Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great headset and easy to use
I bought this headset for use with Dragon NaturallySpeaking as my old headset's microphone had broken down. After reading a number of reviews on Amazon and doing a Google search I decided to give this headset a try as it was within my price range and other customers seemed to buy it for voice recognition and online chat.

I am currently dictating this review...
Published on 17 July 2010 by Ian Brooks

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works Ok, but has its problems
Read the reviews, and bought this for use on a Mac making some training videos with screen cast software.

Good points: Sound quality is good, as other people have said. Plug-and-Play on the Mac.

But, as other people have also said, it has some problems:

1. Tight on the ears; cups don't adjust their angle to compensate for the angle of your...
Published on 11 Sept. 2010 by Mark Twain


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great headset and easy to use, 17 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plantronics .Audio 655USB Digital PC Headset (Accessory)
I bought this headset for use with Dragon NaturallySpeaking as my old headset's microphone had broken down. After reading a number of reviews on Amazon and doing a Google search I decided to give this headset a try as it was within my price range and other customers seemed to buy it for voice recognition and online chat.

I am currently dictating this review using the headset so I guess it proves that this headset is good for voice recognition.

I would recommend this headset to anyone who wants to use it for voice recognition and chatting over the Internet as the quality of the microphone is superb and it cancels out all background noise making your voice very clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff, 28 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plantronics .Audio 655USB Digital PC Headset (Accessory)
Build wise, this headset is very robust and a comfortable fit for the most part (I concur with the previous reviewer it does tend to pinch after a while if used whilst wearing specs), the features and simplicity of use are all excellent and Plantronics are reputed for their communications hardware. All of this in addition to numerous positive reviews and various recommendations from other sites, sealed the deal for me. I purchased these for use in creating an audio book as well as the occasional podcast and they do the job extremely well. If you are looking for a solid headset that gives professional, studio-like results, this is the ticket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works Ok, but has its problems, 11 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Plantronics .Audio 655USB Digital PC Headset (Accessory)
Read the reviews, and bought this for use on a Mac making some training videos with screen cast software.

Good points: Sound quality is good, as other people have said. Plug-and-Play on the Mac.

But, as other people have also said, it has some problems:

1. Tight on the ears; cups don't adjust their angle to compensate for the angle of your head/ears, so ears get pinched. Uncomfortable to wear after a while. Also makes your ears hot, even in cool weather.

2. Microphone cancels a lot of external sound, but you'll hear a car go past outside your house on the recording, or someone laughing in the next room.

3. The tightness of the headband (and small cups) can cause the front edge of the cups to press on the joint of your jaw, making your voice sound different. This can also cause the vinyl covering of the cups to rub against your skin as you speak, which is transmitted through the plastic boom to the microphone - you then get rustling sounds on the recording.

4. The closed cup design may be Ok for Skype, but (IMO) is not a good choice for recording your voice - you can't judge the volume and intonation of your voice because you can't hear yourself clearly. I've resorted to hanging them around my neck when recording, and wouldn't want to use them for any length of time for anything else.

5. Weird effect (on the Mac) if you unplug the headphones after putting your Mac to sleep ... the Mac will start up again.

6. The USB plug is quite large (it contains the DSP circuitry) - so doesn't easily fit into all USB sockets. I thought I'd be able to plug it into the Mac keyboard (no way) so it has to be plugged into the Mac on the floor. If you have a laptop you may have problems with that also.

7. Cable is thin and fragile - watch it doesn't get caught under your chair leg or in a drawer on your desk (see (6) above)

If I'd been able to try before buying, I wouldn't have bought them.

A better choice (with hindsight) for recording (or voice calls) would be a noise-cancelling monaural (one earpiece) design with a foam ear cover rather than vinyl, similar to the headsets you can use with telephones. Plantronics do them - sorry now I didn't get one instead of this.

I should think this will be used for the present job, then be relegated to the back of a drawer and eventually replaced with a better one.

By the way - don't get the Plantronics DSP 400 with the two plugs and USB adapter either - the plugs can move around and interrupt the connection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 April 2010
By 
D. Taylor (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Plantronics .Audio 655USB Digital PC Headset (Accessory)
Just received this today from Amazon and it is much better than I expected. Sound quality is great in games and music is also good with a decent amount of bass (more than I expected). Skype use is AMAZING, Have made a few calls and can hear the other person very clearly, Also the people on the other end have said they can hear me loud and clear aswell. No problems whatsoever yet and they are really comfortable to wear, Longest I have had them on for is about 3 hours so far without any discomfort, If you're thinking "Should I buy these" the answer is yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Platronics .Audio 655 DPS, 1 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Plantronics .Audio 655USB Digital PC Headset (Accessory)
This Headset is great for gaming if you are on a PC/MAC but if you want these for you PS3 do not buy these. I bought these about 2 days ago and it worked great on both PC and MAC but when i tried to use them on my PS3 which was one of the main reason i bought them i had some trouble getting the mic to work. I could hear other player but
not respond to what they was saying. This was a big let down but it is still a quality headset if you are going to use it on PC or MAC.

Pros
Loud
good bass
plug in and use

Cons
isn't compatible with ps3 or at least mine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars USB headphone, 22 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Plantronics .Audio 655USB Digital PC Headset (Accessory)
The product works fine with the spoken word but lacks the dynamic range for serious music. So if you just need to talk buy, want good music look else where.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good headset, 22 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plantronics .Audio 655USB Digital PC Headset (Accessory)
i got this headset today and i plugged it in strait away it worked perfectly the sound was amazing and its comfortable, i would have given it 5 stars if not for one issue, now i dont know if this is normal or a fault but e.g if i have itunes or anything else that emits sound on i would have to close them first then plug in the headset and then reopen it, its kinda annoying because it cant switch from speakers to headset strait away so i dont know im thinking of returning it for a replacement but the headset it self is really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good headset but can get uncomfortable, 5 Oct. 2009
By 
S. Robinson (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plantronics .Audio 655USB Digital PC Headset (Accessory)
These are really good and truely plug-and-play. They worked first time for me and people I talk to say they are very clear. I do a lot of online training and virtual learning so use them quite a lot. My only critism is that they are a little tight on my head and press against the arms of my glasses. This makes them slightly uncomfortable to wear for long periods. If it wasn't for that I would have given them 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Plantronics Headset, 25 Mar. 2011
By 
Louise Wightman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plantronics .Audio 655USB Digital PC Headset (Accessory)
This headset is an excellent buy, it is fairly compact, high quality feel to it, it's comfortable to wear and the quality is excellent. The headset has cushioned areas to doesn't feel bulky on the head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for skype, 24 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Plantronics .Audio 655USB Digital PC Headset (Accessory)
Bought for skype as old set we used in the house where rubbish quality, these are really good, worth a look
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plantronics .Audio 655USB Digital PC Headset
£26.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews