Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Songs, If Only There Were More Of Them
First things first, anyone buying this CD should be aware that only half the CD has full songs on them, the other half just has the instrumentals from movie scenes. However, these instrumentals are very good, and a fan of racing games would appreciate these tunes playing in the background.

There are four brilliant songs on the CD, 'Real Gone' by Sheryl Crow is...
Published on 1 Aug 2006 by Blaynos

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cars Soundtrack (a minor quibble)
I've noticed a lot of praise for the song Life Is A Highway, catchy song, very good etc. BUT i feel i must point out that it's a cover of Tom Cochrane's song from the early 90's. The original version is MUCH better, far more rockier. Please do yourself a favour and find that version. Why they couldn't have put it on the soundtrack instead of the bland Rascal Flatts...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. R. A. Pinder


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Songs, If Only There Were More Of Them, 1 Aug 2006
By 
Blaynos (Edgware, London) - See all my reviews
First things first, anyone buying this CD should be aware that only half the CD has full songs on them, the other half just has the instrumentals from movie scenes. However, these instrumentals are very good, and a fan of racing games would appreciate these tunes playing in the background.

There are four brilliant songs on the CD, 'Real Gone' by Sheryl Crow is an upbeat and catchy soft-rock song with a country twist. There is a definate and prominent country theme in most of the songs, including 'Life is a Highway' by Rascal Flatts and John Mayer's version of Route 66. The original, by Chuck Berry is also on the CD.

'Life is a Highway' is an incredibly catchy songs, with superb vocals.

It must be said that this CD has done very well in America, and the Rascal Flatts song has done well in the singles' charts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Music from an Excellent Film, 28 Aug 2006
By 
RMS Oceanic (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This is the Original Soundtrack (OST) to Pixar's 2006 Blockbuster, Cars. Half of the tracks are excellent Rock & Roll and Country songs by the likes of Sheryl Crow and Brad Paisley. Of these, "Real Gone", "Life is a Highway", "Our Town" and "Find Yourself" really stand out as great songs.

The rest of the tracks are instrumental scores used in the film by Randy Newman. It has country music interwoven into most of the themes, and is used masterfully to portray the relevant emotions of a scene.

This CD is great for Rock and Roll Fans, Country Fans, OST fans and those who love Randy Newman. I recommend it whole heartedly.

* Minor Complaint - There is a wonderful piece of instrumental music played in the film when the character Doc Hudson is driving round a race track. This music is absent from the CD, which is a shame. That makes my real rating 4 1/2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Country Music Happen to Disney Film Cars, 12 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. B. M. Jones "Brenton-Lee" (PAIGNTON,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Country Music is not often used in Disney Films but this one there has lots of Country Music, Being age 20 from England Show that a popular Music Gentre from USA can happen in a Disney Film.
Brad Paisley,Rascal Flatts and Hank Wiliams have Songs in the Film and the Soundtrack

10/10 Best Album of 2006 by a mile, Country Rocks and the best music in the world and when i heard Country Music was in a Disney Film I Was Shocked and Pleased

Catchy Album, If You love Country Music you will Love it

Rascal Flatts - Life is a Highway 10/10 This song is catchy, Get You in your head
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Float like a Cadillac! Sting like a Beemer! Just amazing :), 19 Mar 2007
By 
P. Slater "aniceguy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just amazing! So why the four stars? Well lets explain ...

Upon watching the film for the first time I fell completely in love with it; along with millions of other children, and adults! The music didn't just add the emotions to this film, it created them!

A good mix of classic songs (rock and/or roll) along with the score music. Even if you are not into the score music you find yourself blending yourself right into it :)

I would have rated this 5 stars but something lacked ...

The only thing that really disappointed me is that the score music is all spread out ... parts of the film such as the race are bundled into one theme. Though in the film there is a short 1 minute odd track where 'doc' (Hudson Hornet) is racing around the dirt track back at radiator springs, where Mulqueen realises how to turn around the corner he always messed up.

I have found it a shame to find that they mixed this up in the last track and didn't include the whole track.

I highly recommend this as it is a good album to wake up to, have dinner to or just sit down and relax to ...

Buy it and you won't be disappointed :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars family fave, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
we all love this cd in our house...has been on permanent rotation in the car since we bought it and has all the faves from the film, in sequence. good cd to get kids off to sleep on long journeys...lively at the beginning, quieter in the middle, instrumental at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really love this album! I bought it for my 7 year old who loves the title track, however I've played it more than he has. Really good mix of upbeat fast paced tracks, slow (even thought provoking!!) tracks and some instrumental numbers that are great to have on in the background whilst you do the washing up :)! Truly is a good album in it's own right, without the need to be affiliated with a Disney movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cars Soundtrack (a minor quibble), 4 Mar 2013
I've noticed a lot of praise for the song Life Is A Highway, catchy song, very good etc. BUT i feel i must point out that it's a cover of Tom Cochrane's song from the early 90's. The original version is MUCH better, far more rockier. Please do yourself a favour and find that version. Why they couldn't have put it on the soundtrack instead of the bland Rascal Flatts version i'll never know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant soundtrack, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All of the family loves the Cars films and this soundtrack is excellent as not only does it have all the songs it has all the instrumentals that play throughout the film on there as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A couple of great songs, 9 Dec 2012
By 
L G Thompson (Watford, Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my 2 year old's birthday as he loves the film. There are 2/3 fabulous songs that we love on this and the rest are just backing tracks. Does what is says on the tin and it's no shock as I read the blurb before purchasing but we really only end up listening to the first 3..over and over and over..in the car! The first 3 songs really are fantastic and very evocative of the film..which we also have to watch over and over and over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cars original sound track, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good value found the exact track i wanted. Its now in the car and im enjoying the cd. many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4985f18)

This product

Only search this product's reviews