Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
10
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 12 August 2008
A brilliant show and an excellent recording.

This recording of the Broadway cast gives a clear idea of the show itself, unlike other such recordings in which you have to follow the insert information to make sense of where the songs fit.

The music is a very clever pastiche of 1920s musicals, but with a much more sophisticated, contemporary edge than "The Boyfriend" ever had. Though the feel of the Twenties is there, the voices and the orchestrations are undoubtedly a product of modern musical theatre.

One of the highlights has to be "Show Off", the showstopper and sung with belting flair by Sutton Foster. She could never be mistaken for other than a 21st century performer and puts across the song with energy and suitable variety of style.

"I Am Aldolpho" and "Message From A Nightingale" highlight the comic vocal skills of Danny Burstein, singing in the latter with Beth Leavel as the eponymous lady who does a crashingly great performance in "As We Stumble Along".

This recording is huge fun and makes it seem such a shame that the show was not a big hit in the West End.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2007
For somebody who grew up in a family of Gilbert and Sullivan fanatics and spent many hours behind the scenes of local amateur dramatics productions this was a breath of fresh air. A truly affectionate mocking of musical theatre in all its silliness and self-absorbtion.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2015
I had to hurry across the room to turn down the sound on this one, to say it's loud is an understatement. "I don't want to show off" is catchy but sadly the rest of the tunes don't do it for me. Maybe it works better visually.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
Why this show closed early in London I shall never know. It's wonderful.

Also: check out Wayne Brady singing "Touch of my Hand" on YouTube. Another hilarious song by this very talented duo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
Bought this for my daughter as she is taking part in the same show. It was useful for her and helped her to learn the songs.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
got it for my befriends birthday.great quality recording,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
good product exactly what we were looking for
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2006
This show is great fun, in fact in places it's truly hilariously funny. However, it feels incomplete somehow. The simple, old-fashioned device of a 'musical within a musical' is deliberate, and it revels in it's own self-referential, tongue in cheek humour. But it needed a twist somewhere, which I kept expecting and which never arrived, meaning the whole thing ended up feeling rather anti-climactic. There's only really one memorable tune, but they are all good jazzy songs, with witty lyrics. If you don't expect too much and take it for what it is - a simple little show with no high ambitions - then you'll really enjoy it. It's no Avenue Q, though...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
Lovely, lovely and funny show and music !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
I chose the highest rating because it is exactly right. The sound quality is crisp and clear. Highly recommended to those who are working on this show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)