Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wind up 12 V LCD lanten
Exellent lanten, can be 4, 8, 12 LCD lights, very bight. I bought 2 for camping. When wind up with the handle for a 1 min lasts more than 1 hour and then gently fades.
It can't be folded, so this is the size you see on the picture, but never the less light enough to be hanged in a tent.
We discover the there is also an insert on the side for an adaptor. So we...
Published on 23 Sept. 2009 by D. Hicks

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wind-up Lamp
Not exactly the best purchase I have made,whilst the lamp was nice and bright upon winding. It was not long before the winding handle just broke off,rendering the lamp pretty useless now!Handle needs to be more robust,as the product with stronger handle would have been great. However I am very disappointed,on the whole.
Published on 20 Dec. 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wind up 12 V LCD lanten, 23 Sept. 2009
By 
D. Hicks (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Proteam TO1012 - 12 LED Wind Up Energy Saving Large Lantern (DIY & Tools)
Exellent lanten, can be 4, 8, 12 LCD lights, very bight. I bought 2 for camping. When wind up with the handle for a 1 min lasts more than 1 hour and then gently fades.
It can't be folded, so this is the size you see on the picture, but never the less light enough to be hanged in a tent.
We discover the there is also an insert on the side for an adaptor. So we used our 12 V ( from an electric pump) adaptor and tried to recharge it only fot 5 min. It was amasing -lasted more that 24 hours! I have done this on my own back, so it is not described in the instruction!Please take care.So I suspect that I shall use the car addaptor too to charge it with when camping if I get bored winding it up.
I recomend this lanten as it is excelent value for money.Good luck and have fun with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No more batteries!, 21 July 2009
By 
R. Monger "Rea" (West sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Proteam TO1012 - 12 LED Wind Up Energy Saving Large Lantern (DIY & Tools)
Great lantern, does not need winding up often and seems very well made, was lovely to not have to worry about the batteries when we were camping! Also not to noisy when winding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful In Powercuts, 27 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr.S.B "S.B." (Essex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proteam TO1012 - 12 LED Wind Up Energy Saving Large Lantern (DIY & Tools)
This lamp is ideal in emergencies, especially in the home when the mains power suddenly fails due to bad weather or technical faults on the national grid.
No need to worry about finding batteries for torches, lighting candles or paraffin Tilley lamps. Just wind the handle & switch it on, easy! This lamp is very user friendly & it produces enough light to fill a room with a gentle glow.

If you are looking for a bright lamp to use indoors then this is probably one of the best out there for the price. Although its nowhere near as bright as a Tilley lamp it is much safer as it poses no risk of fire or carbon monoxide poisoning. This is certainly the most sensible lamp to use indoors or in a tent... And you dont need to keep spending money on batteries for it. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lantern, 30 Jan. 2010
By 
N. Patel (essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Proteam TO1012 - 12 LED Wind Up Energy Saving Large Lantern (DIY & Tools)
nice idea if you run out of batteries. good initial light which fades quite quickly.Still bright enough to carry out tasks, but not suitable for reading for any great lengths of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wind-up Lamp, 20 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Proteam TO1012 - 12 LED Wind Up Energy Saving Large Lantern (DIY & Tools)
Not exactly the best purchase I have made,whilst the lamp was nice and bright upon winding. It was not long before the winding handle just broke off,rendering the lamp pretty useless now!Handle needs to be more robust,as the product with stronger handle would have been great. However I am very disappointed,on the whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing item, 11 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Proteam TO1012 - 12 LED Wind Up Energy Saving Large Lantern (DIY & Tools)
Two items ordered. I only opened one, and the handle support lug was loose in the packaging, so that lamp could not be hung up.
There are no instuctions for varying the power (4; 8; or 12;) as advertised, and the on off switch was not working...I switched the lantern on, but it would not go off. perhaps you are supposed to let it run down, but the switch does say on/ off.
I am sadly looking for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not too bad, 14 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proteam TO1012 - 12 LED Wind Up Energy Saving Large Lantern (DIY & Tools)
I got this lamp mainly for use in a tent and went for LED due to their low power consumption. The unit doesn't really have enough LED's to be honest. It gives a decent amount of light but not enough to read by or indeed enough to find something you need from your bag at night. However, as long as you don't have high expectations then it's a decent enough unit. It will provide enough light in your tent so you don't trip over anything.
Also, as another reviewer has mentioned, even though there is no mention of it on this page or on the box the unit comes in you CAN charge this unit other than using the wind up. There is a small electrical input on the base and if you have the right adaptor (4v) you can charge from the mains. This is a major bonus and I can't think why it's not mentioned anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 20 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proteam TO1012 - 12 LED Wind Up Energy Saving Large Lantern (DIY & Tools)
This lamp is amazing. A few turns of the wind up handle and you have adequate light. I use mine to light up my loft when i need to, to light up the shed if i go in there at night or just to illuminate where i am walking if i take the dog out at night. Good when power cut happens - saves searching for candles and is much safer and no batteries required so no ongoing costs!!! Excellent to have around the home. It has got a mains adapter connection which is not mentioned in the instructions so not sure which one you would use but according to a previous review you can charge it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not powerful enough, bit poorly made., 15 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Proteam TO1012 - 12 LED Wind Up Energy Saving Large Lantern (DIY & Tools)
After reading all of the reviews I decided to try this product for myself.

Delivery too ages and when it was delivered the lanterns plastic bits seemed to be made from the same powdered finish as those cheap mobile phone covers you can get for £[]. The light was not powerful enough, dulled immediately after cranking, failed to even illuminate more than a lit match. The handle felt like brittle plastic and was very thin considering it will be used to carry the unit - it also kept slipping from it's mounts at every opportunity so I imagine would cause it (or the mount point) to snap eventually.

There is an on/off button but you have to press it once to turn lantern on and then cycle through the 3 light/5 light/12 light functions to turn it off again.

There is also a 12v input to charge the internal batteries but considering the low quality for the price I didn't fancy plugging it into anything!!!!

Sent it back for a refund - bit miffed I had to pay for return postage as I feel the product is not as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wind up Large Lantern, 16 Nov. 2010
By 
Paul (Nr. Hitchin, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proteam TO1012 - 12 LED Wind Up Energy Saving Large Lantern (DIY & Tools)
Was unsure when I placed this order if this lamp was going to be OK or not. I need not have worried as it has exceeded my expectations. We will use this lantern principly indoors during the winter power cuts which arrive on a regular basis. The lantern gives out much more light than we expected even on the LED x 4 setting, having the option to boost the light level still further by selecting LED x 8 or LED x 12 is a super feature.
The only small negative thing I can think of is that the LED quanitiy selector switch is built into the ON/OFF switch, which means you press the switch once for ON with LED x 4, press again for LED x 8 and yet again for LED x 12. So if you want to always select say LED x 12, one has to click this switch twice before you arrive at your LED x 12 setting. Whilst this is clearly no hardship, it must as a result, reduce the life expectancy of the switch. Therefore a seperate ON/OF switch and a seperate LED selctor switch would have made this lantern most excellent. The top strap unhooks which allows the user to pass the strap through say a horizontal tent pole.
I will certainly order another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews