Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A DISTINCTIVE SOUND OF THE FIFTIES
NOTE: This review relates solely to the double CD from Rexx, not the single CD from Delta, to which it's been cross-posted by Amazon.

Eddie Calvert's Golden Trumpet secured him two number one hits, with "Oh, Mein Papa" and "Cherry Pink And Apple Blossom White", which kick off this 2-CD set of 50 tracks. Many of the numbers are standards, and sound quality is...
Published on 26 April 2009 by Barry McCanna

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Flat as a Pancake
First off let me say that I bought this CD off a stall in Blackpool NOT Amazon, I'm sure it's the same CD though.

The problem is that is sounds is as flat as a pancake, worse than that, like a cassette that's begun to unwind in your tape player.

The prime culprit must be the master tapes, where are they from? remastered 78's? Calverts trumpet cuts...
Published on 12 May 2010 by Mr. Gordon E. Leek


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A DISTINCTIVE SOUND OF THE FIFTIES, 26 April 2009
By 
Barry McCanna (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Golden Trumpet (Audio CD)
NOTE: This review relates solely to the double CD from Rexx, not the single CD from Delta, to which it's been cross-posted by Amazon.

Eddie Calvert's Golden Trumpet secured him two number one hits, with "Oh, Mein Papa" and "Cherry Pink And Apple Blossom White", which kick off this 2-CD set of 50 tracks. Many of the numbers are standards, and sound quality is excellent. This is straight trumpet playing of a high order, and Eddie is revealed as a competent vocalist also on "The Common Touch".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 19 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. R Cottrell (torrington uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Trumpet (Audio CD)
this cd is fantastic ,,it brought back a lot of memories to me,i bought it after hearing 1 of his tunes on the radio & i thought i must get 1 ,,so this was it & i,m truly happy i did ,,its great to hear that trumpet played so well," oh my papa" was the 1 i mostly bought it for but they,re all very good & well worth listening to ,,a very good buy ,,you wont be sorry ,,,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best trumpet player of his time, 8 Oct 2010
By 
Mrs. J. A. Holt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Golden Trumpet (Audio CD)
I Loved Eddie Calvert and this CD has brought my youth flying back, Its brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Flat as a Pancake, 12 May 2010
By 
Mr. Gordon E. Leek "Gurdo" (Southport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Golden Trumpet (Audio CD)
First off let me say that I bought this CD off a stall in Blackpool NOT Amazon, I'm sure it's the same CD though.

The problem is that is sounds is as flat as a pancake, worse than that, like a cassette that's begun to unwind in your tape player.

The prime culprit must be the master tapes, where are they from? remastered 78's? Calverts trumpet cuts through but the backing musicians on each track sound like they're in the next room. Seek out the EMI releases, they're bound to have been cut from better stock than this. One to avoid...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Trumpet (Audio CD)
Being a fan of Eddie and once again able to listen to him play that trumpet was magic you need to buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eddie Calvert, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Trumpet (Audio CD)
I had hoped that Il Silenzio was on the CD but unfortunatelly I am still trying to find a copy of this tune
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Golden Trumpet
Golden Trumpet by Eddie Calvert
Buy MP3 Album6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews