Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as the actual album
This collection of Maximo Park's B-sides and demos is almost perfect. The only thing tht stops it being as good as A Certain Trigger is the fact there are less original tracks on it! My personal favourites, A19, some classic Maximo, and Stray Talk, a mainly acoustic song, which is not really found on the real album, are both great songs. Even my least favourite,...
Published on 3 April 2007 by J. Prentice

versus
18 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I love the band, but this is unnecessary
I will start this review by saying I love Maximo Park. Their debut, A Certain Trigger, is a classic.
And this is, frankly, rubbish. It's a compilation of previously released B-Sides and demos previously avaliable only on British-released singles. Now, normally with most bands this isn't that bad but the b-sides on this album are notably poor, each being...
Published on 29 Dec 2005 by Halo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as the actual album, 3 April 2007
By 
J. Prentice (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Missing Songs (Audio CD)
This collection of Maximo Park's B-sides and demos is almost perfect. The only thing tht stops it being as good as A Certain Trigger is the fact there are less original tracks on it! My personal favourites, A19, some classic Maximo, and Stray Talk, a mainly acoustic song, which is not really found on the real album, are both great songs. Even my least favourite, Isolation, is still a great song when it gets going. The demo versions are pretty good as well, though obviously not as good as the polished versions. All in all, a great collection of tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth owning..., 8 Feb 2006
This review is from: Missing Songs (Audio CD)
Don't be put off by the review below...it is just, like this review, one set of opinions. I, too, love Maximo Park and it is a pleasure to listen to this album from start to finish. I do not think there is any merit in debating whether or not this material is better or worse than what can be found on 'A Certain Trigger'. Ultimately, these are B-sides, so you know what you are buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs To Remember, 14 April 2006
This review is from: Missing Songs (Audio CD)
This album is a collection of nine tracks(B sides and non-LP) plus three original demo versions,comprising a real patchwork quilt compilation from Maximo Park. Raw,intense(particularly the opening track "A19")and very new 60s and 70s influenced,these songs from Britain's most exciting new band(some would say that was open to debate)were the blueprint for greater things....

On "A19",a driving guitar intro fuels sharp intense lyrics and Paul's voice on top urgent form. Some extraordinary and very original use of words("dull metal moans",describing metal railings);also I've never heard his voice sound so amazing,dramatic and in its intensity,encompassing desperation,hopelessness,cynicism and a strong dash of "angry young man" syndrome. Driving guitar,Lukas Wooller's keyboards and drumwork back up these vocals, in an extremely compelling song which describes the writer's factual and lyrical journey down the A19 towards a better future.

This song hooked me straight away on first hearing. There is a prophesy within the last verse which seems to signify no change for anyone.Powerful lines to think on,a very clever observation.

A beckoning start to this album and it doesn't stop there.

Other tracks on this compilation include "Isolation",Maximo's minute and a half(approx) of John Lennon's lament. I sensed Lennon's ghost appearing fleetingly in the lyrics for about 30 seconds. A track to make you think.

Further memorable tracks include "A Year Of Doubt"-very 60s influenced with a jolly bouncy tune and jangly guitar,but the words carry cynicism.The combination of the two makes interesting listening. Much influence from Morrissey here,but without his agonising morbid depressive attitude. In fact this song has been given very positive treatment. Witty,lively,cheerful through the gloom,it stands up as one of the best songs on the album.

"Stray Talk" is my favourite track on here. It is a lovely acoustic ballad,with beautiful well-rounded solo guitar accompaniment to Paul's solo voice singing a la McCartney,standing up adequately without extra instrumental backing.(It reminded me of "Blackbird" in places). A yearning,charming,articulate delivery on this one.

This song perhaps shows off Paul's vocal talent more than any other and is melodic,witty and bittersweet.

The demo tracks include Maximo's best-known song,"Apply Some Pressure",their rallying-cry to motivation.It still sounds as urgent as it did on "Trigger",if not more so. I almost prefer this more primitive-sounding version to the later polished-up one on "ACT". A very charming version which ends with a hi-hat and a flourish.

"Graffiti", another included demo track with its involved guitars and drums intro,then Paul's voice drifting in with those lyrics. The now almost legendary lines "I'll do graffiti........" still sound as fresh now as they did on "Trigger."The most misconstrued lyrics in pop,perhaps? Well,they've put Maximo on the map,sparking off much controversy,that's for sure. Nice "wall of sound" backup from the band,and ending with lots of harmonious vocals. All together now.........

"Once,A Glimpse" still my favourite Park song,I have to admit.A cornucopia of lyrics and Paul's voice adding its usual passion and charisma,his rich accent very evident.

To sum up,"Missing Songs",while not possessing "Trigger"'s pop style,theatrical slickness and drama,sweeps a refreshing breeze throughout;finally I would say that there are so many good tunes here that sometimes it's hard to choose between them all.

This album carries a rawer energy,powerful hooks and that urgency which is so unique to the Park's music.

Irreplaceable,memorable and deserving of a firm stamp on rock music's history,these songs go very deep.

John Lennon would have totally approved.

Submitted by Juliet R
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars B sides better than most A sides, 19 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Missing Songs (Audio CD)
I bought this disc going on reviews by others (always risky), but heres to confirm most people are right.
If you like Maximo Park (and I can't see a reason why not), you are not going to be dissappointed with this.
Even the Demos, show the raw talent of these guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking b-sides, 31 Mar 2009
This review is from: Missing Songs (MP3 Download)
Listening to these b-sides is a great departure from the album itself. Also nice at the end to hear some early versions of familiar tunes from the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I love the band, but this is unnecessary, 29 Dec 2005
This review is from: Missing Songs (Audio CD)
I will start this review by saying I love Maximo Park. Their debut, A Certain Trigger, is a classic.
And this is, frankly, rubbish. It's a compilation of previously released B-Sides and demos previously avaliable only on British-released singles. Now, normally with most bands this isn't that bad but the b-sides on this album are notably poor, each being weaker than every single track on A Certain Trigger. There isn't a single track on the album I would regard as "must have" or, unfortunately, "decent" with most being barrel-scraping not-so-aceness.
I can only conclude this is a way of Warp Records getting the maximum out of this cash cow, which is rather cynical but I can see no other reason why this would be be released.
One spark is that the 3 demo tracks are truely great but don't differ enough from the final product to justify the cost. Indeed, the reason I like them is because they are marginally different versions of songs I know and love already.
Save your cash unless you are a completest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant music, 20 May 2006
By 
smith smythe (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Missing Songs (Audio CD)
This album is something you must make your own mind up on.

My view is it is just beautiful. The songs are well crafted pieces of art.

The vocals and melodies gel together well and the listener is transported.

This is a wonderful piece of work from a wonderful band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Missing Songs
Missing Songs by Maximo Park
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews