Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast & fun detective series
Castle is a gem of a series: the tone is fun without being slapstick, the plots are serious without being boring, and the characters are wonderfully written and played. On the outside, it's yet another Cop + Random Expert show: Detective Kate Beckett works murders in New York; Richard Castle is a popular crime thriller writer with influential connections, who has just...
Published on 11 Jan. 2011 by M. Hepworth

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great concept .....but......
I am a massive fan of crime fiction so the concept of this series had me feeling quite excited. I do like the characters but have found the whole thing so formulaic that it's got a bit tedious by the end of the series.

It's impossible to work out whodunnit as there are so many red herrings it could be anyone. Each episode is the same. 20 minutes in the...
Published 11 months ago by Carmen


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast & fun detective series, 11 Jan. 2011
By 
M. Hepworth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Castle - Season 1 [IMPORT] (DVD)
Castle is a gem of a series: the tone is fun without being slapstick, the plots are serious without being boring, and the characters are wonderfully written and played. On the outside, it's yet another Cop + Random Expert show: Detective Kate Beckett works murders in New York; Richard Castle is a popular crime thriller writer with influential connections, who has just killed off his most famous character. A series of murders based on one of his books occurs, and Beckett goes to him for help. They don't get along - she's sharp and no-nonsense, he's laid back and imaginative - but they solve the case. Castle then decides to write a new series, using Beckett as inspiration, and gets himself permanently assigned to follow her around, much to her disgust.

The Castle/Beckett relationship is the heart of the show - they bicker, they argue, and yet they find they need each other. There's the inevitable romantic tension, but the show cleverly never lets it go too far. The murders they solve are as interesting as anything in other cop shows, and can be quite dark at times, but the fun is in how Beckett's police work runs up against Castle's annoyingly good intuition. The balance of the humour and the murder is extremely tricky to pull off, and the show gets it right time after time.

The other characters in the show aren't neglected either. Ryan and Esposito are junior detectives on the team, and although often in the background are well rounded and get good dialogue. Castle lives with his teenage daughter Alexis, who is sensible, mature, and generally more grown up than Castle. He is also lumbered with his mother, Martha, a dramatic social butterfly who occasionally pauses to give Castle some pithy advice on life. The use of his family really helps ground Castle as a character, and emphasises that he's just a tourist to the grimy world of crime.

This first season is a short 10 episodes, so is really worth checking out. You'll get excellent actors, dialague, and plots for your trouble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Show, 4 Dec. 2009
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Castle: Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I can heartily agree with all the other positive reviews of Castle; this is a great show and marks a return to Mal Reynolds-like* form for Nathan Fillion.

Although the idea of a crime novelist shadowing/working with an NYPD homicide detective is pure Hollywood boulderdash the show makes it work. What could easily have been a by the numbers affair is actually a well scripted effort that manages to mix light hearted character interplay with some very solid mysteries. The cast are uniformly good and it avoids resorting to hackneyed cliches. Although there is an undercurrent of mutual attraction between Castle (Fillion) and his initially unwilling partner Beckett the show doesn't labour the will-they-wont-they angle. Nor does it try to maintain forced antagonism between the writer and the cop in order to generate extra uneccessary drama. The fact that Castle and Beckett, although they bicker, genuinely like each other makes a pleasant change for this sort of show.

The producers have also taken the time to come up with decent mysteries of the week, with the tone of each varying. Some are quite lightweight whilst others are darker or more emotional, but they're all cleverly plotted and don't stick to a single formula.

Its a pity there are only ten episodes in this first season (it was what's called a 'mid-season premiere' in the US. 'Full season' shows run to 20+ episodes) as it could have easily have survived eight or ten more without outstaying its welcome. The fact that the next Season is 22 episodes long is to be welcomed.

If you're looking for a genuinely entertaining new show from the US, whether you're a fan of police procedurals or not, you couldn't do much better than Castle. Ignore the implausible scenario and just enjoy what is a funny, smart and often suspenseful TV show.

*Fans of Joss Whedon's Firefly - The Complete Series [DVD] [2003] and Serenity [DVD] [2005] will understand what I mean by that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 16 Aug. 2010
By 
Mr. Pj Williams (cardiff uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Castle - Season 1 [IMPORT] (DVD)
its fun and watch able but you can see it getting a bit formulaic. its a bit like the mentalist, you can see where its going and its a bit annoying that way. however for tv that you dont have to think about and will give you a laugh its great. not a classic but better than average. love nathan fillion as an actor but wish it was a little better plot wise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Castled pink - but is Britain missing out on all the fun?, 5 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Castle - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Came across this series when holidaying in France in September 2011. Actually it was hard to miss given the cluster bomb of trailers French TV had going for it. I shall withhold comments re. local dubbing. But despite many an involuntary lip twitch I instantly took to Castle and Beckett's oddball chemistry. And right enough, next day when shopping for the usual dairy and grape items at the local supermarket my attention was immediately hijacked by shelf-loads of Castle Season 1 DVDs. Needless to say, I resisted for the time being.

So imagine my surprise when, once back in pie and ale country, no one had even heard of this series let alone offered DVDs for sale! A few days later they popped up on Amazon UK bearing the less-than-tantalising release date of 21. November. Luckily we're all Europeans now (huh?) so one quick detour to Amazon Germany later and my quest had found an end.

So. Worth my extra mile(s)? Definitely. It only takes half an episode to 'get' how this series works. The uneasy alliance between Rick Castle (the disarmingly suave novelist, aka Nathan Fillion) and the tough but inherently vulnerable detective Beckett (portrayed with amazing aplomb by a brilliant Stana Katic) really clicks, despite my initial (5 minutes) doubts. But what really makes this series shine is the witty yet thoroughly uncontrived script. Fillion's panache at delivering a whole volley of deadpan lines without a facial twitch is the grease to keep each episode sliding effortlessly from (semi-shocking) murder scene through often very clever twists and turns to its usually highly satisfying and sometimes heartwarming resolution. Katic never fails to convince as the ballsy but bottled-up cop ripe for an uncorking by Castle's unwavering cosmic charm. And even Castle's 'upside-down' mother/daughter sideshow with its ostensibly cheesy reek soon won me over because, well, it works.

If you liked Nathan Fillion in Firefly/Serenity there's a very high chance his Castle performance will squeeze your bananas. Those new to the cast and simply after the next dose of series gold dust with a twist could do a lot worse than giving Castle Season 1 a try. Once it's finally available in Britain, that is. Meanwhile I'll be ordering Season 2 from across the Channel again. Did I not mention that it too has been out there for a while?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best new show of 2009, 23 Sept. 2009
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Castle: Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This show is superb - excellent casting, excellent characters and a perfect blend of police drama, comedy and romance. Nathan Fillion plays the part of crime novelist Richard Castle who (in the pilot episode) is called in by the NYPD homicide department to help them catch a serial killer who has been copying the murders from Castle's novels. Heading the investigation is Kate Beckett (Stana Katic) who doesn't see eye-to-eye with Castle but he has the contacts and would love to base his new leading character, Nikki Heat, on so works alongside the department on murder and disappearance cases to try and get material for his books.

I absolutely love this show! It is charming, funny, has lots of mystery and suspense - much of the time it kept me guessing up until the last scene with who the murderer was, the chemistry between Castle and Beckett is amazing with some hilarious outcomes and the characters are easily some of the best I have ever came across in a crime-comedy drama. There's only 10 episodes in this season but it has thankfully been renewed for a second (which has just started this week in the US) I'm so glad this is now available on DVD and I imagine once it hits these shores it will be a huge hit (just look at the reviews on Amazon.com - all 50 are 5 star ratings!!!). If you are fan of shows like MONK then I guarantee you will love this show. (Also - keep an eye out for the cameo by James Patterson in the pilot episode!) I can't wait to get into season 2 now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Fillion fans and everyone else, 20 Oct. 2009
By 
J. M. Tavener "Jane" (Southend, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Castle: Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
CASTLE may seem to be just another in the long line of 'will they/won't they' shows, but it's a lot more than that. The writing is sharp, the acting excellent, the leads very personable, the supporting cast just as interesting ... all in all, very worth watching. The first run of ten episodes was a mid-season pick-up, and now has a second season currently running on ABC in the States. Nathan Fillion has a lot of fans, from various TV shows such as Firefly, Buffy (the last of the big bads, Caleb is a lot of dangerous, misogynistic fun) and a brief stint on Desperate Housewives, as well as an interesting selection of films, and probably a lot of the success of the show is down to them. But CASTLE has legs, and with the range of stories so far I can see it going for several years to come, which I (for one) am really looking forward to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good surprise!, 15 July 2010
This review is from: Castle: Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I started watching this series thinking it was just one more crime series. But I was pleasantly surprised. In addition to being a very well-crafted series, it's also full of humor, which is pretty rare for this kind of shows. It goes from humour, tensions, mysteries, and even sadness at times. The actors are all well chosen (especially Nathan Fillion and Stana Katic). Very good chemistry between the two main characters. The idea of involving a novelist in murder investigations gives an interesting result, from which follow most of the funny scenes. The dialogues are not neglected. Some lines are already cult! I think what I like the best is the fact that the private lives of the main characters is not put in the background. It makes for complex and interesting characters (Castle and Beckett).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 6 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castle: Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Fabulous tv series!!! I watched the first series on channel 5 and was hooked immediatly with the qureky characters, funny story lines and believable chemistry between the Castle and Beckett. First series sadly only 10 episodes long and I couldn't wait for series 2 to start in the UK so decided to buy on DVD. Full 5 star rating for the seller; arrived extremely quickly, well within estimated delivery date, brand new and Region 1 discs as described. I didn't appreciate that Region 1 requires a different set up for UK viewing so to my immense disappointment the DVD didn't work for me but not to be discouraged will now order a Region 2 DVD which can be viewed on UK systems and I look forward to my Castle fix soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Castle Television at its absolute best!, 9 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Castle - Season 1 [IMPORT] (DVD)
I first caught an episode of Castle on the Sky Alibi channel and was enthralled from the start. Nathan Fillon is excellently cast as Richard Castle the mystery writer who shadows a female homicide detective in New York to get insights for his next book. For me a first class cast with excellent writing and a wonderful humourous balance about the whole thing. It feels like a throwback to the likes of the Rockford files but with CSI quality production values. I have now watched every episode up to episode 14 of season 3 and can safely say this is my favourite TV show of all time. Long may it last - well done ABC and the Castle cast and crew a fantastic success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Castle, Season 1, 12 July 2011
By 
A. L. Ellis (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castle: Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I bought this series for my daughter's birthday. She absolutely loves the show. It is very funny, has great plot lines, with a simmering attraction between Beckett and Castle. The bonus feature is excellent - - great bloopers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews