Customer Reviews


235 Reviews
5 star:
 (203)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime BBC Blu Ray Nature
This is an excellent Blue Ray, my copy has 1 disc not 2 as indicated and includes the Yellowstone people diaries. Favourite chapter is Winter the photography is sublime with crisp sharp images favourite shot the fox diving through six foot of snow for a mouse. Makes you want to go and buy a plane ticket and just go there. Envy the "Snowman" on the Yellowstone people who...
Published on 18 Jun 2009 by Bammosan

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Scenery, Amazing Animals, Melodramatic Music
Until I saw this documentary, my impressions of Yellowstone Park had been formed by Yogi Bear.
The Yellowstone DVD, is an eye-opener, even to an avid David Attenborough fan like me. An elk out-witting the wolves; a coyote stealing the otters' trout; a fox catching a mouse through six feet of snow, all beautifully filmed against an incredible backdrop.
The DVD...
Published on 3 Feb 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime BBC Blu Ray Nature, 18 Jun 2009
By 
Bammosan (South Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Yellowstone [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is an excellent Blue Ray, my copy has 1 disc not 2 as indicated and includes the Yellowstone people diaries. Favourite chapter is Winter the photography is sublime with crisp sharp images favourite shot the fox diving through six foot of snow for a mouse. Makes you want to go and buy a plane ticket and just go there. Envy the "Snowman" on the Yellowstone people who spends all winter removing snow from buildings can see why he loves it.
Just buy it, it's the BBC at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


116 of 121 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous visuals, interesting info. Easy watching, 28 Mar 2009
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Yellowstone [DVD] (DVD)
Yellowstone isn't the sort of natural history documentary to challenge your perceptions, but it is another of the BBC's thoroughly well-produced programmes which is a pleasure to kick back and enjoy.
The park's geology produces a weird backdrop of hot springs, savage winters, vast panoramas filled with wild elk, wolves and bears. There are three 50-minute episodes, one each for Winter, Summer and Autumn, demonstrating the savage extremes which the Yellowstone wildlife must endure. Snow as deep as houses settles for six months, the wild-fires spread in summer. All of this is filmed in gorgeous clarity and detail, demonstrating how the plants and animals cope with one of the harshest environments on the planet which swings between such complete extremes.
Yellowstone has also revised some of my opinions about different animlans; sheep, for instance. The Big Horns which survive throughout the bitter winter in the park are nothing like the tame creatures we see in the UK; the short sequence of the males engaging in their annual ferocious pre-breeding fights is astonishing. They're aggressive, no-holds-barred fighters -- not at all woolly-minded!

Perhaps the most enjoyable part of the series is, ironically, the ten minute fillers which concentrate on the people who work and spend time i nYellowstone. The people who watch geysers are a curious bunch, and the guy who clears the snow from rooftops for six months at a time must really like his own company! Similarly, a chap who swims (in a crash helmet) in the Yellowstone river gives a radically different perspective of life in the surrounds -- and the unhappy effects of introducing foreign species for sport fishing.

Yellowstone underlines the global importance of the National Park, especially now that increasing urbanisation touches almost every wild area in the world. It's an easy series to like, and enjoyable to watch again. Would be really stunning in Hi-Def, too.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


156 of 163 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yellowstone experience, 19 April 2009
By 
John Lewis "widescreenfan" (Aldwincle, Northamptonshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellowstone [DVD] (DVD)
In this age of LCD Digital TV, this documentary about Yellowstone Natinal Park is probably the best ever produced. The photography is simply stunning, as is the stereo sound. It is almost as good as being there in person. One easily gets the 'feel' of the park, and the magnatude of it. The naration is excellent too, with just enough information to explain the picture, never talking down to the audience, or talking above their heads.
But the most impressive aspect is the photography. I particularly found the snowfalling in the first part to be the most stunning visual display I have ever seen on my 32" LCD TV.
I may never get to Yellowstone in person, but I feel that I have 'been there' and probably seen more of it than if I did actually visit in person.
I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful wild spaces..., 12 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Yellowstone [DVD] (DVD)
We bought this for our 5 year old son who is animal mad - the beauty of this excellent series is that it is suitable for children and adults alike and can be watched and enjoyed by a wide age range. The series itself is beautifully shot and will make you plan a trip to Yellowstone to see this amazing place for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and educational, 13 Aug 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellowstone [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The plants, animals and people that make up Yellowstone National Park.

If you like nature and have a blu-ray player click this on to your wish list, because you can't possibly feel short-changed. The four seasons are spread over three chapters and between them (if you play from back to front) you get diaries of the people that live and work in the park.

(These bits are not all in HD).

Might have liked to see more of the birds - but that is just me and you can always replay the bits you love. The humming bird scenes are just sublime in HD. Will probably end up watching it many times over - and so would you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking beauty, 15 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Yellowstone [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Having been in Yellowstone for 3 Weeks, I was rather excited to watch it on Blu-ray.
What can I say, the footage is marvelous. Very intimate insight into the live of Yellowstone during the harshest winter season, were temperatures drop to 70`Fahrenheit. I'm a private videotographer so I know when artists are at work. I was just stunned how many differen angeles a wolf chase was taken at. And perfectly so, really close up. For the just mere mortals Yellostone is closed during wintertime. Streets up to 15 feet under snowfall. How it was possible to set up a camerateam in these conditions defies my imagination. And there were multiple teams out there in one location. It must have been incredibly difficult. Only people who really love the environment and do relate to the wildlife are able to pull off a feat like that.
The picture quality is superb. Especially with aerial wide angle shots the detail you could make out got me almost on my knees. On a mountain slope, kilometers away you could cleary see the tracks of different animals. That is just amazing.
The eery atmosphere of hissing geysers, steaming pools of surreal colors and fogy mountains is put together like in a dream.
The sound quality doesn't stand behind. Very nice and clear surround sound.

Some details:
- incredible satelite images in a quality I didn't believe to be possible
- hunting packs of wolves
- captivating aereal images
- otters roaming through the snow to find ice-free riverbeds
- coyotes hunting mice in 3 feet deep snow
- impressive geyser activity
- buffalo and how they struggle to pull through this extremely cold weather
- grizzly bears with cubs
- and lots and lots more

It kept me in awe for the whole running time. I just can't recommend it enough, for children and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 9 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellowstone [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
After watching this it makes me want to go there to see it for myself.

The picture is crystal clear and gives you the feeling you are right there with the animals and can feel the cold as the snow falls in winter.

Any documentory lover would remiss in not adding this to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 19 Jun 2009
This review is from: Yellowstone [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Fascinating, Breathtaking and a real showcase for Hi-Def and Quality programme-making in general. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 22 Jun 2011
By 
Stephen de Vere "Wildlife Cameraman" (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yellowstone [DVD] (DVD)
I maybe shouldn't be reviewing this because I was one of the cameramen who contributed to it but I have no financial interest in it and I'm not going to talk about the photography.

What really stands out for me about this series is the quality of the way it was written and put together. It is a shining example of great use of words (story and narration), sounds, and music. Many wildlife documentaries are well researched, have great stories and photography and the images cut together beautifully but then struggle when it comes to music and narration. This is a rare exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic nature doc from the BBC, 25 Mar 2009
By 
J. White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yellowstone [DVD] (DVD)
Last Year, the BBC broadcast a fanatastic series - Wild China. This year they've almost done it again. I don't know whats going on over at the BBC but there is some seriously good photgraphy going on at the moment. Like Wild China, the scenery is mind-blowing. Unfortunately. They insist on ending each installment with a profile of the people who work in the park or have close connections with it. I'm not sure if these are on the DVD but they certianly spoil the effect that the program has on you. They aren't that interesting and after a very moving documentary, a group of people getting excited about geysers over and over again can ruin the humble feeling that the program leaves you with.
Despite this, these 50 minute documentaries are intriguing, mind blowing and awe inspriring and I would highly recommend them for anyone interested in Nature and Science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yellowstone [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Yellowstone [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Peter Firth (Blu-ray - 2009)
£6.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews