Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This tale has many facets.
On the surface as you watch this movie you'll say to yourself "I have seen this many times before and I know the formula." And ask yourself "do I really need to see it again?" Yet as the story unfolds you find there is more to it than a simple diamond heist and ask "how could I have missed this film."

The story begins in flashback mode and tries to set us up...
Published on 7 Aug. 2011 by bernie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Predictable
Story was a bit predictable and Michael Caine typecast. I enjoyed the film all in all but wouldn't watch again.
Published 16 months ago by mhrls


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This tale has many facets., 7 Aug. 2011
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Flawless [Blu-ray] [2007] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
On the surface as you watch this movie you'll say to yourself "I have seen this many times before and I know the formula." And ask yourself "do I really need to see it again?" Yet as the story unfolds you find there is more to it than a simple diamond heist and ask "how could I have missed this film."

The story begins in flashback mode and tries to set us up with the few red herrings.

Mr. Hobbs (Michael Caine) a janitor in a large diamond company is about to retire. All he wants is a souvenir that he can pack in his Thermos on the way out. Unfortunately even though he knows where the numbers to the safe is, he cannot get there by himself. Laura Quinn (Demi Moore) the only female executive in the firm (in the 1960's) has been passed over three times for a promotion. So Mr. Hobbs recruits her for a little revenge of her own. With all the diamonds in the vault nobody is going to miss a small Thermos full.

You are in for a surprise and an adventure.

When the flashback mode ends the story begins.

"Diamond girl, you sure do shine." Seals & Crofts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless indeed, 3 Feb. 2011
By 
This review is from: Flawless [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
He's old and impudent, she is at a certain age but still a dish. They work in London Diamond, as cold and heartless an outfit as any you are ever likely to encounter, and they are both due for the sack.
Makes sense to pinch a few diamonds does it not? Well, then consider that the vault holds two tons of diamonds. Yep, two TONS. All this behind a monstrous slab of a steel door, security cameras, and one exit via personnel lift. Besides, how would you sell the bloody things once you'd pinched them?
Oh yes, one other little conundrum, why is the old feller bothering to try?
Twist after twist, lie after lie, trick after trick; all adding up to a flawless movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating heist film, 8 Dec. 2008
By 
Watched this interesting heist film twice after I rented it. Excellent acting from Michael Caine, Demi Moore, Joss Ackland and the French chappy who plays the investigator. It's nice to watch an engrossing film with minimal bad language, no sex and no violence in it. This is a DVD that you can watch with friends or mature family members without having to apologise for the offensive content and which should glue them to their seats. Also an altruistic motive provides a warm ending.
I have minor quibbles about some scenes that show Demi Moore performing unlikely feats such as undoing plumbing joints with her bare hands or sloshing through sewers in high heels! The dialogue is difficult to hear at times. Apart from that, thoroughly recommendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flawless [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent acting, a great script, fabulous sets and good directing. It's a heist movie but its power lies in its simplicity and its quietness - no explosions, no lasers, no descending on pulleys from the ceiling. The plot is character driven and it's a howdunnit rather than a whodunnit. I'd never heard of this film - bought it on the Caine / Moore pairing - but it exceeded my hopes as well as my expectations (and that rarely happens). Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant., 6 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flawless [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Intelligent.entertaining with brilliant performances by Michael Caine and Demi Moore.A mut see for all movie lovers.Packaging is good and the DVD arrived before time.Thankyou Amazon.UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb!, 1 Jan. 2011
By 
D. N. Dyer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flawless [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I have just finished watching this film and this is my first review of a DVD. I have felt compelled to write this short recommendation simply because it was so enjoyable. This is simply one of the best films I have ever seen!!! Michael Caine was typically very good and the overall plot was captivating. Buy it! I promise . . . you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, 13 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flawless [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed Demi Moore & Michael Caine in their lead roles. The supporting cast, of many leading actors, were excellent too. The pace of the film may be slow, the relationships measured and respectful, but the film is all the better for this. No drugs, no violence, no effing and blinding. A pleasure to watch and with an excellent ending too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flawless [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I seen a clip of this movie a couple of years back but could never find it on sale in any store so I ordered online from amazon. It is a fantastic movie and well worth a watch, I'm putting it in my top ten!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gem of a revenge, 17 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Flawless [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
One doesn't often come across such perfect unity of an excellent witty script, perfect acting and superb direction, but Flawless combines all three. The heist itself Is fascinatingly unlikely, its success depending more on luck than on ingenuity, yet the whole thing is peculiarly convincing; one watches mesmerised from start to finish. The very best of civilised entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demi Moore is a great actress here's the proof, 22 May 2010
This review is from: Flawless [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Set in 60's Demi Moore breathes style in her pencil skirt suits, polished up to to the finger nails. She shas been casted alongside Michael Caine and plays Laura Quinn an employee of the London Diamond Corporation. While she is patiently waiting for a promotion, less qualified male colleagues snatch every opportunity she longed for. Michael Caine who plays Hobbs, a cleaning agent who works at night, watches her and uses her frustration to involve her in his plan to rob the bank. Both actors are up to scratch, I loved watching Demi casted in a grown up role, I wish we could see more of her in movies like this one. She is an amazing actress and hasnt always had the opportunity to prove her talent. Michael Caine and Demi Moore work well along together and make us truly believe in their story. I already saw this movie twice and could watch it endlessly everything feels right and makes it a great plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flawless [Blu-ray] [2007] [US Import]
Used & New from: £6.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews