Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pacific Paradise?
First of all lets go through some of the negatives I have read about this phenomenal mini series. The narration is cited by some as being bland and monotone - Benedict Cumberbatch in my opinion is only second to the sublime David. A. His voice is soothing and is description is perfectly concise and factual. Score - Some people believe it reminds them of Africa but it is...
Published on 8 Oct. 2010 by PSR Cairns

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Vacuous commentary, great photography
I think the reviews here are ridiculously generous. Whilst it's true that the photography is magnificent and as a visual experience the series is impressive, the commentary is full of inanities and the viewer won't learn much that he or she can't see for themselves watching the programme. Some reviewers compare Cumberbatch, an actor and as far as I'm aware not a renowned...
Published 4 months ago by Crocus


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pacific Paradise?, 8 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
First of all lets go through some of the negatives I have read about this phenomenal mini series. The narration is cited by some as being bland and monotone - Benedict Cumberbatch in my opinion is only second to the sublime David. A. His voice is soothing and is description is perfectly concise and factual. Score - Some people believe it reminds them of Africa but it is fitting as it is definately in keeping with the tribal aspects of the south pacific (which are also given some attention throughout the series). Third - repetitive sequences. Whilst these do exist, I find this is commonplace in wildlife series (see Blue Planet and Planet Earth)- its simply a way of ensuring that stragglers can understand everything rather than assuming everyone has either followed the series from the first minute or has an encylopedic knowledge of marine bio-diversity. Who cares if they repeat huge sharks attacking struggling chick albatrosses learning to fly, flapping in dangerously shallow waters? Not me.

This is what makes the series staggeringly great value. It covers history and the influence of man, evolution and how certain species migrated across islands when it could have been quite easy to focus purely on marine life. After all, only 1% of the south pacific is land. The aerial shots provide an excellent sense of scale and the last episode provides a fitting analysis of how procarious and precious the south pacific is to everyone. I deliberately avoid going into details about certain episodes because I don't want to ruin it for anyone....

Finally, the Diaries section at the end of each episode is a great (and for me unexpected) addition because, like the immense Planet Earth series - we fully appreciate the lengths, timescales and risks taken by cameramen to bring never-before-seen shots. Who would have thought filming the inside of a big wave had never been done before?

Simply breathtaking this is an essential in Blu-Ray format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely treat, 2 Aug. 2009
By 
Sam M "book fiend" (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this DVD and it is definitely more than just a documentary series. Some of the footage is absolutely breathtaking and groundbreaking given that there are new grounds being conquered here.
Every episode has its own functional theme and has a quirky little diary series at the end which acts as a documentary on the series as such.
I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone with an inkling of interest in the South Pacific islands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars USA makes movies we Brits make the best documentaries, 26 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific [DVD] (DVD)
What makes this documentary series ground breaking is its breadth of vision. Not only are we introduced to the variety of life of The South Pacific, but also both the geological and anthropological curiosities of this little visited corner of the world. The cinema-photography proves those people wrong who thought that "Planet Earth" set the bar too high for subsequent documentary film makers. Another triumph for the BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 10 July 2009
By 
S. Hall (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific [DVD] (DVD)
Outstanding natural history series. Combines the fascinating photography amd information about indigenous species found in David Attenborough's programmes, with wider ranging, and thought provoking, anthropological and geological facts and theories.

The photography is unsurpassed. I could sit and watch the underwater shots of breaking waves in the first episode again and again, and the aerial footage throughout the series is beautiful.

It might be helpful to have an atlas to hand, as most of the aerial shots make it very difficult to work out exactly where a lot of the small islands are located, but this is my only tiny criticism of the whole series. I already have a waiting list of people wanting to borrow the DVD's!South Pacific [DVD] [2009]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe inspiring, 6 Jun. 2009
This review is from: South Pacific [DVD] (DVD)
A fabulous, calming, enormously interesting series. These are aspects of the 1000 islands that one would never get to see through travel alone...and a beautiful soundtrack too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars in every few hundred clams you find a pearl - this is it, 17 Sept. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Normaly I would start with the content, which in this case is great. But the Picture quality and the effort to wich the camerawork has gone, sets almost a new level. The satellite approach of a cyclone was one of the most impressiv pictures I have ever seen. The picture is cristal, the image so impressive, it makes look Hollywood like a puppet theatre.
The colour is very rich, turqouise water, white beaches, shades of green, you have to see to believe it. On top of that some of the most pristine coralreefs there are in existence today.
You learn a lot, like f.e. the history and tragedy of the stone sculpures on the Eastern Islands. The origins of basejumping, underwater-volcano explosions, cave-explorations, and many many more astonishing pictures and informations.
Get it and enjoy a picture perfect ride in the South Pacific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow amazing footage, 9 Dec. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I have only recently bought a blu-ray player and wanted to see what all the fuss was about (particularly on my 'HD ready TV')

I wasnt dissapointed !! This is by far one of the most stunning DVDs I have watched on the natural world

The footage is amazing, although I take the point that some footage has been recycled over episodes and perhaps used from elsewhere. But this is an old BBC trick and you come to ignore it when you watch enough nature BBC documentaries

Benedict Cumberbatch (the amazing actor in the TV series Hawking) is a fab voice-over for the series. You watch in awe at the quality while marveling at the smoothness of the narration

I really have very little else in my recent Blu-ray collection that gets so many 'wows' from my friends and family as this DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost meditative, 28 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific [DVD] (DVD)
I have watched (and bought) just about all the BBC natural history available onb DVD and this ranks amongst the best. The video is of cinematic quality and the soundtrack perfectly complimentary, relaxing and atmospheric. Before I watched I wondered if not being a David Attenborough narrated production it would suffer, but Dominic Cumberbatch is excellent.
The vastness of the Pacific and the remoteness of the islands is effectively conveyed and some of the information about the wildlife and how it got to such remote places is extraordinary.
All in all a wonderful package and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking !!, 13 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The only problem with the never failing quality of the documentaries produced by the BBC is that you just want to jack it all in and explore the world.

All the shots are stunning in there beauty and in a lot of cases show places and animals not seen before by more than a handfull of human beings.

Informative without being preechy and the addition of the featurets at the end of each episode make this the perfect package.

Owning all the BBC productions on Blu-Ray produced so far I would recomend this as an addition to anyones documentory collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High-Def imaging at its best, 30 July 2009
By 
Mr. Maurice E. Taggart (Carrickfergus, County Antrim) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Having enjoyed this series in standard resolution on Freeview, I was looking forward to its release on blu-ray, and was certainly not disappointed in this. The topics covered were almost all perfectly
suited to razor-sharp depiction, and the enhanced video and audio
added considerably to the enjoyment of the series. A really top-notch
production -- informative and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

South Pacific [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
South Pacific [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Benedict Cumberbatch (Blu-ray - 2009)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews