Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best 'Musicals' compilation for a very long time
Let's get the negatives out of the way first: The order pages don't list the artists per song, you just get a 'general' list of some of the performers, so I had to buy this 'blind' and was prepared to return it if it was less than brilliant. Now to the positives (yes, that's the only negative). Although a large percentage of the tracks here are from artists who are known...
Published on 27 Jun 2009 by R. Supward

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with Artists
I read the reviews given for this CD and thought it would be ideal. Imagine my disappointment when I received it and found that most of the artists were unknown to me. Still I decided to play them all and then form an opinion. Unfortunately it hasn't changed. Some of the tracks are OK but the backing gives away the fact that they were not taken from the actual shows...
Published on 20 Feb 2011 by Guide Dog


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best 'Musicals' compilation for a very long time, 27 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Musicals (Audio CD)
Let's get the negatives out of the way first: The order pages don't list the artists per song, you just get a 'general' list of some of the performers, so I had to buy this 'blind' and was prepared to return it if it was less than brilliant. Now to the positives (yes, that's the only negative). Although a large percentage of the tracks here are from artists who are known for being in 'that show', there are some that aren't. However, every track is by someone who has been in that show, a replacement in a long run or a touring version. It doesn't matter. Every single track on 100 Hits - Musicals is a top quality recording. You'll find tunes here that you thought couldn't be bettered and yet, they have been. As a collector of Musical Theatre on DVD or CD I've even found several versions of songs that I haven't got which is wonderful when so many compilations seem to have more than their fair share of duff songs, performers or just the cheapest versions they could get hold of.
Once again DMG have come up with the goods (No, I don't work for them although I'd like to) The tunes are laid out in a sensible way, not 'thrown together' and there seems to have been some thought on how each CD would sound. The songs don't 'jar' because some tunes would have been better on another CD in the collection, they gel together very well indeed. they've even managed to get (quite) a few songs from the pen of the 'Musical Theatre King', Stephen Sondheim. Ah those beautiful tunes and with his witty, sad, internal rhyming lyrics... With this kind of music, you need to know how to sing it outside the context of the show yet still make it sound relevant. 'Send in the Clowns' for example is not a love song yet, so many performers, possibly because it's not sung within the context of a show, sing it as such. Here it is sung with all the bitterness, contempt and regret intact. In fact all of the artists on these albums really know how to perform these songs to perfection. Please buy this album so that DMG may decide to release a 2nd volume but mainly buy this for yourself. You won't find a better value set than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good - every track a winner, 12 Jan 2010
By 
R. WEST-SOLEY "Rich West-Soley" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits: Musicals (Audio CD)
This is a superb collection of recordings, a great mixture of both familiar and less well-known musical names. But in every case, the versions here are vocally strong, excellently performed and beautifully recorded with proper orchestral backing. With 'value' compilations, you usually expect a couple of cheap, generic recordings, but that just isn't the case with this album at all - hats off to whoever compiled the track listing. Am actually quite shocked at the quality of this set!

It's a real mixed bag too, with everything from the West End to Broadway and even to the Silver Screen. For the price, there really isn't a better compilation of songs from the musicals - another absolutely excellent addition to the 100 Hits series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Singing!, 26 Aug 2010
This review is from: 100 Hits: Musicals (Audio CD)
If you love the musicals you will love this. 5 CD's capturing 100 great songs from many of the great shows. This set covers some of the classics as well as more recent shows. Recommend this CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great selection of songs from the musical, 2 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. Andrew S. B. Hunter (Spain / UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits: Musicals (Audio CD)
This is well chosen selection from many musicals old and very new. And all brilliantly performed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical Hits, 19 Nov 2010
This review is from: 100 Hits: Musicals (Audio CD)
A must for theatre fans, it has a great selection of songs from all the shows and being a singer is a great aid to help with auditions. A very good price for an amazing cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for my baby!, 1 April 2011
This review is from: 100 Hits: Musicals (Audio CD)
I bought this CD after realising my baby son had taken a liking to show tunes. It's great value and good to sing along to. Perfect for entertaining my three month old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars made a fab present, 11 Jan 2010
By 
S. Shillaker (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits: Musicals (Audio CD)
Was purchased as a Christmas present for an older relative - Am told it is fab as it has all the old musical songs which you can sing a long to and brings back a lot of lovely memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with Artists, 20 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Musicals (Audio CD)
I read the reviews given for this CD and thought it would be ideal. Imagine my disappointment when I received it and found that most of the artists were unknown to me. Still I decided to play them all and then form an opinion. Unfortunately it hasn't changed. Some of the tracks are OK but the backing gives away the fact that they were not taken from the actual shows but were recorded later and in most cases pretty badly. Have bought several compilation albums and been well pleased with them but this one is doubtfully going to be played again. Pity as most of the songs are really enjoyable when sung properly. Only my opinion but.... Might try and sell it on ebay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 100 Hits: Mucicals, 4 Mar 2013
By 
R. R. Grant (Newcastle Upon Tyne, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Musicals (Audio CD)
I would recommend this product to musical lovers. You definately get a lot for your money with 100 songs. However, I found that I do not love every song on the CD and I would have liked more Phantom of the Opera, Les Miserables, Chicago, as well as Rock of Ages which does not appear on the CD. However, it does give a good range of songs and offers the most famous songs from a wide range of musicals. I have really enjoyed getting to know the songs I didn't know already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, 17 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Musicals (Audio CD)
Love this set of CDs, songs are well chosen and the artists/recordings all seem to be good. Great price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Hits: Musicals
100 Hits: Musicals by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews