Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Kung-Fu flick in a long time
I stumbled upon this blu-ray at the video store and almost didn't get it since it was hyped as the "film about Bruce-Lee's master". I thought it was just going to be a cheaply made and dumb kung fu flick riding the coat tails of Bruce's success. What I got instead was one of the best films I have seen all year, kung fu or no. The film is very well made, the emotional...
Published on 28 Feb. 2010 by Split-Pea Soup

versus
17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some very good points and a very large but...
First the positive:

It's hard to imagine any Western audience taking an interest in this film without being a fan of the martial arts or martial arts movies and at this level the film does not disappoint.

For those, like myself, who have actually studied Wing Chun, it will be fascinating to see the style employed in action sequences: Wing Chun porn,...
Published on 5 Jan. 2011 by T. Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Kung-Fu flick in a long time, 28 Feb. 2010
I stumbled upon this blu-ray at the video store and almost didn't get it since it was hyped as the "film about Bruce-Lee's master". I thought it was just going to be a cheaply made and dumb kung fu flick riding the coat tails of Bruce's success. What I got instead was one of the best films I have seen all year, kung fu or no. The film is very well made, the emotional aspects very well acted out and integrated throughout the film. The characters are all very believable and IP Man is definitely the people's hero.

The film and story in itself is just a treat to watch as we follow Master IP Man's life just before and during World War II including the Japanese occupation. The Kung Fu fight scenes are just incredible. I had to watch each one a number of times because they were so cool. I can't fault anything about the choreography or the style as it is just fantastic from start to finish. Donnie Yen does an excellent acting job and shines in the fight scenes.

The film makes you feel good, although some of the fight scenes are a bit brutal and bloody. In the end, it turned out to be a movie that I am going to buy.

The blu-ray has great picture quality and great sound. Neither are reference quality but still worth the blu-ray. The story is what will induce you to buy this epic film though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Emotional Martial Arts Epic, 31 Oct. 2009
By 
Mitun (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
'Ip Man' is based on the life of the martial artist, Ip Man who was the real life Kung fu master of Bruce Lee. The movie concentrates solely on the events, which occurred around Ip Man in the city of Foshan (China) between 1930 and 1940 during the 'Second Sino-Japanese (China/Japan) War'.

In the movie, the main form of martial art that is displayed is Wing Chun, which specializes in close-range combat. Ip Man was the first martial arts master to teach the Chinese martial art of Wing Chun openly.

Ip Man is one of the finest martial arts movies produced by the Hong Kong movie industry. It was released in December 2008 to a widespread deserved critical acclaim and box-office success. The movie was nominated for 12 Hong Kong Film Awards, winning awards for Best Picture and Best Action Choreography.

The star of the show is the really underrated Donnie Yen who enacts the role of Ip Man. He is simply underrated because he has not been involved in many high grossing movies, whereas the likes of Jackie Chan and Jet Li have. Donnie Yen, if not better, is equally as talented as Chan and Li. In the movie, the way he performed the action scenes is worthy of an applause, simply jaw dropping. Yen performs the action scenes with natural ease making the fighting look beautiful and artistic. Now, coming to the acting, this is clearly Yen's career best performance as he portrays both a 'Hero' and a 'Wounded lion' with total conviction and raging aggression. The way he expresses his emotions both facially and physically is SUPERB. Ip Man is a Donnie Yen show from beginning to end.

The character of the main villain is portrayed by the Japanese actor, Hiroyuki Ikeuchi. His portrayal of the formidable Japanese general is impressive.

The movie is directed by Wilson Yip who provides excellent direction, succeeding in keeping the audience glued to the screen until the end. Ip Man is the fourth collaboration between Yen and Yip after the brilliant 'SPL: Sha Po Lang (aka Kill Zone)', the enjoyable 'Dragon Tiger Gate' and the entertaining 'Flash Point'. All these movies are of the action genre and showcase the chemistry and talent of the duo. All three movies contain stunning martial arts especially 'Sha Po Lang', which was hailed as a return to the classic Hong Kong action cinema. Ip Man is the best effort from the duo to date.

The stunning action choreography, which is a treat to watch is provided by the legendary Sammo Hung (Hong Kong Actor/Martial Artist/Director) who has starred in classic movies like 'Wheels on Meals', 'Project A' and also 'Sha Po Lang'. The beautifull choreography by Hung is displayed on screen by Yen's martial arts skills with finesse. The fight scenes, which are real and brutal are the best I've ever seen and will leave your heart-pounding.

Another hero of the movie is the background music score, which is composed by the Japanese composer, Kenji Kawai. The music is moving and compliments the narration and Yen's action scenes with sheer perfection. The music combined with the martial-arts display by Yen simply inspired me to learn Wing Chun, but after carrying out a reality check, I think I'll leave the martial arts to Yen.

The Blu-ray quality is excellent, providing crystal clear picture and heart-thumping sound. The screen resolution for the Blu-ray disc is 1080p (1920 x 1080 progressive scan), the sound format is HD MA 5.1 Dolby Digital, the audio language is only in Cantonese and the subtitles, which are non-removable are only in English. The disc is in PAL format and region B.

Ip Man is not a normal martial arts movie as it contains all the essential elements of an out-and-out entertainer. It's one of my favourite movies as it has a moving/emotional story, with a great narration, brilliant action, terrific performances and to round it all off, soothing and inspiring music.

It's an inspiring feel-good movie with Ip Man being portrayed as the real 'Peoples Hero' who fought for his people. Once the movie gains momentum you'll be rooting for Yen subconsciously and in the process you just might discover the 'Hero' within you.

Ip Man is strongly recomended as it is one of the greatest Hong Kong movies ever. As a result of the movies success Ip Man 2 is currently in the making and is being planned to be released in 2010, can't wait.

Once Ip Man receives international recognition (for some reason it hasn't yet) it'll become an instant classic.

Magnificent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterly, 2 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Ip Man [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Despite loving this film and giving it 5 stars, I'd like to contradict other reviews and say that this is not first and foremost a martial arts film, so if you are looking for a simple action movie and don't want to think, look elsewhere. If however, you are looking for a beautifully crafted, cinematic gem then watch Ip Man. For me, the focus of the film was the superb acting skill of Yen in the title role. His gentle demeanour and exquisite expression lift this film above the norm. It is primarily the story of a man of peace and humanity, plunged into the chaos of war and fighting only to protect his family, friends and country. The cinematography is beautiful and the use of colour for the opening hour, switching to an almost black and white feel punctuated by the red of the Japanese flag as a counterpoint during the latter stages when Japan invade and occupy China, is a powerful visual move. The film has moments of humour and pathos and some scenes which will bring a tear to the eye. Yes, the fight scenes are amazing and beautifully choreographed and performed but do not overly dominate what is essentially a story of the triumph of the human spirit. The film has obvious political messages in it's style and particularly at the end, which extols the virtues of China and the Chinese people to the extent that it has an undertone o communist propaganda, but it does not detract from what is a brilliant movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best martial arts films I have seen, 20 Nov. 2011
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is undoubtably one of the best Kung Fu type martial arts films I have seen. I am not going to go over the story as this is covered in numerous other reviews. I will say however that I found the Blu-ray quality more than acceptable but not cutting edge. Considering that the Blu-ray disc is only a couple of £ more than the DVD I would definitely recommend the Blu-ray.

In my opinion Donnie is the nearest to Bruce Lee that you will see today. He is visually very impressive, better than Jet Li or Jackie Chan. With martial arts choreography by Sammo Hung. The supporting cast includes Simon Yam, Lynn Hung, Lam Ka-tung, Xing Yu and Hiroyuki Ikeuchi. I would also recommend the follow up Ip Man 2 (Special Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] also starring Donnie Yen and takes up the story where the first one left off. The sequel centers on Ip's movements in Hong Kong, which is under British colonial rule. You may also be interested in The Legend Is Born: Ip Man [DVD] staring Dennis To in the title role, who gives a very credible performance. One of the highlights of the film is a special appearance by Ip Chun, son of Ip Man, who plays Leung Bik in the film. The film focuses on Ip Man's early life and the story of how he learned the martial arts style of Wing Chun.

If you like your Martial Arts films ala Bruce Lee rather than Chinese Flying Circus style then you will love these films. Try out Ip Man, I am sure you will want to watch the others afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eastern Delight, 8 Aug. 2011
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ip Man [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The sumptious look of Ip Man only enhances the enjoyment you will have from this beautifully crafted and well choreographed martial arts film. The story centres around the legendary Ip Man and his struggle with the Japanese forces. The film starts with Ip Man living as a local legend in a city well known for its martial arts clubs. Life seems pretty rosy until the Japanese decide its time to invade China. The city is left in ruins and the townspeople are struggling to feed themselves and their families. The film starts off bright colourful and then becomes grey and dull when the invasion happens. This subtle change in lighting and colour goes a long way in making the viewer experience the oppression felt by the residents. It makes it easy to cheer for the hero of the piece. The fight scenes are among the best commited to screen, showing flair and skill whilst keeping it all within the realms of realism. The story as a whole successfully treads the fine line between heroism and cheesiness by anchoring the story around a very composed and likable lead in Ip Man. Full of heart and soul and with some comedy thrown in for good measure, it would take a hard heart not to enjoy the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great movie, 11 May 2011
This review is from: Ip Man [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
One of the best Chinese movies I have watched. Ip Man gives you the story behind the man who made Wing Chun a world known martial art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hopefully this is the beginning for Kung Fu to make a Comeback!!, 6 Feb. 2011
By 
Joeycharmed "Joe" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Ip Man: Follows a storytelling Of A Real Life Legend "Master Ip" pronounced "yip".
This Legend was a Top WING CHUN master and is more well known in this day and age for being Bruce Lee's Sifu (martial arts teacher)

The Film itself is nothing short but Brilliant!
It's a story that loosely follows the early life of Master Ip in the 1930's just before and during the Japanese Invasion of China - set in Foshan.

Although not historically accurate, It somewhat retells the story of this respected master very very well! Also some of those that knew the real master and his legacy worked closely within this title.

Donnie Yen plays the leading role. with Yen having to have trained hard, be on a strict diet and even remained in character after the camera stops rolling - just so he could give the role he is playing the justice it deserves!

Sammo Hung is taken on as the stunt and martial arts Choreographer. Which is clearly shown here, as the fights and choreography are nothing short but of absolute Brilliance!!!

The Film showcases how a very confident man can also be rather humble and know when to say "no" when something affects even his own family.

Ip Man: has a very deep story that leaves YOU the Viewer cheering on the main character in everything he faces.
It shows emotions, pride, hardship, respect, mercy, excellent fight scenes, and authentic characteristics all rolled into one compelling heart-felt and heart-pumping story.

This Is A MUST BUY!!! It shows that the best kung fu movies has not died out completely! and this marks the return of decent kung fu/martial arts movies.
A sequel has been made which is understandable. Because this film really is that GOOD!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Emotional Martial Arts Epic, 9 Sept. 2009
By 
Mitun (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ip Man [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
'Ip Man' is based on the life of the martial artist, Ip Man who was the real life Kung fu master of Bruce Lee. The movie concentrates solely on the events, which occurred around Ip Man in the city of Foshan (China) between 1930 and 1940 during the 'Second Sino-Japanese (China/Japan) War'.

In the movie, the main form of martial art that is displayed is Wing Chun, which specializes in close-range combat. Ip Man was the first martial arts master to teach the Chinese martial art of Wing Chun openly.

Ip Man is one of the finest martial arts movies produced by the Hong Kong movie industry. It was released in December 2008 to a widespread deserved critical acclaim and box-office success. The movie was nominated for 12 Hong Kong Film Awards, winning awards for Best Picture and Best Action Choreography.

The star of the show is the really underrated Donnie Yen who enacts the role of Ip Man. He is simply underrated because he has not been involved in many high grossing movies, whereas the likes of Jackie Chan and Jet Li have. Donnie Yen, if not better, is equally as talented as Chan and Li. In the movie, the way he performed the action scenes is worthy of an applause, simply jaw dropping. Yen performs the action scenes with natural ease making the fighting look beautiful and artistic. Now, coming to the acting, this is clearly Yen's career best performance as he portrays both a 'Hero' and a 'Wounded lion' with total conviction and raging aggression. The way he expresses his emotions via facial expressions and physically is SUPERB. Ip Man is a Donnie Yen show from beginning to end.

The character of the main villain is portrayed by the Japanese actor, Hiroyuki Ikeuchi. His portrayal of the formidable Japanese general is impressive.

The movie is directed by Wilson Yip who provides excellent direction, succeeding in keeping the audience glued to the screen until the end. Ip Man is the fourth collaboration between Yen and Yip after the brilliant 'SPL: Sha Po Lang (AKA Kill Zone)', the enjoyable 'Dragon Tiger Gate' and the entertaining 'Flash Point'. All these movies are of the action genre and showcase the chemistry and talent of the duo. All three movies contain stunning martial arts especially 'Sha Po Lang', which was hailed as a return to the classic Hong Kong action cinema. Ip Man is the best effort from the duo to date.

The stunning action choreography, which is a treat to watch is provided by the legendary Sammo Hung (Hong Kong Actor/Martial Artist/Director) who has starred in classic movies like 'Wheels on Meals', 'Project A' and also 'Sha Po Lang'. The beautifull choreography by Hung is displayed on screen by Yen's martial arts skills with finesse. The fight scenes, which are real and brutal are the best I've ever seen and will leave your heart-pounding.

Another hero of the movie is the background music score, which is composed by the Japanese composer, Kenji Kawai. The music is moving and compliments the narration and Yen's action scenes with sheer perfection. The music combined with the martial-arts display by Yen simply inspired me to learn Wing Chun, but after carrying out a reality check, I think I'll leave the martial arts to Yen.

Ip Man is not a normal martial arts movie as it contains all the essential elements of an out-and-out entertainer. It's one of my favourite movies as it has a moving/emotional story, with a great narration, brilliant action, terrific performances and to round it all off, soothing and inspiring music.

It's an inspiring feel-good movie with Ip Man being portrayed as the real 'Peoples Hero' who fought for his people. Once the movie gains momentum you'll be rooting for Yen subconsciously and in the process you just might discover the 'Hero' within you.

Ip Man is strongly recomended as it is one of the greatest Hong Kong movies ever. As a result, Ip Man 2 is currently in the making and is being planned to be released at the end of 2010, can't wait.

Once Ip Man receives international recognition (for some reason it hasn't yet) it'll become an instant classic.

Magnificent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ip man Donnie Yen, 17 Feb. 2009
By 
Jonathan Bryan "Trigga" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie is great and will have you rewinding over and over again good fight scenes good story.
Ip Man is adapted from the life story of Ip Man, the grand master of the Wing Chun style of kung fu and sifu (master) of legendary kung fu superstar Bruce lee. Wing Chun has a history of more than 200 years. It was founded by Yim Wing Chun, took root in the hands of Leung Chun, and prospered with Ip Man. The art of Wing Chun has now become very popular with martial arts enthusiasts, especially oversea. It is a traditional Chinese martial art with a formidable reputation internationally.

To this date there have been neither movies nor publications about Ip Man. This movie will be the first important record of the master's life. Ip's persistent devotion to Wing Chun is a classic example of the love and respect shown to wushu and the freedom and spirit it represents. This movie will see the making of a modern wushu master representative of Chinese people worldwide. Ip Man is a concept, a spirit, a way of thinking - and it represents a new peak in Hong Kong's wushu movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC MARTIAL ARTS ACTION AT ITS BEST, 27 Jun. 2010
By 
Jose Silva - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm 28. I grew up watching all sorts of martial arts films. Old-school Jackie Chan, ninjas, shaolin movies, kung-fu movies, action cinema like In The Line Of Duty 4... You name it. I even became a martial artist.

Nowadays, given my passion for movies and knowledge in movies in general, i pretty much just watch martial arts movies not expecting much of the story, acting, cinematography, lighting, editing, etc. I just look out for awesome fight scenes. Honorable exception to Zhang Yimou's films, which have both to mind blowing levels!!!

With this movie i expected high production values, great fight scenes but the other components to be barely tolerable...

I WAS SO WRONG! Great production value and great fighting scenes it has, no question. You'll get your money's worth right there. But it also has great acting from Donnie Yen, awesome lighting and cinematography (the somber lighting of the japanese tatami, the spacious and burgeouis home of Ip Man, the lighting on the suicide scene in the Deleted Scenes section that i'm trying hard not to spoil), very respectable acting for a first-time acting model, as well as by all the supporting cast, and an overall directing that made a very coese and solid movie.

It's not gonna win an oscar by any means in any of those categories, but it's a good film in it's own right.

And for those Hong-Kong martial arts movie fans, worried about the decline and eventual disapperance of the genre, i say only this: Guys, with movies like these, i'm not at all worried about the future of martial arts' films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ip Man [DVD] [2008]
Ip Man [DVD] [2008] by Wilson Yip (DVD - 2009)
£6.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews