Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for a cheap monitor
Very nice monitor with good crisp vivid colour rendition - which is what impressed me the most, something good when editing photos. Some photos seem to pop out and good sense of 3D appearance to them. Seems bright and crisp for a light room allowing comfortable viewing. I have seem more expensive models with poorer colours. No HDMI socket, but that is found in more...
Published on 6 Feb 2010 by Christopher Hughes

versus
38 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good as a PC monitor
This monitor is probably perfect for watching DVDs or for playing computer games. It arrived beautifully boxed, ensuring no transit damage, it worked as soon as I plugged it in. It displays a finely detailed picture with good colours. For 1920x1080 resolution and a fair sized monitor, it seemed excellent value for money.

But, the vertical range of acceptable...
Published on 18 Oct 2010 by Mr. R. E. Grindley


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for a cheap monitor, 6 Feb 2010
By 
Christopher Hughes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BenQ G2220HD 21.5 Inch Wide LCD Monitor (16:9 Full-HD 1080P,5ms, 10,000:1,DVI) - Glossy Black (Personal Computers)
Very nice monitor with good crisp vivid colour rendition - which is what impressed me the most, something good when editing photos. Some photos seem to pop out and good sense of 3D appearance to them. Seems bright and crisp for a light room allowing comfortable viewing. I have seem more expensive models with poorer colours. No HDMI socket, but that is found in more expensive E model not this G one. Despite some reviews mine came with UK plug, guess it depends which seller you use. No built in speakers, but this is perhaps why you get a monitor with excellent image quality for this price. I would recommend this monitor if you are looking for a very good image 1080p widescreen monitor with a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent monitor, even for fussy people like me., 23 Dec 2009
By 
P. Underhill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BenQ G2220HD 21.5 Inch Wide LCD Monitor (16:9 Full-HD 1080P,5ms, 10,000:1,DVI) - Glossy Black (Personal Computers)
I can't stand a poor monitor. Whether it's blurry or unevenly lit, it really irks me. I have no such problem with this monitor! Backlight is nice and even, viewing angle seems pretty good and display is crisp, clear and easy on the eyes straight out of the box. Blacks are very black and whites are very white. I use it with a PC through the DVI input and an XBox 360 through the VGA input and it's very decent at both.

Difficult to know what else to say really. Lack of HDMI input is I suppose an issue for some people, but given the price of the monitor you can't expect this quality with a HDMI input as well. No speakers is a plus for me, because it means the monitor casing is as compact as it could possibly be. If you have any reservations about the pixel size on 22" 1080p monitor I shouldn't worry. I've found the native 1980 x 1080 resolution at 22" screen size is very readable.

If DVI and VGA are enough for you, I couldn't recommend this monitor more. Incredible value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent hd monitor!, 7 Oct 2010
By 
D. Turner (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ G2220HD 21.5 Inch Wide LCD Monitor (16:9 Full-HD 1080P,5ms, 10,000:1,DVI) - Glossy Black (Personal Computers)
I was looking for a cheap monitor to play blu ray films in hd (and because I wanted dual display) and this was the cheapest hd monitor I could find, whilst also suprisingly being a nice size and looking great. The colours are pristine and its the perfect size for watching films etc. It looks gorgeous and works perfectly, only drawbacks are that there is no hdmi (but for the price it is that isn't expected) and it only has a european power plug, as others have stated, although I had a spare one luckily... you could also pick one up for a few pounds if needs be. As these problems caused me no issue its 5* from me! Excellent product from benq and great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Dec 2009
By 
John Seaden (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BenQ G2220HD 21.5 Inch Wide LCD Monitor (16:9 Full-HD 1080P,5ms, 10,000:1,DVI) - Glossy Black (Personal Computers)
Really nice monitor. Doesn't have HDMI but it didn't worry me as I wanted just a monitor for my PC.

I'd be surprised to find anything as good for this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Screen - Shame about the plug - Beware, 29 Nov 2009
This review is from: BenQ G2220HD 21.5 Inch Wide LCD Monitor (16:9 Full-HD 1080P,5ms, 10,000:1,DVI) - Glossy Black (Personal Computers)
I really love the screen and it is brilliant - but for a screen to be sold in the UK and only be supplied with a two pin plug I found both annoying and stupid. Beware you will need a converter plug.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great bang for the buck, 29 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. N. Coleman (SW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BenQ G2220HD 21.5 Inch Wide LCD Monitor (16:9 Full-HD 1080P,5ms, 10,000:1,DVI) - Glossy Black (Personal Computers)
Like another reviewer here, I find poor monitors irksome. Also, with the more recent operating systems, the available resolutions are somewhat dependant on whether the OS recognises the monitor. I spent days searching for a driver for W7x64 for an Acer X233, just to get 1080p. The BenQ is superb. I have four of them mounted on a 2x2 bracket for some serious desktop real-estate (I kept running out of space with 2 x 1920 x 1080 + 2 x 1280 x 1024). Bright, crisp and simple; intuitive on-screen-menu which is easy to navigate and great range of dynamics. UK plug supplied.

Would I buy another? - If I had the room and enough peripheral vision, sure - LOL! Very happy indeed.

One final point which will not be of any interest except to EMC engineers like myself, radio operators and hams, the EMC footprint of these monitors at HF and VHF is very good. The trait for cheap electronics to leave out crucial filtering components from the PSU has not been replicated in this product and the only cleaning up I had to do was from the conducted emissions arising from the DVI up from the PC. No significant radiated emissions from the screen. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very surprised!, 15 Nov 2011
This review is from: BenQ G2220HD 21.5 Inch Wide LCD Monitor (16:9 Full-HD 1080P,5ms, 10,000:1,DVI) - Glossy Black (Personal Computers)
like a few other reviews i was not expecting too much from this monitor,set up within 5 minutes,had to reduce the default brightness a notch and straight into a crystal clear picture!running it through dvi,very pleased with it.i was using a 600 lg hdtv before(i mainly game on pc) and i reckon this has an even better picture!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Monitor, 23 Feb 2011
This review is from: BenQ G2220HD 21.5 Inch Wide LCD Monitor (16:9 Full-HD 1080P,5ms, 10,000:1,DVI) - Glossy Black (Personal Computers)
Bought this the other day and loved it! It came with the perfect packaging and easy to install, didn't even need the instruction booklet.
The colours are amazing! Excellent quality 21.5 inch monitor!
I've read some reviews that theirs came with a 2 pin plug but mine came with 3 pin plug so I'm happy with that.
No built in speakers but I can always buy a separate and better one.
All in all really happy with it! 5 Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice screen - but no HDMI input, 19 Dec 2009
By 
R. Diederich (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ G2220HD 21.5 Inch Wide LCD Monitor (16:9 Full-HD 1080P,5ms, 10,000:1,DVI) - Glossy Black (Personal Computers)
This is an excellent screen, colours and viewing angles are excellent, and it did come with a UK plug. However if you are after an HDMI input go for the E model BenQ E2220HD - LCD display - TFT - 21.5" - widescreen - 1920 x 1080 - 300 cd/m2 - 1000:1 - 50000:1 (dynamic) - 5 ms - 0.248 mm HDMI, DVI-D, VGA - speakers - glossy black.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent monitor, 19 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ G2220HD 21.5 Inch Wide LCD Monitor (16:9 Full-HD 1080P,5ms, 10,000:1,DVI) - Glossy Black (Personal Computers)
This BenQ G2220HD monitor has one VGA (analogue) and one DVI-D (digital) input only, there's no HDMI or speakers inputs. The monitor doesn't have built in speakers, but this is no great loss as monitor speakers like laptop ones usually produce poor quality sound.

It came supplied with a VGA (D-sub) cable, and a power cable with a continental two pin plug on it. If you don't have a spare power cable, it's a simple job to cut off the continental plug and fit a three pin British type plug. Just ensure that it is fitted with a 5 amp fuse. Or use a travel adaptor with the continental plug.
The monitor has the usual stand for desk mounting, but there's also provision for a VESA standard 100mm (4 inch) mount on the back for wall mounting, if you prefer to mount it on the wall, with a separately bought bracket (frees up desk space).
The easy to use user manual is on the included CD.

The monitor itself is quite smart with an uncluttered narrow gloss black bezel surrounding a matt black screen (21.5 inch viewable area). And a control `panel' to the bottom right hand side, protruding below the line of the bezel, which actually looks a little odd.

Controls for picture adjustment (should you want to play about with it) are mounted underneath the right hand side of the monitor on this control panel and are manual micro-switches which bring up a small, clear OSD (on screen display) which is easy to use and self explanatory. The monitor on/off switch (which has an unobtrusive `on' light), is located there as well.
Using the DVI-D connection the monitor sets itself up, but if you use a D-sub connection setting up is done using the Auto-tune control on the monitor. Personal preference settings or fine tuning can be done from the control panel, but you probably won't need to do any further adjustments.

It worked "straight from the box" on W7 via my own DVI-D cable on my PC, no drivers are supplied or required.
It's important to me that accurate colour and clarity is displayed on a monitor and the picture quality on this monitor is excellent: pin sharp text and good, accurate colour representation for pictures and photographs. Blacks are black and whites are white too. Perfect.

This is a no frills monitor and this is reflected in the price, but where corners haven't been cut is in the image quality of this screen and this is what matters, as this is what you're going to be looking at all the time and (hopefully) for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3c21eac)

This product

Only search this product's reviews