Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pacific Paradise?
First of all lets go through some of the negatives I have read about this phenomenal mini series. The narration is cited by some as being bland and monotone - Benedict Cumberbatch in my opinion is only second to the sublime David. A. His voice is soothing and is description is perfectly concise and factual. Score - Some people believe it reminds them of Africa but it is...
Published on 8 Oct 2010 by PSR Cairns

versus
21 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's......okay
I am Dutch. I Bought this item after reading reviews here. This disc is.....okay. Some of the footage is truly stunning. But only some. On top of that a few of the best clips have been redistributed over three episodes, as in repeated items. Narration could have been more lively, and the choice of music didn't help either. It constantly made me think of Africa, which has...
Published on 21 Oct 2009 by Leon


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pacific Paradise?, 8 Oct 2010
This review is from: South Pacific [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
First of all lets go through some of the negatives I have read about this phenomenal mini series. The narration is cited by some as being bland and monotone - Benedict Cumberbatch in my opinion is only second to the sublime David. A. His voice is soothing and is description is perfectly concise and factual. Score - Some people believe it reminds them of Africa but it is fitting as it is definately in keeping with the tribal aspects of the south pacific (which are also given some attention throughout the series). Third - repetitive sequences. Whilst these do exist, I find this is commonplace in wildlife series (see Blue Planet and Planet Earth)- its simply a way of ensuring that stragglers can understand everything rather than assuming everyone has either followed the series from the first minute or has an encylopedic knowledge of marine bio-diversity. Who cares if they repeat huge sharks attacking struggling chick albatrosses learning to fly, flapping in dangerously shallow waters? Not me.

This is what makes the series staggeringly great value. It covers history and the influence of man, evolution and how certain species migrated across islands when it could have been quite easy to focus purely on marine life. After all, only 1% of the south pacific is land. The aerial shots provide an excellent sense of scale and the last episode provides a fitting analysis of how procarious and precious the south pacific is to everyone. I deliberately avoid going into details about certain episodes because I don't want to ruin it for anyone....

Finally, the Diaries section at the end of each episode is a great (and for me unexpected) addition because, like the immense Planet Earth series - we fully appreciate the lengths, timescales and risks taken by cameramen to bring never-before-seen shots. Who would have thought filming the inside of a big wave had never been done before?

Simply breathtaking this is an essential in Blu-Ray format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely treat, 2 Aug 2009
By 
Sam M "book fiend" (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: South Pacific [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this DVD and it is definitely more than just a documentary series. Some of the footage is absolutely breathtaking and groundbreaking given that there are new grounds being conquered here.
Every episode has its own functional theme and has a quirky little diary series at the end which acts as a documentary on the series as such.
I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone with an inkling of interest in the South Pacific islands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 10 July 2009
By 
S. Hall (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific [DVD] (DVD)
Outstanding natural history series. Combines the fascinating photography amd information about indigenous species found in David Attenborough's programmes, with wider ranging, and thought provoking, anthropological and geological facts and theories.

The photography is unsurpassed. I could sit and watch the underwater shots of breaking waves in the first episode again and again, and the aerial footage throughout the series is beautiful.

It might be helpful to have an atlas to hand, as most of the aerial shots make it very difficult to work out exactly where a lot of the small islands are located, but this is my only tiny criticism of the whole series. I already have a waiting list of people wanting to borrow the DVD's!South Pacific [DVD] [2009]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NATURE DVD, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. B. K. Larcombe (HANTS. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South Pacific [DVD] (DVD)
Plenty of information given in this DVD If you are interested. Its a bit like going on a package holiday so much to see and digest.You can learn so much about a fantastic area of the world which most of us will never see in real life.So many Islands to visit with their wildlife some of which are not found anywhere else. Brilliant photography and informative background help to keep one entranced at the many different types of life. Watching in your own front room without the humidity and the heat of the area helps to add to the enjoyment.The BBC have once again given us bugs,fish and plants in abundance with their weird and wonderful facts and the way they live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars special, 17 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: South Pacific [DVD] (DVD)
I have watched wild life programs all my life,but i have yet to see such brilliant photogrophy,the clarity of some of the shots are quite simply breath taking.South Pacific takes you away from the ugly side of the world we live in,and takes you into our real world whitch is, beautiful,absalutely mindblowing.The narration is not Sir David, but its done with heart and feeling,do yourself a favour and take a dip into the real world in whitch we live..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars USA makes movies we Brits make the best documentaries, 26 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific [DVD] (DVD)
What makes this documentary series ground breaking is its breadth of vision. Not only are we introduced to the variety of life of The South Pacific, but also both the geological and anthropological curiosities of this little visited corner of the world. The cinema-photography proves those people wrong who thought that "Planet Earth" set the bar too high for subsequent documentary film makers. Another triumph for the BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe inspiring, 6 Jun 2009
This review is from: South Pacific [DVD] (DVD)
A fabulous, calming, enormously interesting series. These are aspects of the 1000 islands that one would never get to see through travel alone...and a beautiful soundtrack too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable Journey, 19 Sep 2009
By 
Andries J. Hough "Sunray" (Cape Town, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is by far the best and most brilliant BBC release in some time, having taken a dive in titles such as Wild China. Blu Ray transfer is spot on (unlike Ganges and Wild China which is rife with artifacts) and the disk as a whole is insightful though the music can become a bit repetitive after watching a few episodes in succession (if you should do that). Weird creatures and beautiful photography makes this a worthwhile addition to your collection and comes highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thousand hues of blue, 23 July 2009
By 
D. Babic "Darko" (Croatia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South Pacific [DVD] (DVD)
In perfect accordance with its tradition this BBC documentary offers the finest extract of magic seen on the Blue Planet and the Planet Earth, but here six hours is devoted only to South Pacific - the ocean, seas, islands, wildlife and culture. If you ever asked yourself what is colour of a sea you will find thousand hues of blue, and many, many more...
If you like islands as I do (after all coming from country which has 1000) enjoying this 20.000 is, even over DVD remarkable experience...so good that even absence of Sir David (real brand of BBC) voice is tolerable. The last episode about sustainable development, i.e. sustainable retreat (ref. Planet Earth) should be obligatory educational material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars South Pacific DVD, 19 July 2009
By 
A. Smith (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South Pacific [DVD] (DVD)
Having spent a holiday in Hawaii last November this DVD was of particular interest.Beautifully filmed with an excellent narration this is well worth the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

South Pacific [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
South Pacific [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Benedict Cumberbatch (Blu-ray - 2009)
10.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews