Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars marvellous
i too bought mainly for dog walks on dark winter nights and this torch wasplenty bright enough and just wind it up for a minute or so while walking ....also used it on car one night while working on brakes and was able to stand it up and point it where i was working..and could see great
Published on 15 Dec 2009 by Mr. P. J. Simpson

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Weak winding mechanism
This torch has good wattage of light, however the winder is made of thin moulded plastic which snapped within the first few weeks of use, thus rendering the torch useless. Needs better engineering to the part that takes the stress, recommend trying another brand.
Published on 15 Feb 2012 by happymonday


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars marvellous, 15 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. P. J. Simpson "rob56" (n/west u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yellowstone 20 LED Wind-Up Lantern - Black, 1 Pack (DIY & Tools)
i too bought mainly for dog walks on dark winter nights and this torch wasplenty bright enough and just wind it up for a minute or so while walking ....also used it on car one night while working on brakes and was able to stand it up and point it where i was working..and could see great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Weak winding mechanism, 15 Feb 2012
This review is from: Yellowstone 20 LED Wind-Up Lantern - Black, 1 Pack (DIY & Tools)
This torch has good wattage of light, however the winder is made of thin moulded plastic which snapped within the first few weeks of use, thus rendering the torch useless. Needs better engineering to the part that takes the stress, recommend trying another brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 in one led Wind-up torch, 25 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Bm Park (England united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yellowstone 20 LED Wind-Up Lantern - Black, 1 Pack (DIY & Tools)
Bought this torch for out walking the dog on these cold dark winter nights.
excellent lights up the floor in front of you and you can keep an eye on the dog
with the beam on the top, easy to wind-up tricky getting the handle out of the recess but not that hard.very light and battery lasts a good time quick walk of 45-minutes on a 1-minute wind of torch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice bright torch, 8 Nov 2009
By 
J. Petty (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellowstone 20 LED Wind-Up Lantern - Black, 1 Pack (DIY & Tools)
Bought this especially for Brownie Pack Holiday. It was excellent, it's really lightweight and nice and bright. The 2 buttons for on/off for the torch and lantern are a little confusing, but not the worse problem ever. I've not had to use it long enough in one go to need to recharge the battery, but it's easy to wind up to re-charge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It broke, 17 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellowstone 20 LED Wind-Up Lantern - Black, 1 Pack (DIY & Tools)
This torch seemed great at first but the winder broke internally within 6 months even with little usage. Eventually I found Amazon's contact details and obtained a refund promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent unit but some minor niggles, 7 Jan 2010
This review is from: Yellowstone 20 LED Wind-Up Lantern - Black, 1 Pack (DIY & Tools)
First off, I have to say that the unit seems robustly made. However in the unit I got, there seems to be something loose inside, possibly a screw. The torch head tilts, which is useful. The light output is excellent and certainly more than enough for a car puncture change or a power cut situation. Unfortunately the magnetic base points (there are two little circles) are a little indented into the case which weakens the magnetic effect and makes it a bit difficult to stick to flat planes. For instance it would not stick to my fridge door and thus probably would not stick to my car door either.The winder is solid and easy to use. I have not used it long enough to check duration but when I received it there was alredy some charge and the light was bright enough. Two minor niggles; No instructions were included, so that for instance I have no idea what should be plugged into the charger socket (if ever it is needed) and also the switches (there are two, for the lantern and torch respectively) are strange in that it takes three clicks on each to turn the light on, and then one to turn it off. I have no idea why. Hopefully it has nothing to do with the something loose I referred to above. To sum up, I would definitely recommend this unit and would certainly be prepared to order another, but for the minor niggles it only gets 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great torch, 6 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellowstone 20 LED Wind-Up Lantern - Black, 1 Pack (DIY & Tools)
Bright and casts good light. Great for dog walking on long winter evenings in the countryside. Very easy to keep going - lasts around 30 minutes with just a minute or two of winding. Really pleased with this torch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Build quality not up to standard, 19 Jan 2010
By 
M. Grant (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yellowstone 20 LED Wind-Up Lantern - Black, 1 Pack (DIY & Tools)
I bought this product as a gift for my father to use incase of a power cut. When we tried to give the unit its first charge the handle fell off and the pin that was supposed to hold the handle to the body fell to the floor. Glad this didn't happen when there was an actual power cut. I managed to replace the pin and secure the handle again but it came loose another 2 times. Such a shame because the light it gives off is fantastic and having both torch and lantern feature would have been ideal. I'm considering buying another one in the hope that this was just a bad one i received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Wind Up Torch Lantern, 22 April 2010
By 
Derek Butlin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yellowstone 20 LED Wind-Up Lantern - Black, 1 Pack (DIY & Tools)
With the minimum of winding-up by hand, this torch lantern provides a powerful and long-lasting source of light. It is also very light in weight! Highly recommended for a multitude of purposes where portable illumination is required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars was defect, 26 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellowstone 20 LED Wind-Up Lantern - Black, 1 Pack (DIY & Tools)
Poor construction, the torch part wasn't working.
The handle might fall off very easily.
Had to return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yellowstone 20 LED Wind-Up Lantern - Black, 1 Pack
£18.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews