Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
11
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 February 2010
This is as emotional a piece of film as you will ever see,a heartwarming,frustrating, sometimes sad,occasionally infuriating story of two school mates who had a dream of becoming rock stars.

As a fan i was in at the beginning,purchased the ist 3 albums and then the band it appeared just disappeared,saw them live at the Glasgow Apollo 1983 and in all honesty they were very poor.

Part of the sadness of this dvd is the fact that Lips cant quite grasp that their day in the sun is over,they had their 15 minutes of fame and sadly despite the METAL ON METAL album being a classic it sadly never propelled them to superstardom.

The heart warming recounting of Robb Reiner's devotion to Lips is incredible and there is quite a poignant moment near the end where they fall out,cant believe it actually brought a tear to my eye( and i dont cry!!!!!!)

I wont spoil the end but if you dont have an ear to ear grin then you have no soul.

The bonus cd is their recent 'This Is Thirteen'disc,its pretty good but in all honesty wont recapture the early days popularity, sadly Anvil wont return to the top of the tree,good guys dont always get what they deserve!

Buy and enjoy,we all have dreams,only a small percentage of us ever realise them,Anvil did for a small time,for that they should be congratulated.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2009
A must see movie. A great tale on music, friendship & perseverance. This film had the greatest audience reaction to any film Ive seen at the cinema. You do not need to be a fan on this style of music to enjoy the film. A film that Id recommend to anyone, young or old.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2009
First off, the differences between this version and the regular DVD. Simply packaging and the inclusion of "This is Thirteen".

The film is a cracker. To see members of three of the "big four" thrash bands compliment Anvil for what were doing in the early 80's puts things into perspective. These guys should have made it.

It is inevitable that comparisons will be made with Spinal Tap. This could lead to a misconception, this film is way more than a comedy about a rock band. This is a documentary about human beings trying to realise their dreams. Yes it is funny at times (extremely so) and yes it has metal in it but it does also show the pain and the hardship these guys have gone through. Thoroughly excellent.

The cd

It's their latest album "This Is Thirteen" which is good old school metal. A few of the tracks up the tempo showing leanings to thrash metal speed but i would say this is a heavy metal record. And it sounds good.

In short, if you are not a metal fan, buy the regular dvd. If you are, buy this edition, it is the cheapest way of getting their latest album (you have to order it direct from them otherwise)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2009
Anvil the film it is not to bad. Its as good as Metallica SOME KIND OF MONSTER. Just as good as Spinal Tap. I thought it showed how a band can keep its sense of humour through all the crap of life.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
Buy this. The story of Anvil is emotional, moving, enthusiastic, funny, heartbreaking, excruciating, painful, cringeworthy, sad, joyful, and heartwarming. If you are in the music business it will strike a chord, if you're not in the music business it demonstrates how Very Far From Glamorous the performer's world can be.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
This is, simply, not a spoof. It is the heart-warming, if not occasionally naiive, story of some guys who have so much faith in what they are doing that it will leave even the hardest cynic melting and feeling like buying several of Anvil's albums because these guys just deserve your support - I did!
I was wary that this was just another Spinal Tap product. No way. This is real people who live metal and are pretty good at it too, captured in the raw of their relationships as they forge forward against set-back after set-back, battling to gig at any time on the bill at festivals other than the 11am slot, and never giving up on their album release of 'This Is Thirteen'. You need to watch this rockumentary. If there is a difference between Religion and Faith, Anvil are the latter and will take the atheist to new levels of self-investigation. Essential viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
Came across this film on love film and after watching it and laughing and crying at such a tale of willingness and persistence, decided to buy it. What a story these guys have lived. A real down to earth tale of how hard it can be doing what you love. Brilliant movie!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
I'm not really a fan of metal, I don't mind some stuff but not really the kind that Anvil are known for. I'll be honest and say that I only really bought this because it was cheap and it began with A ( I needed 1 more Blu Ray to fill my A to B shelf, anal I know), and it seemed to have great reviews. I can honestly say that it was one of the most touching and at the same time amusing things I have ever seen. I really felt for the band and particularly the lead singer Lips, as they struggled to achieve the level of fame and glory they deserved. A truly heartwarming and inspiring movie, can't recommend it enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2010
Greatest rock doc since "Kiss,The Second Coming".
Makes you realise that even rock stars who aren't in the same league as Kiss,Van Halen,Metallica etc,aren't all millionaires,or at least comfortably well off.To see them (Anvil)struggle to find the $13,000 needed to make their 13th studio album was an eye opener for me. All in all,this dvd (complete with their 13th studio cd) is a must see. Hearing their early stuff makes you realise how much these guys influenced some of todays top rock/thrash acts.Rob and Lips,both shine in this documemntary,which is littered with excellant music,tragedy and success.
Highlights includes Lips backstage at the Swedish Rock festival,and seeing him in awe of meeting some other rock stars.The Prague episode is so funny(fights,goulash,and Rob explaining not in 1,2 or 3 words why Anvil aren't successful!) as is a few nights later when Lips says to Rob that that nights gig is "sold out!" (Not).....The Transylvanian "MONSTERS OF ROCK" (!) is another must see scene.
The finale will have you ....well,watch it and see.
Also includes great extras!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2009
Such a fantastic movie, you will be moved to tears.... I went through so many different emotions watching this. They are a a great band, great blokes and deserve the world!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)