Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth its weight in Aztec Gold
After seeing a film, I do not usually feel compelled to rush out and buy the soundtrack. When heard without any visual accompaniment the effect of the music is often found to be greatly diminished. That was certainly not the case with Pirates of the Caribbean.
Listening to the soundtrack after already seeing the film (Twice and wanting to go again!), resulted in the...
Published on 22 Sep 2003 by Catherine E Lougher-Harris

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality sound.
Disappointed that this music that I normally enjoy so much from a very entertaining film, is spoilt by this basic fault.
Published 13 months ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth its weight in Aztec Gold, 22 Sep 2003
By 
Catherine E Lougher-Harris (Maesteg, Mid-Glamorgan United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
After seeing a film, I do not usually feel compelled to rush out and buy the soundtrack. When heard without any visual accompaniment the effect of the music is often found to be greatly diminished. That was certainly not the case with Pirates of the Caribbean.
Listening to the soundtrack after already seeing the film (Twice and wanting to go again!), resulted in the action being replayed clearly in my minds's eye. Every clash of pirate steel and every cannon fired is brilliantly brought to life in a musical feast that Captain Barbossa himself would have no problem devouring. Klaus Badelt's musical score builds up into a crashing, crescendo of a wave that leaves you feeling both exhilarated and exhausted. Hear this music and you can feel the sea breeze in your hair and taste the salt in the wind.
This is certainly the most dynamic orchestral arrangement that I have heard in a very long time. Buy the CD and relive the adventures on the high seas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's just good, savvy?, 3 Mar 2004
By 
On having seen the film 'Pirates of the Caribbean', I decided to buy the soundtrack. (The fact that it was on sale notwithstanding...) I got it home and it didn't leave my stereo for almost two weeks! It's just that good.
As well as brilliant orchestration (Klaus Badelt and Hans Zimmer at their best, I believe), the tracks provide an amzing compliment to the film itself. Each piece has an element of pirate in it, which makes it stand apart from any other pieces of classical music. 'He's A Pirate' makes a fittingly dramatic end to the soundtrack.
'Barbossa is Hungry' is arguably one of the best tracks from this album. Starting off with quite slow and suspensful strings, the piece builds up into a dramatic piece fitting of a film of such high standards.
It is a little difficult to separate the film from the pieces, so trying to listen to the soundtrack as a stand alone is complicated. I believe however, that even those who were not fortunate enough to see the film, or didn't like it (sacralige!) will still like this soundtrack. it offers amazing, breath-taking excitement, heartfelt romance, fun and frolics, pilfering, comandeering and other pirately exploits all in just 15 tracks.
A must have for those fans of the film itself, or of classical music in general. Two big thumbs up, and a bottle of rum!
"But why is the rum gone?!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing and Thrilling adventure, 28 Dec 2003
By 
Well i'm in a state of shock with this Cd. I received it for Christmas and i have to admit i was worried about it as i'd read previous reviews and they all said this was brilliant and i was scared i'd be let done, but boy was i wrong! Everything said was true!! This Cd not only includes brill music (which i have to admit i'm not normally in to) but it takes you on a voyage through the film. With every song memories from the film come flooding back to you and you re-live the film. It is a masterpiece which all Pirates of the Caribbean fans should have! I can't stop listening to it and another plus with the CD is that it's like a puzzle - you have to try to work out which song goes with which scene of the film. I still haven't worked them all out! As a matter of fact i've only worked out 3!
My two favourite songs have to be "The medallion Calls" which corresponds to the scene where Jack Sparrow first enters on his brilliant ship (NOT)- it's flooded and he barely makes it to shore, and my other favourite song is "Blood ritual" which corresponds to when Will Turner gets told what really happened to his father by the evil pirates. It almost brings a tear to your eye just like others make you laugh and smile!
A must have CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yo ho ho!, 3 Sep 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This soundtrack is incredible, almost as good as the film it accompanies; the film would be much duller without such a rousing score. The soundtrack does for seafaring violin themes what the film does for swashbuckling romps. using contrast and intensity to make its points; the fierceness of the theme (dance?) underscoring the swordfight 'Swords Crossed' lies beautifully next to the haunting 'Fog Bound'.
This soundtrack isn't full of lilting love themes, but dances from heart-stopping and tango speed to slow and subtle with the ease of a masterpiece. Being a big fan of the Gladiator soundtrack I can detect Hans Zimmer's influences; this, like Gladiator, is a clever orchestration which vividly brings to mind the excellently choreographed and cinematic scenes from the film. Themes run throughout all the tracks, in parallel to themes running through the film, giving everything a professional, unified feel.
My absolute favourite is at the end of 'The Medallion Calls' with the "Jack Sparrow" theme and as I noticed this theme underscoring several other parts of the film, I was surprised it only appears the once. It's truly fitting to the comic moment; the soundtrack has as ineffable a sense of comic timing as the film itself.
All in all, the CD could be longer (but where would the material for "More Music from Pirates.." come from?) but is an excellent addition to any CD collection nonetheless. Yarrrr!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have for fans of the film!, 4 Jun 2006
By 
This is a great soundtrack for anyone who enjoyed the film. With its central theme 'The Black Pearl' echoed in every track, you get a wonderful sense of unity of the whole album. It is very evocative and takes you back to some of the key moments in the film - the first track 'Fog Bound' is very eerie and sets the mood. This is contrasted brilliantly by 'The Black Pearl' (during which Captain Jack arrives in style on his sinking ship!) and you can visualise the swordfight in the smithy during track 4!! If you enjoyed the film, this is definately a must have CD - you can almost taste the rum!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic album, 19 Sep 2003
By 
L. Cooney (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
An excellent CD that recalls the mood of the movie perfectly. As soon as I switch it on I want to be aboard the Pearl battling Barbossa's skeleton crew and saying things like, "Avast ye!" and "Ahoy there, mateys!" There seems to be a theme running through all the action-sounding pieces, and then slower breaks - a bit repetitive but good for something like this. I can't even say I really noticed the synthesised instruments, but it's not a bad thing. The more classical music tries to blend in with modern stuff the better I say. Get this if you liked the Lord of the Rings soundtracks as some parts of it are very similar to that. My only criticisms are that it was too short and didn't include any renditions of 'A Pirate's Life For Me', the song that seemed to dominate the film itself.
All in all, a very good album and one that I won't get tired of in a hurry. If this doesn't at least get nominated for Best Score at this year's Oscars (although by rights it deserves to win), I will eat my three-cornered hat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yo ho ho and a bottle of...Ahem., 2 Dec 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would say that the thing that really makes a good movie a great movie is the music to go with it. If the soundtrack is rubbish you wont enjoy the film so much. Just look at Star Wars and E.T-This music is known and loved throughout the world because its just so darn good!
Klaus Badelt's rollicking, rousing soundtrack to 'Pirates of the Caribbean' is the perfect partner to the hilarious film itself. Apart from the fact it's typically Piraty {if there is such a word...}with lots of rowdy crashes, deep foghorn-like bass notes and a hint of the songs of the seadogs {The drunken sailor?' etc.} The timing of each cymbal crash and drum beat is perfectly in time with the cannons fireing and the swords meeting. The best example of this is the fight between Jack Sparrow and Will Turner in the Smithy. Every sword crossed, every punch, hit and lunge, has a 'sound' to go with it. As the pace quickens the music quickens, and the opposite occurs when it slows. There is certain music to go with Barbossa's Captain Hook sequence, Will and Jacks move with and upturned rowing boat {Watch it.. you'll understand} and even Elizabeth collapsing into the sea 50ft below has its own little piece.
It wasn't the Actors that kept time with the music either, the orchestra and the Conductor had to keep time with them! Cool!
To conclude, you definitely get your money's worth, it's catchy, fun and interesting, and it sticks in your head. Which isn't so good...If i had one thing to complain about {and its really very small} it that the songs run into each other so you can't tell where you are in the CD. But no matter. Its a good all rounder-if you liked the film, get the soundtrack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best film score in YEARS! Shame it's not longer...., 18 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. A. Welbourn (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I agree with many of the points already made about this soundtrack, it's a fantastic score for a brilliant movie (Johnny Depp is the king of eccentric character roles, Jack Sparrow is wickedly funny and completely believable, look out for Orlando Bloom's impression of Jack midway through the movie, spot on!), but it's just too darn short!
Don't get me wrong, this is a must buy, although you will be disappointed the creators of the CD didn't think the paying public deserved more for us to listen to. I have been whistling the main them for weeks (best heard in the short "He's a Pirate"), day in day out, to the point where my fiancee threatened me with pain, it is inspiring and rousing in a way most other CD's (film score OR otherwise) fail to achieve and you certainly won't be disappointed with the quality of the music!
Let's just hope the creators bring out a Special Extended Edition CD. Music this good has a right to be fully appreciated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant music!, 10 Oct 2003
By 
It's been ages since I last bought a soundtrack really, because the soundtracks of many shows these days are more of like, compilations of rock bands.
The music of POTC caught my attention near the beginning of the song, and I was impressed then. When I bought it and listened to it I was really delighted because the music is really great and brings out every vital feeling in the different parts of the show itself. It was almost perfect to me, save for the fact that I felt the music variation wasn't too great.
Still I think this soundtrack is a must-have for anyone who enjoyed the brilliant movie .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a tune, 8 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. D. J. Read (Alnwick, Northumberland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The score to this film is truly stunning. The music is so catchy, and, more than that, has long term appeal, I'm still listening on and off since buying it over a year ago. I'm sure you know the tune if you're looking at this review.

Although the soundtrack is dominated by the said tune, there are many variations of it, and other great tunes in there. I still find track 15 the best, it is truly wonderful. And of course the price is now very reasonable, you have no excuse for not buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews