Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


147 of 148 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TomTom XL Classic
Generally a good product but there are drawbacks. It only has a small internal memory and, without an SD card slot, this means the option to upgrade maps is complicated and time consuming. The other weak point is the manual, which shows you how to enter one address and leaves you to discover by trial and error the rest of the machine's features. The last minus point with...
Published on 2 Jun 2009 by Lewis Nene

versus
111 of 115 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit Hit and Miss
Have had this product for some 6 weeks and recently took in on holiday to Wales. Calling at Reading Services on the M4 it completely lost the plot and again at the same location on the return (eastward) journey. So much so this time that it failed to locate a signal miles after I had left the service which meant that it could not direct me from the M4 onto the A329M at...
Published on 8 July 2009 by Dover Nighthawk


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

147 of 148 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TomTom XL Classic, 2 Jun 2009
This review is from: TomTom XL Classic Satellite Navigation UK & ROI (Electronics)
Generally a good product but there are drawbacks. It only has a small internal memory and, without an SD card slot, this means the option to upgrade maps is complicated and time consuming. The other weak point is the manual, which shows you how to enter one address and leaves you to discover by trial and error the rest of the machine's features. The last minus point with this sat nav is the short battery life - 1 hour 40 minutes tops. On long journeys you have to have this machine connected. Still, having said that it's a good screen (though not great in direct sunlight, clear layout, good coverage and clear sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really useful thing, 5 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom XL Classic Satellite Navigation UK & ROI (Electronics)
Went from London to an isolated farm near Wetherby that was at the end of 2 miles of a private no-name road. The TomTom guided me accurately to the house on the farm. If I had tried using a map, I would have wasted a lot of time and petrol finding this place.

From the farm, my friend and I went to another address in her BMW that had a built in satnav. I took my TomTom too to compare. The TomTom was far superior in the clarity of the instructions both on-screen and voice. On the way back, the BMW satnav stopped functioning as we approached the private road while the TomTom again guided us right through the private road and to the house.

Maybe other satnavs have some of the features like approaching speed camera warning, current speed, speed limit and above speed limit indication, time now and estimatd time of arrival and miles, hours and minutes to go, but I found them very clear and useful on the TomTom.

When you get this product, download the full postcode patch. Otherwise it only recognises the first half of the postcode. If it was not for the poor instruction manual, web site, faqs, etc, I would bave given it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 115 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit Hit and Miss, 8 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom XL Classic Satellite Navigation UK & ROI (Electronics)
Have had this product for some 6 weeks and recently took in on holiday to Wales. Calling at Reading Services on the M4 it completely lost the plot and again at the same location on the return (eastward) journey. So much so this time that it failed to locate a signal miles after I had left the service which meant that it could not direct me from the M4 onto the A329M at Wokingham. Had to completely re-set the whole thing. Once done it picked up a strong signal and worked fine (fickle !)

In Wales it definitely did not like the area around the Cambrian Mountains. Lost the plot (GPS signal) many times. Showed us in the middle of a reservoir on a couple of occasions. Somewhat surprisingly it worked well in the Brecon Beacons and did not lose a single signal throughout our week there.

Suffers from the usual occasional inadvertent direction indications which had to be treated with caution (a bit of common sense prevailing over blindly following the unit's spoken directions).

Screen was clear and bright most of the time (except when it decided to reset itself in Night vision mode - although that might have been my fault as the touch screen was so dim I couldn't see where I was pressing.
Screen map is uncluttered and the additional information in the bottom half of the screen can be chosen from the preferences menu. The estimated times of arrival (ETA) was very surprisingly accurate.

A sound warnings indicates to mapped presence of 'safety' cameras, and the screen also displays the count down distance to the camera's location. But it won't pick up every single camera, so be warned.

I had purchased seperately the Tom Tom traffic receiver attachment (extra 28 or so) which is a bit fiddly to attach and has to be fixed to the screen and will only work when the whole unit is plugged into the 12v socket. It displays traffic restrictions etc. vertically on the right hand edge of the screen. It connected to the FM Traffic signal most of the time whilst on major routes but I found it's information woefully out of date or incorrect.

Excellent piece of equipment for passengers not having to navigate with maps the whole time, and affording them time to take in the scenery. Especially good (when working properly) for visually warning the driver of impending hairpin bends or sharp turns. Approaching a directional change it clearly and timely gave voice direction and visual warning regarding the turn or hazard ahead which was repeated as one approached the turn. [Just a pity it doesn't show altitude as well. One has no idea from the screen as to the steepness of the road ahead - but hey ho you can't have everthing I suppose].

Plotting a route either from where you are or between two different locations (A2B) was simple enough with the option of a "Travel Via" or "avoid part of route" as well, although it does not seem to be able to put in several "travel via" options (more research required possibly on this one). Prepared plotted routes are identified by using a different colouring to the route - so you know if you have gone off course even if you have the voice directions turned off.

Unit can be updated by plugging into a computer to access the TomTom website and there is a wide selection of Point Of Interest - Tourist Information Sites, Historic buildings, Castles, Supermarkets, Hospitals, petrol stations, even Dangerous narrow roads and Nightlife (many of which have been plotted by users) and many, many more, which can be downloaded for free.

Overall a useful piece of kit which has several advantages for driver and navigator BUT should only be used as an aid to navigation and all directions should be carefully assessed before manouvering. It saves turning into a farm gate !

Would I buy another - yes I would, but in the knowledge of the reservations set out above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a review of TomTom Customer Services!, 5 Sep 2010
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I already have a TomTom satellite navigation system and use it regularly. I rate this as a 5 Star product. I shall soon be travelling extensively throughout Europe by road and recently saw an opportunity to purchase a spare unit quite cheaply at a sale. Although an older model, the unit was still boxed, absolutely complete and appeared to be unused. It would not, however, switch on but, thinking it needed nothing more than charging, I took a chance and bought it.

I tried everything (As did my local store) but the unit simply would not switch on. Eventually, I contacted TomTom Customer Services and told them how the I had obtained the unit and that it was "NOT" under guarantee. Their service was exceptional. Firstly, they sent me a small package containing a cardboard box which, when assembled, fitted my TomTom unit perfectly and would clearly protect the unit whilst in the post. Secondly, the package also contained a Royal Mail "Special Delivery" envelope complete with address and tracking number. Postage and insurance were already paid by TomTom.

Within 24 hours of my posting the unit back to TomTom I received an email confirming receipt and within 7 days I got another unit back. TomTom had REPLACED my unit free of charge with a brand new and exactly the same model and ALL under guarantee!

So for those of you who are contemplating purchasing a TomTom satellite navigation system, I thought you might like to know about this company's follow-up customer services system. They are quite excellent and I hope this message is useful.

NM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 4 July 2009
By 
P. Pearson "PRP" (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TomTom XL Classic Satellite Navigation UK & ROI (Electronics)
I recently used the TOM Tom for a trip to Newport in Wales and trusted it for getting me off the M4 and to my venue. Apart from one roundabout that was now a set of traffic lights it was first class.Use it a lot of my time and had no problems. It fits to the screen well and folds away in to the case I purchased fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good in most situations, 14 Dec 2009
By 
Large screen, clear timely instructions, easy to (re)program, good approximation inside tunnels. However, it does occasionally have an odd moment when it "forgets" where it is and comes up with something random (only the voice though... the map and visual directions remain perfect), so, like with any Satnav system, one needs to know roughly where they are and where they want to get to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase - would recommend to others!, 30 Oct 2009
By 
K. Murphy "bookhound" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom XL Classic Satellite Navigation UK & ROI (Electronics)
Really pleased with the device. Got it working very quickly once fully charged. It is a good idea to get the mains charger and Hama case which Amazon suggest when you buy the sat-nav.

Does everything that you would expect from a good sat-nav. I went for the XL model because of the wider screen having borrowed a standard Tom Tom from a relative.

If you don't hear the instruction you can just tap the screen on the bottom left hand corner and it will be repeated.

Around the Midlands the device even asks whether or not you wish to avoid the M6 Toll road when planning your journey so no unexpected charges.

Only negative is the attachment of the charger cable from the cigarette lighter socket. This is difficult and as a result I keep mine attached to the unit when I put it away in the box. Be very careful when attaching or detaching this as rough handling may well break the connector and render the unit useless (see other reader comments on this)!

Overall delighted with the purchase and would recommend to anyone else just interested in finding the best way from A-B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tom Tom Sat Nav, 26 May 2009
By 
Mr. A. Simpson "bawtrytown" (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom XL Classic Satellite Navigation UK & ROI (Electronics)
Recently purchased this sat nav (Tom Tom XL), as a sat nav virgin found this product very simple to use and very informative, need to be able to access the internet for updates but all in all pleased with the set up and ease of use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not full postcode as stated in literature, 5 April 2010
This review is from: TomTom XL Classic Satellite Navigation UK & ROI (Electronics)
Great product unless you need to navigate to a location which doesn't have a house number. On my old tomtom you could bypass the request for a house number but on this one you have to put it in. Full postcodes only cover around 8 houses and so tomtom should present house number for example (189-193) but instead it often offers 2-502 to select from. this can put you a mile or more from the actual postcode you typed in. By the way, this isn't an issue about downloading a patch. The full postcode database has been downloaded. tomtom have been informed and are aware of the issue but don't think that it is a problem for most people - it probably isn't but they should not say that it uses the full postcode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy., 25 Sep 2009
By 
Robbie44 "Robbie44" (Staffordshire,England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom XL Classic Satellite Navigation UK & ROI (Electronics)
I bought this jsut before a driving holiday to The Lake District and it was superb!!
It made the driving almost enjoyable and never gave me a moments indecision.
The Easymount was great-especially as I bought a dashmount instead of using the windscreen which I would recommend highly.
The only minus point is the instruction book which is not really instructive.
All in all a brilliant satnav at a brilliant price--thanks Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

TomTom XL Classic Satellite Navigation UK & ROI
Used & New from: 42.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews