Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars24
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2006
Having loved the first films soundtrack i knew i had to get the second one without seeing the film.

As the title suggests there is everything that you loved about the first films track, the big percussion, the rousing scores that go from quiet to dramatic and back again in one track but they have altered it to include the new themes that the film introduces.

My personal favourite is Davey Jone's section which has a very phantom of the opera feel to it (ties in well to him playing the organ on the Flying Dutchmen). Also the theme for the dutchmen is excellent as it inspires the fear that davey jone's crew carry with them

All in all a great soundtrack!!!
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2006
Just like the POTC soundtrack for the first movie, this one is absolutely excellent, very powerful music!! However, there is one BIG problem with it, and that is the last track on the CD. This is supposed to be a classical music soundtrack so why is there an awful dance remix on it?!!?? This track doesn't fit in with the rest of the cd at all, I just can't understand why it's on there. When I discovered that 'Yo ho, yo ho, a pirates life for me' wasn't on the first soundtrack I was disappointed but soon got over it because of the great music. But to be honest, you can't listen to the new soundtrack from beginning to end because of that ridiculous final track!!!!!! I feel like the last track could of been the End Credits music from POTC2. Because of this, I have been forced to deduct a star from my overall rating!! EXCELLENT MOVIE BY THE WAY!!!!!!!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2006
This soundtrack is excellent... just as good as the first one. Hans Zimmer has lived up to his usual high standards of movie soundtrack composition. I would totally recommend this to anyone... it's great whether you've seen the movie or not... although you MUST see the movie if you already haven't!!!

I guess you're wondering why I have given this only 4 stars if I like it so much? Well it's simply for this reason... the final track on the cd is an absolutely attrocious, extremely unecessary dance remix of some of Hans Zimmers music from the movie. I can't understand why this was even put on this cd!! It doesn't fit in with the other tracks!! Why would anybody do it?!?! WHY??!!! WHY???!!!!!!!! It's not like it's even been remixed well... you can barely make out the Pirates tune in it!! Such a shame that it was put on the cd, otherwise I would have given it an unquestionable 5 out of 5!!

Apart from that monstrosity that is the last track, it's an excellent soundtrack... go and put it in your Amazon shopping basket NOW!!!!!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2009
The motion picture OST of the second installment of the Pirates Trilogy did not live up to my high expectations.

Where as "Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl" (produced by Klaus Bladelt), is a beautifully composed and solid soundtrack where every track fits right in, the tracks of "Dead Man's Chest" are more haphazard, and do not really fit together. Each track on its own makes for an intense and satisfying listen (hence the 3 star rating), but together there is no real coherence.

The music itself is very loud, very bombastic, and full of adrenaline: pure Hans Zimmer. Especially "The Kraken" (huge, horrible monster-squid about to crush ship) puts the subwoofers to the test.

The CD comes with a bonus track - the DJ Tiësto mix of "He's a pirate". This track does not fit in with the rest of the CD thanks to the completely different style (techno/trance). It may be considered a poisoned gift.

If you are interested in a Pirate soundtrack, you are probably better off with "Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl". If you are a true Zimmer fan, or if you desperately want to complete your Pirate Trilogy collection: consider yourself advised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2010
Hans Zimmer has made an excellent soundtrack and the songs, scores and themes on this album is so delightful and one really enjoy the way Zimmer uses violins, chellos and - The Whole freaking Orchestra! MUMS FILIBABA - as we would say....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
After watching the exciting film and playing the ' Pirates of the Caribbean' ps3 game, the music really got into my head and I just had to buy the CD. A truly wonderful sound that is very thrilling and very enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2010
This is a wonderful soundtrack; the only reason of my 4 stars review is because "He's a pirate" mixed by DJ Tiesto is not suitable for the symphonic grandeur of this genre of soundtracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
This is not as interesting as I hoped it might be. Some of the tracks are very samey. It did not have much of the famous theme that one associates with Pirates of the Caribbean.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
Good orchestral soundtrack - everyone probably recognises it, it's been on the radio so much.
Great stuff to put on in the background.
Quick delivery,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2010
Good CD but my fault bought the wrong one . Thought it had the "signature Tune He's a Pirate" but it doesn't Must be on At World's End
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)