Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful collection of all the post-Fly hits and misses, 7 May 2002
By A Customer
For the Bolan fan, there's nothing new here, it's just great to have them all in one place on one - well, two - CDs. But what really makes this release worth picking up [it does, after all, duplicate Edsel's own A-sides and B-sides single CDs and the one they issued of these two albums combined, it's just that the tunes are in a different order] is the packaging. From the outer cardboard sleeve to the large fold-out insert, the artwork is truly excellent. I'm not sure but I think Mark Paytress's comments on each track might be repeated from the earlier albums I mentioned [at least some of them], but the way it is presented is wonderful. Copies of all the single sleeves superimposed on images of Marc from the T.Rex hot wax label [itself originally from the Electric Warrior poster] to the Dandy album pic. I know it might seem a bit much to fork out your hard earned money for a bit of clever packaging if you already have the songs [as any Bolan fan would], but I think it's definitely got to be in the collection!
Rory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and brilliant, 8 April 2005
By 
Dhekelia (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
As the other reviewer has already commented, most Marc Bolan fans will have all these tracks in their collection on the various studio and compilation albums and this is also true in my case. However, to have all of these songs on one comprehensive, very well packaged double CD is just the icing on the cake. The booklet gives a commentary on all the songs and edsel have even printed the original T. Rex Wax Co. record label on the CDs themselves (both the blue/red and white/red labels)! Back in the early 80s it was really difficult trying to get hold of T. Rex albums as most of them had been deleted and I had to rely on expensive American/Japanese imports, but thanks to the wider availability of music on CD and also to companies like edsel, Marc's brilliant music can be heard in beautiful crystal clear digital sound! Keep a little Marc in your heart and enjoy this CD! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top value, tip top quality, 9 Aug 2007
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Very reasonably priced double CD of Marc's EMI singles plus B sides.
44 songs of quality from Marc (some admittedly, of higher quality than others)but a really good taster of Marc's work from '72 - '77.
Many fans will have most if not all of these tracks but it's a well packaged CD & the insert notes by Mark Paytress (who has also written a cracking Bolan biography), are well done & show his great knowldege of all things Bolan - all in all, well worth your hard earned money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate T Rex Tracks........, 21 Feb 2007
Bought this double cd collection of T rex at a bargain price here off Amazon.co.uk.

I am so pleased to own this fabulous collection I had always loved Marc bolans song writing style it was unique and now the Main man has passed on what a wonderfull legacy he left behind for us all.

I love every track on this collection where you not only have some beautiful chart hits but some of his more oscure tracks too, If you love T Rex as much as i do this cd collection is a must have and the quality of the recordings are all top class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Tippy-Toed Vamp A Rider..." – The T.Rex Wax Co Singles A's and B's 1972-1977 by T.REX, 11 May 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Although it doesn't contain his first four monster hits as T. Rex - "Ride A White Swan" (Oct 1970), "Hot Love" (February 1971), "Get It On" (July 1971) and "Jeepster" (November 1971) - this stunning 2CD set on Edsel MEDCD 714 (Barcode 740155171421) gives us everything afterwards and is a fantastic listen for it.

"A's and B's 1972 - 1977" does exactly what it says on the tin – providing you with all those EMI/T.Rex Wax Co Label UK 7" singles we bought in those distinctive T.Rex label bags (it stills gives me a kick to look at them to this day). Here's a detailed breakdown of the Metal Gurus and 20th Century Boys:

Disc 1 (69:56 minutes):
1. Telegram Sam b/w Cadillac and Baby Strange - January 1972, EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label T-REX 101
2. Metal Guru b/w Thunderwing and Lady – May 1972, EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label MARC 1
3. Children Of The Revolution b/w Jitterbug Love and Sunken Rags – September 1972. EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label MARC 2
4. Solid Gold Easy Action b/w Xmas Riff and Born To Boogie – December 1972, EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label MARC 3
5. 20th Century Boy b/w Free Angel – March 1973, EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label MARC 4
6. The Groover b/w Midnight – June 1973, EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label MARC 5
7. Truck On (Tyke) b/w Sitting Here – November 1973, EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label MARC 6
8. Teenage Dream b/w Satisfaction Pony – January 1974, EMI/T.Rex Wax Co Label MARC 7
9. Light of Love b/w Explosive Mouth – July 1974 – EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label MARC 8
10. Zip Gun Boogie b/w Space Boss – November 1974 – EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label MARC 9

Disc 2 (56:35 minutes):
1. New York City b/w Chrome Sitar – June 1975, EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label MARC 10
2. Dreamy Lady b/w Do You Wanna Dance? and Dock Of The Boy – September 1975, EMI/T.Rex Wax Co Label MARC 11
3. London Boys b/w Solid Baby – February 1976, EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label MARC 13
4. I Love To Boogie b/w Baby Boomerang – June 1976, EMI. T.Rex Wax Co. Label MARC 14
5. Laser Love b/w Life’s An Elevator – September 1976, EMI/T.Rex Wax Co Label MARC 15
6. To Know You Is Love You (To Know Him Is To Love Him) b/w City Port by MARC BOLAN and GLORIA JONES – January 1977, EMI Records EMI 2572
7. The Soul Of My Suit b/w All Alone – March 1977, EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label MARC 16
8. Dandy In The Underworld b/w Groove A Little and Tame My Tiger – May 1977, EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label MARC 17
9. Celebrate Summer b/w Ride My Wheels – August 1977, EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label MARC 17

The fold-out inlay with liner notes by T.Rex/Marc Bolan expert MARK PAYTRESS is jam-packed with details on the all the tracks and pictures those famous labels we bought in Woolworths with the excitement of buying the next Beatles seven.
The remasters are fabulous – full of power and muscle – giving "20th Century Boy" and "I Love To Boogie" huge punch.

It’s not all magic of course – “Dreamy Lady” is terrible dreck and I still recall the feeling of disappointment when “Truck On (Tyke)” came out – it was the end for him by that time. But tracks like “New York City”, “Teenage Dream” and “Laser Love” still have that Bolan magic - and how good is to hear all those cracking non-album B-sides - “Thunderwing” (lyrics above), “Sunken Rags”, “Free Angel” and “Life’s An Elevator” to name but a few. He used album tracks only twice to my knowledge – “Solid Baby” from "Bolan's Zip-Gun" and "Baby Boomerang" from 1972's "The Slider" – but again they’re superb inclusions. Also nice to have that Marc Bolan and Gloria Jones rare 7” on CD too. Speaking of one-off oddities – it’s worth mentioning the lone exclusion on this set – “Christmas Bop” which was to be MARC 12 in December 1975 – but was withdrawn.

Great sound, presentation and a reasonable price for 2CDs. What a blast...and what a loss. I miss him…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars totally amazing., 13 July 2014
By 
Mr. James S. Edmondson (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
all the a side and b sides. totally amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant collection, 5 Mar 2006
By 
Jonathan M. Kingston "Kingston" (Chesterfield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a brilliant collection that is worth having.. Some people might not have them all so its worth getting.
The little booklet that comes with it has quite a lot of nice information on T.Rex and all the songs.
I got it the other day and I cant stop playing it... Great for young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive, 12 Aug 2011
The wonderfully named T REX WAX CO first appeared with the single Telegram Sam and ended with the 1977 single Celebrate Summer-an unfortunate choice of title for a man whose career ended with his tragic death.
Few if any original Bolan albums gave any sleeve notes-any info appeared in the music press.Its different now with copious amounts of books and CDs which never end.
This CD was issued in 2002 and is the only one to include As and Bs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great service, great to hear too, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great service , great to hear too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King Bolans best., 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fab. Great. Fantastic. This is a definite welcome addition to any Bolan fans collection. Get it now!!! Or miss out on some of his best stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews