Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential Banshees album finally sounds as it was intended
For many people this is the best album in the entire Siouxsie and the Banshees back catalogue. It features the legendary guitarist, the late John McGeoch and classic Banshees songs such as Cascade, Melt and Slowdive. The band members were tripping their heads off when recording this in the studio but despite the wilful experimentation, it never slips into self-indulgent...
Published on 19 Aug. 2009 by E. McKnight

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars siouxsie getting a few more hits
with painted bird and melt standing out this album moves away from kaleidoscope which was one of my fav's. Dreamhouse was well rated by some of my friends but I can't say that it is brilliant.I liked siouxsie in my youth so bought the album.Siouxsie fans would call it a must have.
Published on 31 Oct. 2009 by B. J. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential Banshees album finally sounds as it was intended, 19 Aug. 2009
By 
E. McKnight (Plymouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For many people this is the best album in the entire Siouxsie and the Banshees back catalogue. It features the legendary guitarist, the late John McGeoch and classic Banshees songs such as Cascade, Melt and Slowdive. The band members were tripping their heads off when recording this in the studio but despite the wilful experimentation, it never slips into self-indulgent excess.

This was the first album to feature long time producer Mike Hedges, a successful partnership that would continue right up until the excellent Peepshow in 1988. This album casts off the stark post punk landscape of `The Scream' and the precursory gothic gloom of `Ju ju' using an eclectic mix of styles (ably encouraged by Hedges) and augmented by innovative use of string arrangements, studio effects and sampled loops. Every song explores its own musical territory sounding completely different from each other though flow brilliantly when listened to as a whole. If there was ever an equivalent of Sgt Pepper born out of the post punk aesthetic, this album might be the closest there is to it.

I can't say which are the standout tracks on this album, as they are all standout tracks. In fact there isn't anything I can fault; from the Gustav Klimt inspired artwork to hypnotic string orchestra loops of `Circle', to the creepy cocktail jazz of `Cocoon'.

I bought this when it was first released on CD in 1989 and that issue unfortunately suffered from dreadful mastering. Through the entire CD, the listener has to endure a totally muddy soundstage where it is very difficult distinguish individual instruments; there were also very noticeable levels of hiss. The sound quality was so bad that it seriously detracted any enjoyment of the brilliantly crafted songs. Quite a few albums from the late 70s and early 80s sounded like this when first put on to CD and it was passed off at the time, as limitation of the production techniques used in the original recordings. I doubt this was the case when they can be transferred so effectively 20 years later; it seems more likely that record companies couldn't be bothered to do a proper job of this first time round, just so they can make us go out and buy proper 're-mastered' versions many years later. Anyway you will be glad to know that every track now has crystal clarity, clean separation with absolutely no background hiss. This reissue has several bonus tracks including a couple of demos from the recording sessions as well as two very welcome extended 12" versions of `Slowdive' and the non-album single; `Fireworks', both of which appear on CD for the very first time, and as with the other recent Banshees reissues, the sleeve notes contain an interesting critique from the authoritative (and ubiquitous) Paul Morley.

All that remains to be said is if you are considering buying one or even a few Siouxsie and the Banshees albums, Kiss In A Dreamhouse is definitely the place you should start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Experiment!, 9 Jun. 2012
On 'A Kiss in The Dreamhouse,' the Banshees moved away from the infectious guitar riffs that laced Juju and decided instead to work on the artsy side they'd developed on Kaliedoscope. Instead of synth however, the main instruments are strings and also a little recorder among others. The album overall does lack cohesion but the strong and interesting songs do hold it together to make it an enduring listen.

Rather than focus soley on Mcgeoch's guitar, the focus of this album is primarily Siouxsie's voice, which has done nothing but improve since their first album. The two songs that best display this are the opening Cascade and the majestic Melt! two of the Banshees best songs. Siouxsie also begins to use her voice for more subtle atmospheric purposes in songs like Obsession, backed by very peculiar music, and also in the jazz infective songs like Cocoon and Slowdive.

Musically, the use of strings is great and work well with Siouxsie's voice, particularly on Circle, possibly the most inventive and wierdest tracks on the album and one that I initially found it hard to get into. They're used again on Slowdive, a commercial sounding dance track that also displays great drumming from Budgie.

Mcgeoch also has time to shine, particularly on Painted Bird, an infectious, fast paced rock track that was excellent in their live performances. It is sad that Mcgeoch would no longer be with the band after this, for who knows what exciting new directions they might have taken with him.

Despite being experimental, the Banshees do not steer (nor ever have) too far from being commercial for the majority of the tracks. This is excellent because it makes Dreamhouse a good album for a new listener and for any fan, this should definately be an essential part of their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars again and again!!, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this particular album stuck out to me when I heard Circle on a video called Play At Home With Siouxsie & The Banshees (featuring The Cure's Robert Smith), although it has an irritating and repetitive sound, it intrigued me a lot so I bought it and I'm glad I did. After listening to their greatest hits album over and over again, I wanted to hear some of their more contemporary stuff so this is officially my first Siouxsie CD, the ocver is very artistic and eye catching making it look even more promising and I wasn't disappointed- with her strong vocals and strong rhythm, two perfect compilations to create their uniquely contemporary music.
My other favorite track is Melt and their opening track Cascade, there are no familiar hits on this album like their JuJu album featuring Spellbound but just listening to their opening song you will know it is Siouxsie.
Some songs are more quirky than others and takes a few times to listen to, but all the tracks mix together well without any fillers that we tend to skip over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kiss Me Deadly, 27 Jan. 2010
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Missed this when it first appeared in 82. Everything collected up to and including JuJu. Probably felt she had become a parody with the thousands of lookalikes. Prior to that she just appeared as an unobtainable goddess. But this in retrospect was the crowning album amongst numerous which would glitter in anyone's lifespan.

Seeing her as a solo artist triggered earlier memories, all of them brilliantine and polished to perfection.

This album glitters, glows and is gilded with sparkling psychedelia, but embedded with a dark hued twist which hides the sharpened stiletto within a bunch of red rose bouquets. No strawberry alarm clocks whirling in this universe instead little girls disappearing down holes only to ascend in leather and mascara with a haughty leer.

The sound is absolutely stunning, lush, crystal clear exhibiting that tremendous rush of regal grandeur especially in Melt, which fully captures the magical elation of this first ecstatic moments when bodies intertwine and thaw. Ice cold days, with dripping icicles announce a column of silent black cars, and within wrapped in ropes and furs the feelings of being out of time and place of suicide in sex. I can never get enough of the song, Painted Bird taken from the Jerzy Kosinski novel details the travails of a kid in occupied Poland. Here it is turned into a psychedelic stomping classic.

Circle details the broken generation way before the Daily Wail and offers those insights the bog standard journos could only slaver and bang their knuckles to, in rhythm to an obsessive beat. Obsession feels the bells chime in a winters countryside as the desire to own another becomes the defining moment before it moves into the sombre tones of strings being stretched, and her voice appearing slightly de-ranged. Green Fingers begins like some 1960's theme tune with flute announcing the arrival of the flanged entrance of magic appearing in the hands. Slowdive is a descent into another night of lust, which banged across many a dance floor, each step taken in a defined rhythm.

Each is Siouxsie's exotic surreal take on the world marked by the bands self experimentation in music enhanced by that delve into ongoing mind expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trippy, 9 Nov. 2014
By 
A stunning, trippy, dream like masterpiece from Siouxsie and the boys after the masterpiece that was Ju Ju.

How could you top that? The answer was not to try and do something completely different instead.

Which works wonderfully on this record.

Very, very highly recommended.

Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album - The Business., 25 Sept. 2014
By 
DaveTT (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The albums produced by the Banshees prior to this were all wrapped up in a punk/post punk gothic style, they became so much more than punks with A Kiss In The Dreamhouse.
It's an album chock full of dark, twisted tales with often uplifting tunes giving an odd juxtaposition.
I make this one of my all time favourites and 'Slowdive' is in my all time top ten tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning LP, 5 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I shall put it simply.

If you are a fan of the Banshees, yet don't own this album......buy it!

If you are not a fan or a curious music lover than simply put....buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful trippy album, 4 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful glamorous dark psychedelica, there's not enough of that in the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this, 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great album from Siouxsie, all the songs are brill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 5 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another treasure from The Banshees. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Kiss In The Dreamhouse (Remastered & Expanded)
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews