Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars254
4.1 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Edition: Standard|Change
Price:£7.44+ £2.03 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2012
I was initially very skeptical to buy this game, I absolutely loved Max Payne 1 and 2 and suddenly it seemed to me such a bad idea to have a Max Payne game set in Brasil with a much colored color pallet than the 2 initial games, since I loved the voice narration and the noir feel of the first games, I thought they had ruined the franchise. So I didn't buy this game right away, and waited for a price drop. I bought this game 2 weeks ago, and having now finished the game, I can honestly say, boy was I wrong. This is still the Max Payne I loved, the voice narration is a treat, with all the different catchy phrases Max says when he picks up the pills. The story, while not being revolutionary is well told, and enjoyable. The gameplay as always is awesome, mixing your typical cover shoot em ups (uncharted style) with bullet time. What impresses more overall though is the attention to detail in every single room/alley we visit and brasilian is spoken throughout the game, and for me as Portuguese I can tell you the voice acting was done superbly. I recommend to everyone still in doubt you pickup this game, hope you have as much fun as I had ;)
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
To understand the story of Max Payne himself, you have to do some searching about him in the internet if you don't wanna play the first or second one. I did not play either of does ones, and I did my homework and did read alot of stuff of Max's backstory. So you do have to know his character arc a little bit, but storyline wise, this game sets off a completly new chapter in Max's life, so you dont need to play any of the 2 past games to understand this games storyline.

To the ones who know about Max but haven't played this game: Basically, this game takes place years after the events of MP2, and now, Max, is a potrayed as a deppressed middle aged man, who abuses the use of painkillers, drinks alot, and smokes alot. The tragedy that took his loved ones is a pain that will never heal to Max. With no choice left, he is offered a job to protect a rich wealthy family in Sao Paulo Brazil. And from there on, Max sets of with a new chapter to his life.

This game was amazing in my opinion, of the best games I have played so far. Max Payne is an amazing character, so is this game.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
I loved the graphics and the locations of the game. The controls are great and very accessible. The music and voice acting is top notch. I played the game on normal difficulty and it was very challenging. You will die a lot in this game!

My only gripe would be that the duck and shoot gameplay can get a bit repetitive. But the gunfights are really cool and the bullet time feature where it slows down the action is incredibly stylish and you'll find yourself jumping sideways in slow motion whilst planting a perfect headshot time and time again. I just wished there was a bit more variation in how the game plays out.

So i would definitely recommend getting this game if you're a fan of balls to the wall action especially the Uncharted trilogy which this game very closely resembles. Go buy it :D
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
Max Payne is back ... again and you can be guaranteed that he is going to leave a trail of destruction in his wake. Max has relocated to bright and sunny Brazil which means the game looks totally different than the previous instalments which were very dark in atmosphere and general look, this is bathed in sunshine and fairly bright and breezy apart from the rampaging violence.
Our hero has also undergone a physical transformation and looks like he has a bit of the Bruce Willis about him. Unfortunately, the Max Payne series has taken an almost identical path in terms of quality that Bruces most famous film series Die Hard. By this Max Payne 1 is seen as a classic by many including myself, Max Payne 2 is a solid addition to the series and then you have Max Payne 3 which should have been equal to Die Hard with a vengeance but they decided to skip this straight to the fall from grace that was Die Hard 4.
Gone is the tough but realistic New York detective fighting the good fight against local gangsters, this has been replaced by an almost Arnie type action hero from the mid 80s who will take on armies without even thinking about it.
Now this twist in direction is what has become expected on this current gen of machines as the money being made is by the action games that follow this formula of more shooty shooty equals more sales. Now, this wouldn't bother me usually if the main gaming mechanic (aside from the slo mo) which is the cover shooting and in particular shooting from cover is horrendously broken.
At a number of points in the game you will be set up to fail, whether it's a case of you not being allowed to go into cover or your character standing out in the open at the end of one of the many cut scenes. We also have the case of some of the toughest enemies in a game ever, not because of great AI but because the game decides that shots to the chest are not good enough to put an enemy down for the count, even though they are only wearing t shirts or string vests., please take into consideration that this gets worse when you actually run into characters wearing body armour therefore headshots or more accurately face shots are the only way to proceed quickly.
One of the main complaints form this gen is that games are generally too short but this game does provide adequate playing time even to the point when you feel that the story is being dragged out for the sake of it.
I am quite disappointed by this game as I was expecting so much more from Max Paynes adventures on this generation but it feels like a generic third person shooter with poor mechanics has been churned out. Hopefully Max will be back in the near future and fans can get the story and game that they have patiently waited for and this can be filed away as an entertaining yet poor misstep.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2012
`Max Payne' is a franchise that is been in slumberland for some time. Back in the day it helped to develop and refine the slo-mo game mechanic that is prevalent in hundreds of games today. Originals cannot always remain relevant and perhaps this is why Rockstar decided to mothball the franchise until 2012, but in a world of bleakly realistic movies, is it not time for another game about the cynical cop with the leather coat and permanent sneer?

`Max Payne 3' is a mash up of what is new and what is old about the franchise. The game mechanic that made the series so popular in the first place remains intact and has been developed upon. Max is not one for cover and if you jump out at the enemy, time slows so that you can despatch your foe with pinpoint accuracy. The graphically quality and seamless integration of this slo-mo is far better than in the PS2 days and Rockstar have rightly structured the game around this mechanic. Although not as fresh as it used to be, gun time is still the most pleasurable aspect of the game.

The differences in `Max Payne 3' than in previous iterations come in terms of story and tone. Gone are the panels that made the game feel like an adult comic book and instead you get a bleak modern feel; part found footage, part `Children of God'. Max is as drunk as ever and prone to talking to himself, but the story is far more in-depth this time and the levels far more diverse and interesting.

Despite diversity in terms of level location, `Max Payne' still feels overlong in places, with the game mechanics remaining the same throughout. In the end it was the storyline that kept me playing till the end, because I was bored of the gameplay. Ceaseless jumping and shooting may have cut it in 2004, but a modern gamer needs a little more diversity to their game and `Max Payne' does not provide this. There is the added distraction of an online versus mode, but the main event is graphically and narratively compelling, but overlong and increasingly samey.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Two of the best games i played on the PS2 was the first two Max Payne games so it was great to hear of the third game being on the PS3.
As someone else said the departure from the dark mood of the cities was a big step but it works as because of flashbacks we can still see the dark city set missions as well as brighter missions like the Brazil set levels and it works together so well.
Rockstar have done a great job of the shooting,visuals,voice work and best of all the story with a fantastic actor voicing Max(i thought it was Kiefer Sutherland but it isn't)and his terrific acting makes u laugh and care about his adventures that a lot of games don't even try.
Couple of niggles including the opening cut scenes that take too long and you can't skip them and there are a few bugs or glitches as they are called that are a bit irritating but its such a enjoyable game you won't really care and i lost hours playing as its very additive.
Not as good as MP 1 or 2 as they were groundbreaking but in a world of so many first person shooter titles(which i also love)its nice to play a top old fashioned third person action game and hope that Max can return in the future and also a more truer movie can be made.
By the way make sure you get the strategy guide as you will miss a lot of things out otherwise,those guides are such a help when you get stuck and couldn't complete this game in particular without them.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
I thought the game was ok. Nothing amazing, but it was ok.

Max payne 3 is a 3rd person shooter game that tries to take it's self seriously but fails.

Graphics: Nothing amazing Adverage 7/10
Music: 8/10 Loved Tears by Health
Gameplay: 5/10 (Ill explain later in the review)

So why did I rate the Gameplay a 5/10. Well Max Payne 3 is the kind of game that you love and then after about 2 to 3 hours you start to get bored of.

So I start the game up. Watch a 10 Minute cut scene. Then the game loads up. Kill some enemys then watch a cut scene. and then I kill some more enemys. Watch a cutscene. You can see why this gets boring after a while. However their were some fun bits in Max Payne 3. For example the bit where you're on the speed boat and you have to shoot the bad guys. Max Payne 3 is a Get from point a to point b kind of game. No skill needed. You can finish Max payne 3 in just under 6 hours (If you're on easy)

Most people would say Max payne 3 is an Generic shooter game but it has a twist..... SLOW- MOTION!!!! After a while a bar fills up and you can use it to turn it into a slow motion battle. This helped me get headshots without having a big impact on my health.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2012
Max Payne 3 is an unfortunate departure from what made the series so respected and interesting in the first place, and the game's not better for it.

In Max's long absence he's been tarted up considerably by Rockstar; gone is the grey and black noir of New York, replaced with a cornucopia of colour in Sao Paulo where max now wears fashionable suits well cut suits rather than the distinctive old leather jacket. The changes are obviously an overt push to make Max more appealing to a new generation of players. However, it really doesn't help to frame, or support the plot: Max is now working as a private security guard for people he hates. So, it's surprising as to why he becomes so emotionally invested in retrieving a kidnapped socialite. The plot from here is weakly elaborated and elucidated on, with the principle antagonist changing wildly. I really didn't understand what was going on at most points, which for a game with this many cutscenes is really criminal.

The gameplay is quite good early on, gun battles are tense and exciting bullet ballets when compared to most stale shooters on the market. However, things become a little sour about halfway through the game; enemies become more numerous, and they start wearing body armour. This makes encounters with large packs sterile cover based affairs trying to randomly land a head shot. Shots to the chest do negligible damage. Bullet time helps affairs but its mechanics are slightly different from the previous two games the principle difference being Max no longer gains bullet time from kills made whilst using it. In Max Payne 2, Max could become a bullet spewing ball of pain inflicting massive amounts of damage on his enemies. In Max Payne 3, unless you have a full meter there's no point in even straying out of cover, unless you have a particular fondness for the grisly tableau which frames every death in comic book style. Max's patented shoot dodge also becomes very irritating in the new game especially in confined environments. Any collision with a bit of scenery will cause Max to come out of bullet time without warning, leaving you extremely vulnerable lying on the floor. Max, also stands up so glacially, during which time you're completely unable to return any type of fire you're more likely to be shredded by enemies unless you landed behind some cover. When it works together as it is supposed to the gameplay is unparalleled, although most of the time a army of small annoyances conspire against you to make the game very, very annoying.

If there's one thing Max Payne 3 does better than anyone it's the music. Rockstar understand in game music better than anyone and the Music in Max Payne 3 is peerless, the original soundtrack by Health is always there, always driving you forwards with an understated sense of urgency.

Multiplayer is forgettable. It seems most people have forgotten it already a month after launch there's not too many people playing it.

All in all Max Payne 3 is not quite the triumphant return of one of my gaming protagonists. That said no one should be put off from trying it.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
Having seen the trailers for this game and not the actual game play I was somewhat dissapointed with the game, I have started it but it is the sort of thing I will do piece meal rather than from begining to end which is the way I normally play games, others may like it but I am not keen so the thing to do is try it and see for yourself and make up your own mind.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
Great game. As a fan of the old school Max Payne games I can say it's pretty faithful to the gameplay that made the first two games a success, with few updates. There's quite a few cut scenes (but no loading screens) which could annoy some players but I was kind of expecting it being familiar with the heavy narrative of the earlier titles. Gunplay is tight, fun and still satisfying as hell.

It's also hard as nails on the higher difficulty levels which is also great for old school fans. I also feel I should mention how much I enjoyed HEALTH's soundtrack for the game, really adds a thick layer of atmosphere to the levels. It even has a reference or two to Captain baseball bat boy, what more do you need?. Highly recommended!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question

Customers also viewed these items

£13.04

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)