story well, and keep our favourite tortured cop as dark and disturbed as ever as he fights substance abuse as much as he fights waves of enemies. While I was initially disappointed by the change of scenery from the grim, snow-covered New York I loved, Sao Paulo manages to be every bit as dark in spite of its sunshine, as Max rampages through some of the worst areas in the city, but for good measure we do get a couple of flash-backs set in white-washed city fans are familiar with.

All in all this is a great game, and a very worthy addition to the series. I might even argue that it's better than the second game, and I very much want to see a fourth title in this great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not all that great., 23 Jan. 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
To say Max Payne 3 is a bad game is a bit harsh. It's a good game with many flaws.

Cinematically and narrative wise it's excellent, the story of Max really pulls you in all it's gritty, sombre glory. Though it has to be said that it's not the first time we've seen the story of a depressive alcoholic ex-cop, who's family have been murdered and has nothing to live for. Perhaps not hugely original, but very we'll written when all said and done and you can't argue with that.

The story is well supported by a montage of wonderfully detailed scenarios, and sharp graphics. Essentially they are all just A to B glorified corridors, but they are well rendered and add to the gritty feel of the game.

Unfortunately, great stories and good graphics don't make a good game. The finishing touch is always the game-play. And.... You guessed it, that is the failing of this game.
Firstly Max handles like he is running through treacle, hit sprint and he moves no faster. There is a standard cover system, but it's got nothing on the likes of Splinter Cell Conviction, Gears, or even R6 Vegas 2.

Another oversight is the levels and cut scenes, you are pretty much railroaded through the levels with very little time to look around for ammo and health.
Many times after a gun fight it goes straight to a cut scene into the next area, so often you end up facing 6 armoured guys toting assault rifles with nothing but a pistol and 2 shots, oh yeah...with no health. This is incredibly frustrating, sometimes if you're really lucky after a cut scene transition, you will loose the guns you've picked up and be left with just a pistol and a couple of mags.

If that isn't irritating enough, as the game progresses the enemies become almost invincible, taking entire magazines of rifle ammunition to kill. So you spend most of your time struggling in shootdodge or bullet-time trying to score head shots (which don't always kill them...), but when Max lands he's not exactly quick on his feet to get up, and you get shot to hell on the floor too.

The game also suffers from a lack of variety when it comes to weapons. Ammunition, and health are always in very short supply. There's challenging, and then there's facing down 8 invincible enemies with only a rifle, twenty bullets and just enough health to remain standing. This is on medium difficulty by the way.

There is an aim assist, but that sometimes won't target the closest threat, or will aim low on an enemy behind cover. Sometimes it misses the guy standing six feet away altogether.

Basically put; many of the times you suffer an untimely death will be because of the controls and how the game handles. Or because a cut-scene dumps you in combat with no ammo or health - not because you suck.

So to sum up:
Pros: The story is really good, perhaps a little cliche in places, but you gotta love Max's gritty dry tones, and subtle humour. The levels are really detailed and the graphics are sharp. The game is involving and can be fun to play and to watch.
Cons: Controls are a little slow, level design lacks imagination in direction of play, never enough health or ammunition to keep the play smooth and flowing. Enemies become almost invincible later on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes Shoot-Em-Up Gaming To The Max !, 2 Mar. 2015
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360).

Product Info.
2xCDs
Certificate:18
Publisher: Rockstar Games
Game Type: Shoot-Em-Up

Features:
- Developed by Rockstar Games for a seamless, highly detailed, cinematic experience
- Advanced Bullet Time & Shootdodge & Final Kill-cam mechanics for stylish shooting action
- Cutting edge aiming, targeting and animation processes for precise, fluid gunplay
- A dark, twisted story chronicling the return of Max Payne, one of the most iconic characters in videogames
- Tight integration between Natural Motion's Euphoria Character Behaviour System & a brand new iteration of the Rockstar Advanced Game Engine (RAGE) for lifelike movement & a new level of environmental awareness
- A wide range of weapons rendered in incredible detail: hammers cock back, shells eject from the chamber & each bullet is individually modeled from the split second it's fired to the moment of impact.
- Advanced particle physics & destructible environments set the stage for dramatic & chaotic gun fights
- New to the series, a compelling & addictive multiplayer experience to match the dark & relentless atmosphere of the single-player game

What's The Story?
For Max Payne, the tragedies that took his loved ones years ago are wounds that refuse to heal. No longer a cop, close to washed up & addicted to pain killers, Max takes a job in São Paulo, Brazil, protecting the family of wealthy real estate mogul Rodrigo Branco, in an effort to finally escape his troubled past. But as events spiral out of his control, Max Payne finds himself alone on the streets of an unfamiliar city, desperately searching for the truth & fighting for a way out.

Timelord Thoughts.
Max Payne & it's sequel were two of my favourite games on the PlayStation 2 as they featured a film noir style environment, great graphics, atmospheric sound & brutal gunplay, now Max Payne 3 the third game in the series appears on the next gen console but can Max Payne still stand up to recent releases like the GTA series or Gears Of War?

Well for the most part Max Payne 3 is awesome & the game does feature some amazing visuals combined with a dark atmospheric storyline & keeps within the tradition of the previous games & features some amazing action packedgunfights that would put John Woo to shame with it's impressive cover fire shootouts thanks to a excellent AI & delivers some great bloody kill shots in bullet time that packs a mean punch.

The level of difficulty from medium upwards is quite difficult & very challenging, the controls can be slightly fiddly at first but stick with it & you should get used to them fairly quickly.

Highlights in the game include the many enemies who try to ambush you down corridors or behind walls which requires quick reflexes using your Xbox controller as you duck down trying to find some cover as quickly as possible to hide behind adds a genuine sense of realism to the game although some may find the game does become a little repetitive at times with the constant shootouts but this is just a minor quibble to a otherwise solid game.

The game features some superb cut scenes, realistic characters & great voice acting that adds a certain drama to the darkly toned storyline & the character of Max who is now an aging burned out ex cop alcoholic pill popping anti-hero is one of gamings most bad ass playable characters, but be warned Max Payne 3 contains the F' word that is used throughout the game & certainly isn't suitable for younger gamers.

With many additional mini challenges & bonus extras like finding the golden gun weapon upgrades which are scattered throughout the campaign & the addition of teaming up with a friend for online multiplay, Max Payne 3 is a dark gritty violent game that for under a tenner is well worth purchasing & adding to your Xbox 360 gaming collection.

Timelord Rating.
8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sustains the best parts of a brilliant series., 3 Jun. 2012
By 
Triple_Sod89 (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I was looking forward to Max Payne 3 for a long time before I bought the game. I have a deep rooted love for the first two installments and had every faith Rockstar would eventually deliver another tounge-in-cheek, neo-noir, stylish-death shoot-fest that I would love just as much.

And they did it.

I read a lot of negative reviews before I finally decided to just give the developers the benefit of the doubt. The majority seem to complain about the very things that make the series great. I'm so grateful Rockstar didn't just cop out by making a Call of Duty clone that would have pulled in the mainstream gamers - they stayed true to what the series has always been about: self-conscious noir storylines with gameplay that promises endless satisfaction through shooting people in the face whilst in awe of the way your balletic violence is conveyed.

I haven't even tried the multiplayer yet so will update review in due course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Game., 18 Jun. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A fantastic all round package, has a great single player and aswell a great fun multiplayer, I don't see why there are some bad feedback for this game, maybe they were expecting a open world game like gta and that's why they were disappointed, anyway the game has great story line and the charm of max Payne is great and the attention to detail to the game is amazing, just had me think wow at certain points of the game, anyway I know we all are waiting eagerly for gta v, but this is a good filler until then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up the ante and the Payne, 22 Dec. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I feel that I had to write a review about this game (this is my first review) as I really enjoyed it. I feel that firstly it differs greatly from your COD and military shooters as it has a different story and different setting. Brazil looks great and the environments are fantastic. The story really engrossed me. I feel that players need to give this game a go. Its fun, its different and its MAXimum realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I only bought this game on a recommendation from a friend (and because it was relatively cheap). Firstly I would like to say I generally prefer games with a lot more freedom, such as assassins creed, gta and saints row. However I was pleasantly surprised with this game.
The graphics are phenomenal considering the sheer amount of locations. As well as this there is a great diversity of locations, one of the first missions is in a nightclub, but you end up in the Brazilian favela slums, cruising down rivers in speedboats, in football stadiums, offices and even in a graveyard and many more. But the detail that has remained is great, you can shoot pen holders off desks, water bottles over in the gym, there is very little that the designers seem to have left out. Coupled with some great first person shooter action and the useful 'bullet time' you can really have a lot of fun. This is a game that can take a while if you want it to (particularly if you put the difficulty on hard which I would recommend) they had to put it on 2 discs, presumably because the one disc couldn't handle the awesomeness. The storyline is rich and interesting, it begins very positively but becomes a little boring in the middle, only for the end to just blow you away.
Of course there are some negatives in an otherwise unblemished game. You seem to be pushed through each level without taking any time to appreciate the funny posters and messages the programmers have added for the gamers amusement, with Max drivelling on about "I needed to hurry if I would get out in one piece.. blah blah". A lot of people have been complaining about the lack of ammo, this isn't actually a real problem, so long as you don't get too trigger happy, but admittedly if you do run out of ammo you are basically screwed unless you can quickly get another weapon. The cut scenes are occasionally long and boring, often just of Max drinking himself to an early grave for about 10 minutes, which can get a bit old (considering this is the third game now) however if you really are that bothered you can just skip them.
Overall I would say that this game is well worth the buy particularly due to its low price. Another job well done Rockstar!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why do you do this Max Payne!, 29 April 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My first introduction to Rockstar was Red Dead Redemption. That game blew my mind, it got everything right. On the other hand, Max Payne 3 stumbles in quite a few areas, boiling down to a very mixed experience.

Pros:
-Graphics are impressive
-Gameplay is solid, there are virtually no glitches
-Parts of this game make you feel like a huge badass
-Nice variety of weapons
-Max comes out with some funny lines now and again
-Really fun set pieces
-Challenging, this could be a negative at some points, but it does add something that typical 3rd person shooters are usually lacking
-Slow motion ability thing is very satisfying
-3 levels in particular are really fun
-Good length, and variety in locations
-While I never really play multiplayer, I hear this game is great for that

Cons:
-Gamplay boils down to: depressing cutscene, shooting gallery, depressing cutscene.
-Everyone in this universe is a douche
-A huge lack in enemy variety, quickly becomes repetitive
-Story leaves a lot to be desired
-It takes itself much too seriously, and becomes pointlessly depressing for no real reason

Overall:
While I enjoyed most of this game, I had too many problems with it to either replay it, or recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 20 Jan. 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have been playing games for 25 years and loved the max payne 1 and 2 and max payne 3 delivers the best game I have ever played. You get 2 discs which contains days of play, stunning graphics, fantastic storyline the list is endless. GET THIS GAME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a rental, 6 Jun. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As per the title, max payne is an enjoyable game with a good story line but is really only worth 1 play through in my opinion. Despite the enhanced graphics the gameplay has not really moved on from xbox 2 so can get a bit tedious towards the end of the game.

For these reasons I'll give it a 3 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360)
Max Payne 3 (Xbox 360) by Rockstar Games (Xbox 360)
£6.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews