Customer Reviews


186 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put off by the new scenery this is still the Max Payne we all know and love!
I was initially very skeptical to buy this game, I absolutely loved Max Payne 1 and 2 and suddenly it seemed to me such a bad idea to have a Max Payne game set in Brasil with a much colored color pallet than the 2 initial games, since I loved the voice narration and the noir feel of the first games, I thought they had ruined the franchise. So I didn't buy this game right...
Published 20 months ago by Miguel Martins

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the return of the king
Max Payne 3 is an unfortunate departure from what made the series so respected and interesting in the first place, and the game's not better for it.

In Max's long absence he's been tarted up considerably by Rockstar; gone is the grey and black noir of New York, replaced with a cornucopia of colour in Sao Paulo where max now wears fashionable suits well cut...
Published on 21 Jun 2012 by H. A. Winchester


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put off by the new scenery this is still the Max Payne we all know and love!, 19 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
I was initially very skeptical to buy this game, I absolutely loved Max Payne 1 and 2 and suddenly it seemed to me such a bad idea to have a Max Payne game set in Brasil with a much colored color pallet than the 2 initial games, since I loved the voice narration and the noir feel of the first games, I thought they had ruined the franchise. So I didn't buy this game right away, and waited for a price drop. I bought this game 2 weeks ago, and having now finished the game, I can honestly say, boy was I wrong. This is still the Max Payne I loved, the voice narration is a treat, with all the different catchy phrases Max says when he picks up the pills. The story, while not being revolutionary is well told, and enjoyable. The gameplay as always is awesome, mixing your typical cover shoot em ups (uncharted style) with bullet time. What impresses more overall though is the attention to detail in every single room/alley we visit and brasilian is spoken throughout the game, and for me as Portuguese I can tell you the voice acting was done superbly. I recommend to everyone still in doubt you pickup this game, hope you have as much fun as I had ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Overview, 21 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
First off, if you liked Max Payne 1 and 2, chances are you will lap this up. As other reviewers have mentioned, I too grew up playing this series and having now just finished the story mode, it makes me really want to go back and play through the whole trilogy.

Max is back and his own brand of depression is incredibly funny, the writing and voice acting are in perfect harmony. Considering Hugh Jackman won an award for his turn as Wolverine for the game of the film, James McCaffrey should be getting an Oscar nod for this. I laughed a lot through the game, so much so that at one point I thought 'they should make a film of Max Pay...oh wait :('.

The physics they're plugging on this game are immense. While I agree with one reviewer's opinion that Max moves very much in the way of Rockstar's other male leads in their games, this isn't a bad thing and the AI characters move very naturally, particularly in how their bodies react to being shot. At the same time, you don't feel like you're seeing the same animation for the kind of shot you deliver; it all depends on the situation and bullet trajectory/force etc, which is great.

The story, in my opinion, is great. The whole world of Max Payne has always been a strange mix of gritty realism, pain, humour, chaos and ridiculousness, and this is no different in that respect. I was dubious of the action moving to Brazil, but it feels natural and becomes a welcome change of scenery. With this change though, they've opted for cutscenes to do a lot of the storytelling as opposed to the old 'comic book' style, for want of a better description. This was odd at first but I soon loved it and the way it blended into the action. Like many have said, the whole experience is like playing through a great film. In that way, it was a bit similar to Metal Gear Solid 4. I disagree with the detractors though, I don't think there are too many cutscenes and in no way is it 5 minutes of cutscenes then shoot a few guys, next cutscene, etc. Don't let the people saying this put you off. When you load the game, it recaps by way of a comic covering the last things that happened to refresh your memory - a nice nod to the old storytelling method.

There's a lot of value in the game:

- Story mode on lots of difficulties (I found their normal setting to present a challenge on many occasions)
- Arcade: score attack
- Arcade: time attack
- Multiplayer
- Collectables (golden guns and clues through story mode - I actually cared about finding these, have that Naughty Dog!)
- Grinds (stats to achieve and trophies/achievements to earn - Rockstar really make you earn these so provide good longevity)

An absolute thrill ride, can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the return of the king, 21 Jun 2012
By 
H. A. Winchester (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
Max Payne 3 is an unfortunate departure from what made the series so respected and interesting in the first place, and the game's not better for it.

In Max's long absence he's been tarted up considerably by Rockstar; gone is the grey and black noir of New York, replaced with a cornucopia of colour in Sao Paulo where max now wears fashionable suits well cut suits rather than the distinctive old leather jacket. The changes are obviously an overt push to make Max more appealing to a new generation of players. However, it really doesn't help to frame, or support the plot: Max is now working as a private security guard for people he hates. So, it's surprising as to why he becomes so emotionally invested in retrieving a kidnapped socialite. The plot from here is weakly elaborated and elucidated on, with the principle antagonist changing wildly. I really didn't understand what was going on at most points, which for a game with this many cutscenes is really criminal.

The gameplay is quite good early on, gun battles are tense and exciting bullet ballets when compared to most stale shooters on the market. However, things become a little sour about halfway through the game; enemies become more numerous, and they start wearing body armour. This makes encounters with large packs sterile cover based affairs trying to randomly land a head shot. Shots to the chest do negligible damage. Bullet time helps affairs but its mechanics are slightly different from the previous two games the principle difference being Max no longer gains bullet time from kills made whilst using it. In Max Payne 2, Max could become a bullet spewing ball of pain inflicting massive amounts of damage on his enemies. In Max Payne 3, unless you have a full meter there's no point in even straying out of cover, unless you have a particular fondness for the grisly tableau which frames every death in comic book style. Max's patented shoot dodge also becomes very irritating in the new game especially in confined environments. Any collision with a bit of scenery will cause Max to come out of bullet time without warning, leaving you extremely vulnerable lying on the floor. Max, also stands up so glacially, during which time you're completely unable to return any type of fire you're more likely to be shredded by enemies unless you landed behind some cover. When it works together as it is supposed to the gameplay is unparalleled, although most of the time a army of small annoyances conspire against you to make the game very, very annoying.

If there's one thing Max Payne 3 does better than anyone it's the music. Rockstar understand in game music better than anyone and the Music in Max Payne 3 is peerless, the original soundtrack by Health is always there, always driving you forwards with an understated sense of urgency.

Multiplayer is forgettable. It seems most people have forgotten it already a month after launch there's not too many people playing it.

All in all Max Payne 3 is not quite the triumphant return of one of my gaming protagonists. That said no one should be put off from trying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 28 Dec 2012
By 
L. W. Sandberg (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
After playing the game for a few hours you cant let go. This is a fantastic story and Max Payne is back in the gaming business. Buy it and experience intense fighting and drama in a cocktail not seen since Uncharted: Drakes Fortune hit the market. Max Payne is a darker story and the audience should be a bit older though. Have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game I ever Played, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
I loved this game, this is by far the best game I have ever played, I loved the storyline and the graphics and gameplay are equally as good, highly recommend this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a fun time, 8 Feb 2014
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
A lot of Max Payne fans were dismayed by the early publicity for this game, fearing that it completely transformed their beloved Noir hero. For the most part this is a reinvention of the character, but it is still very faithful to the roots of the previous games. However, I was not very impressed with it.

With his family dead and future uncertain at best, Max takes a job as a bodyguard for a wealthy South American family who just to happen to the target of vicious bad guys. Strap yourself in for the long haul because you'll spend the next 12 hours of your life shooting and shooting and shooting and shooting with no puzzle solving, or stealth, or variety in combat to break-up the gameplay.

Max Payne 3 comes across as a hybrid of Dead to Rights: Retribution and Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days while retaining the fun and enjoyment of neither. The whole game is a grim, dark, nihilistic, ugly, humorless, and quite depressing slog through swarms of wasted, cheap human lives. Do you enjoy murdering loads and loads and loads of people. If so then Max Payne 3 is for you, but I don't want to know you. Yes, I do realize that many video games have bad guys that are there simply to be gunned-down but never quite as graphic and disturbing as this. Who on Earth can really enjoy this sort of thing.

It does feature a nice variety of locations, from the snowy Brooklyn rooftops to the swamps of South America, but there's never really moment to stop and take it all in - unlike Uncharted: Drake's Fortune (quite a similar game) where you scan the scenic backdrops. I also found the controls to be stiff and sluggish and not suitable for a game where quick reflexes are a must. Cut-scenes go on for way too long and the "faulty video" aesthetic is just annoying.

I wouldn't recommend this game.

There are 68 trophies featured in Max Payne 3 (21 of them being from multiplayer DLC) though the trophies from the main game are very hard to achieve. I won only 9 by the time I finished it, and the game is so unenjoyable there's no way I'm going back to win more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game*, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
Bought this for my BF who had the previous ones. He liked the story line, the fact that it's played in Brazilian it's funny since we're Portuguese and let me tell you they're pretty aggressive and realistic with the cursing lol but yeah, would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent action game., 22 Oct 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
I loved the graphics and the locations of the game. The controls are great and very accessible. The music and voice acting is top notch. I played the game on normal difficulty and it was very challenging. You will die a lot in this game!

My only gripe would be that the duck and shoot gameplay can get a bit repetitive. But the gunfights are really cool and the bullet time feature where it slows down the action is incredibly stylish and you'll find yourself jumping sideways in slow motion whilst planting a perfect headshot time and time again. I just wished there was a bit more variation in how the game plays out.

So i would definitely recommend getting this game if you're a fan of balls to the wall action especially the Uncharted trilogy which this game very closely resembles. Go buy it :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so good, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
Having seen the trailers for this game and not the actual game play I was somewhat dissapointed with the game, I have started it but it is the sort of thing I will do piece meal rather than from begining to end which is the way I normally play games, others may like it but I am not keen so the thing to do is try it and see for yourself and make up your own mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Meh, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Payne 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
The game is ok. He's a bit whiny though. The gameplay itself isn't all that great to be honest. It's essentially like the very first one with better graphics. A lot of time is spent telling the story rather than letting you play the game and to be honest when you compare this to other shooters like Hitman or Farcry3 it just feels kinda lame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Max Payne 3 (PS3)
Max Payne 3 (PS3) by Rockstar (PlayStation 3)
7.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews