Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first taste of Batman finally gets the gold treatment
Nostalgia
It has to be said that my review may come across as biased - I first saw this film when I was roughly 6 when the BBC premiered it at Christmas in 1991 - I fell in love with the dark and twisted world of Batman. This particular interpretation of the Dark Knight was a breath of fresh air for many fans, so far as they could tell from the trailer (which I...
Published 5 months ago by Thomas Leslie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for it's day.
Good for it's day. Jack Nicholson played his part excellent and really looked the part. I'd never seen this Batman so recently ordered the dvd. I could see why it made it onto the greatest 500 films ever made. I did enjoy the film but compared to the latest batman films it is a little dated. Worth a watch though.
Published 2 months ago by Juddz444


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has aged surprisingly well!, 18 July 2006
By 
Mrs. U. E. Reed "reedsup" (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
I watched this recentely and expected very little, but was pleasantly surprised. Tim Burton has really created a great Gotham City in this movie, although it is best to watch this movie where you can see the screen clearly, as it is quite dark and murky in places!

Looking at the actors, Keaton is fine, if not stunning in the main role, unlike that man Nicholson, as the Joker! Although its been said many times, Nicholson does carry the film at times, but does it incredibly well, really bringing the film to life and providing many memorable moments, my favourites being the Art museum scene and the 'can I lend you a hand' gag. Just great. I don't about anyone else, but i was sad when the Joker was killed off, mainly because he was so much more vivid than Batman, but perhaps that was intentional...

The films plot is basically Batman vs The Joker to all extents and purposes, and although this premise is perhaps a little thin, theres always an action scene to liven things up.

However! This DVD offers only minimal extras like production notes and information on the cast. If you like the film (you should) then go for the two disc edition, with all its extra stuff. I already regret buying this version, and am trying to ship it off to someone as a present so i can get the two disc version!

Some may say this film is a 'triumph of style over substance.' Perhaps theres truth in that. But its a style you can get nowhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Burton's Brilliant Batman, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Dvd Info.
Running time 121 minutes, Region 2.
Extras, Documentaries, Trailer, Interviews.

Trivia.
1)Director Tim Burton cameos as one of the Jokers goons in the museum scene.
2)Body count 56.
3)First movie to be given a 12 rating/15 on video/dvd/bluray.
4)50,000 fan letters were sent to Warner Bros in disgust at Michael Keatons casting as Batman.
5)Jack Nicholson earned a gross percentage on this movie & Batman Returns which he didn't even star in rumoured to be around the $60 million dollar's mark(No wonder he's smiling a lot throughout this movie).
6)Sean Young was originally cast as Vicki Vale but broke her collarbone filming a now deleted scene from the screenplay with actor Michael Keaton & was replaced by Kim Basinger.
7)Willem Dafoe, Robin Williams, David Bowie, Tim Curry & James Woods were all considered for the role of The Joker.
8)Don Johnson was considered for playing District Attorney Harvey Dent.
9)Micheal Keaton couldn't hear anything when he was wearing the Batman cowl on set.
10)Highest grossing movie of 1989, $251 million dollars from a $35 million dollar budget.

Review.
In Gotham City a vigilante known as Batman has had reports of being sighted across the City by the citizens of Gotham.

Batman The Dark Knight of Gotham City begins his campaign against crime & wages war on Carl Grissoms gang who run the crime syndication in Gotham City & it's number one hitman & troubleshooter Jack Napier.

Commissioner Jim Gordon is a honest cop trying his best to keep Gotham City safe from criminals but is outnumbered by Carl Grissoms underworld mob of crime & hasn't the manpower to deal with the escalating situation.

During a shootout with the police at Axis chemical plant, Jack Napier is shot by a deflected bullet by Batman & falls to his apparent death in toxic chemicals but is infact transformed into the maniacal homicidal Joker who unleashes a reign of terror across Gotham City.

Billionaire playboy Bruce Wayne is in fact Batman who has taken up the mantle of protecting Gotham City since Bruce seen his parents murdered in cold blood infront of him as a young boy.

Bruce was then raised by Alfred Pennyworth the Wayne family's trusted friend & Butler who has instilled a sense of morals & principles into Master Bruce which stops him crossing that line into darkness when he becomes Batman.

Bruce Wayne discovers that it was Jack Napier(Joker) who was his parent's murderer & battles against the clown prince of crime to protect Gotham City from his vile scheme to release a toxic nerve gas over Gotham City killing thousands & seeks justice for his parent's murder.

Timelord Thoughts.
I remember seeing this in summer of 89 on my holidays when we had our holidays in our own caravan which I loathed.

I was 14 when this came out & I was fuming our 2 weeks at Weston Super-mare was during Batman's cinematic release & I behaved very moody until I got to see the film a few days later at the cinema that was a few miles away from our holiday camp.

I loved every minute of this film & was engrossed throughout & was disappointed I had to wait until Easter of 1990 to see it again on video.

This is a Tim Burton masterpiece a dark Gothic take on the character's of Gotham City & the set designs on this production are simply stunning.

Jack Nicholson usually play's himself in any film he's in & does so here but it's a magnificent performance he gives as the Joker as Nicholson makes the character likeable yet sinister & completely unpredictable.

Michael Keaton proved the critics wrong & delivers a excellent performance as Batman/Bruce Wayne who can convey an emotion simply by a look & Keaton manages to bring different characteristics to both Batman & Bruce Wayne.

Kim Basinger brings sexiness & seductive charm to the role of Vicki Vale & it's quite sad the character wasn't reprised for a sequel as I'd like to have seen how she would have dealt with loving a man who lives a double life.

The supporting cast of Pat Hingle as Commissioner Gordon & Michael Gough as Alfred is a fine piece of casting as both actor's fit there character roles superbly.

Tim Burton directs some great action sequences & some quite disturbing images for a 12a movie especially the scene were Jack Napier sees his features for the first time after being transformed into the Joker it's a chilling moment, Another moment is the electrocution of a crime boss who is burned to a cinder allowing Jack Nicholson to be unleashed & bring a dark sinister psychotic edge to the scene.

My slight criticisms are the underuse of Batman in the first hour of the movie & the limited use of the Batmobile that looks brilliant but does very little here, The movie sometimes feels like The Jack Nicholson show rather than a Batman movie but that's down to the film editor's & director Tim Burton not the movie's cast.

A excellent 2 disc dvd release comes with a uncut edition of the movie & a very well made indepth Documentary about the movie's production which includes a very on form interview with Jack Nicholson & members of the cast & crew including Michael Keaton & Kim Basinger.

This is the best dvd release to date & a must buy purchase for Batman movie fan's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When Batman got serious on screen., 20 Jun 2013
Back in the 80's, Batman fans only knew about the 60's show. So Tim Burton made the first serious batman movie.This film is pretty good and raised Batman to a new level of movies. You have Michael Keaton as Batman, which no one thought would be good. But he is excellent. Kim Basinger as Vicky Vale was good but she screams a lot. It gets a bit irritating but it doesn't spoil it. The one who steals the show is Jack Nicholson as the Joker. He gives a great peformance. I have only three concerns with the film. One: The moment the Joker sees Vicky Vale in a photo, he instantly falls in love with her. That's weird. Two:Why did they put Commissioner Gordon in this? He doesn't work with Batman. Three: When Batman is in the batwing, he aims his guns at the Joker and fires with everything he has. But he misses. What went wrong? I still like this though. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BATMAN, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
GREAT MOVIE AT A BARGAIN PRICE JACK NICOLSON GREAT AS THE JOKER THIS BATMAN MOVIE IS ONE OF THE BEST
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Batman film to date, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautiful film to behold, with great acting, music and practical effects to match Tim Burton's iconic vision of the Dark Knight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgot how good this movie was and its even better on blu!, 16 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a fan of Burtons stuff and this has Burton stamped all over it! I Had not seen this movie in a while and I had watched it many times in the past recorded on VHS. I'm glad I bought this as the picture is nice and sharp and it has a great soundtrack too. It's strange when you watch movies again on blu you see them in a totally different way. I have just ordered Batman Returns and I'm looking forward to more of Burtons Batman! WHAT ARE YOU?. . . I'M BATMAN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
I had missed this on cinema release, but watched it with my 15yr old who came to it via Arkham city video game. It realises the dark world superbly, brings villains, gadgets and humour galore and if there are plotholes you will be too busy to care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great action sequences!!!, 18 Dec 2012
Batman 1989 is outstanding.Jack Nicholson is the joker and he stole the show! Michael Keaton is a brilliant Batman.I think he is the best Batman.Buying it on blu ray gives it crisp colour when you watch the film. The final fight between Batman and The Joker is epic.The film is entertaining from start to finish.I highly recommmend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like... bats, 18 Oct 2012
This review is from: Batman [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Tim Burton's glowering gothic melodrama came on the back of a Batman print resurgence, namely Frank Miller's The Dark Knight Returns (1986) and Year One (1987), and Alan Moore's The Killing Joke (1988), which, unlike various writers and artists in the 1970s, successfully banished the spectre of camp that haunted Bruce Wayne's world since the 1960s TV series. Burton and screenwriter Sam Hamm helped thrust Batman into the public consciousness so firmly that he's been there since, surviving a mauling from Joel Schumacher, whose nipple-oriented efforts looked set to hurl this particular corner of the DC universe back into the garish ages, and recently boosted by Christopher Nolan's thunderously popular trilogy.

Showing his unique talent for blending comedy, horror and oddball characterisation in Beetlejuice (a Michael Keaton character who couldn't be further from Batman), it was a no-brainer to bring Batman to the big screen at the time - and it remains so. At his best Burton paints the most beautiful nightmares in cinema. Schumacher's misguided Batman Forever and his execrable Batman & Robin took the camp to Adam West extremes; Nolan has since driven into the darkest recesses of the soul. Burton finds the best balance: a glorious gothic theatrescape populated by timeless archetypes and amusing caricatures, with a simple and convincing love story at its centre. It's tempting to snigger when we look back and consider that Burton's vision was considered "too dark" at the time, given the sombreness of Nolan's work. But bear in mind that the 1989 Batman and its sequel Batman Returns are both 15 certificate movies to Nolan's 12A. Simply, Burton's Batman is a killer (as he was in the early comics).

Some fans continue to weep over Burton's liberty-taking in the re-imagining of the Wayne parents' killer, or Vicki Vale's (Kim Basinger) admittance to the Batcave, or the fact that Keaton is the wrong side of six-foot and built more like a tennis player than an American footballer. But I'm a fan also and I don't weep for such things. Gotham City and its inhabitants and histories comprise a constantly evolving and devolving universe; a series of parallel time-lines co-existing and occasionally converging, but always connected by the non-super, very human hero at its heart: Batman, wearing the mask of Bruce Wayne, made helpless by a nightmare memory. As such, so long as the character's essence remains, there is no point in making claim to the "true" Batman because no one vision is "truer" than the next.

The fact that Burton himself found the film "boring" makes it all the more strange that so many elements in his gloom-drenched fantasy work so well: Anton Furst's astonishing production design; Danny Elfman's timeless score; Michael Keaton's complex Batman and Jack Nicholson's definitive Joker. Other elements aren't quite so successful. Prince's soundtrack makes for a reasonable album in its own right, but it feels fairly incongruous in the context of the movie. And the "pale moonlight" repetition, though lyrical, removes the intriguing possibility that Batman may be retrospectively adding a face to his parent's murderer, not out of genuine recollection but because of a single-minded desire for vengeance...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman: Tim Burton's masterpiece?, 14 Feb 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Batman [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Tim Burton's 1989 reimagining of the Batman universe is a masterpiece. Totally eschewing the rather camp and comic Adam West style, and taking a dark path that better represented the gothic graphic strip origins. It was the film that set the trend for later morally complicated superhero tales with its musings on vigilantism. Burton was also rather inspired in his choice of Jack Nicholson to play the Joker, who plays a villain so charismatic and colourful that you almost favour him over the dour, brooding bat.

The film centres around the essential nature of the Batman. He is a vigilante, willing to cross the law so that he can uphold what he sees as justice for those who cannot fend for themselves. During his fight against the underworld of Gotham City he inadvertently creates a monster in the form of the Joker, brilliantly played by an unhinged Jack Nicholson. He must then fight to destroy the Joker and end the reign of terror he unleashes. At the same time he must also be Bruce Wayne, playboy billionaire, and control the conflicts within that arise from his two very different personas.

With big thrills and a decent lashing of humour along the way, along with Burton's trademark Gothic stylings this is a lot of fun that really entertains, but also a film that has a well thought through and interesting plot and character study that means it delivers on many levels. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman [Blu-ray] [2009] [US Import]
Batman [Blu-ray] [2009] [US Import] by Tim Burton (Blu-ray - 2009)
Used & New from: £14.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews