Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than people say
Ignore the haters this was a thrilling ride which I wish lasted longer. The games story and voice acting are amazing. "How the F*** did you get here" (Gets Knocked Out) "I followed the yellow F****** brick road!" These are just a few of the funny lines made by these interesting characters. Having watched mafia films and programmes such as The Godfather and Sopranos this...
Published on 25 May 2012 by checkmate101

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Missed Opportunity
First thing to say is, I do like this game. Its because of this however, that its shortcomings are all the more frustrating.

You are given the impression early on that this will be an open-world game. Its not. All you can do are missions related to the story. This leads to the next problem, the missions are too short and there aren't enough of them. A lot of...
Published on 6 Sep 2010 by Andy K


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Missed Opportunity, 6 Sep 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II (PS3) (Video Game)
First thing to say is, I do like this game. Its because of this however, that its shortcomings are all the more frustrating.

You are given the impression early on that this will be an open-world game. Its not. All you can do are missions related to the story. This leads to the next problem, the missions are too short and there aren't enough of them. A lot of the time you spend in this game is just driving home so you can move on to the next part.

The gameplay itself is very good. The shooting and covering system is good though you have to be careful about where you take cover as some spots aren't always as safe as they seem, which I count as a plus point as you need learn strategise better. Driving mechanics are good in my opinion as I think they are somewhat realistic, you can't handle the cars in the game as if they are Porsches. Hand-to-hand is poor though, once you work out the system it becomes incredibly easy.

Graphically the game is good and Empire Bay is very detailed if a little, shall we say, compact. Some of the cut-scenes do look decidedly ropey however.

I finished the main story mode in two days so if you get this game, I recommend getting the collectors edition as it will add some extra longevity to the game.

All in all, a good game but it could have been so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mafia II - GTA4 meets Goodfellas?, 11 Jan 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II (PS3) (Video Game)
Plenty has been said about this game already but I wanted to take a closer look at some of the key PROS and CONS, also in light of the fact that many have referenced Grand Theft Auto 4 as an example of what a sandbox game should look like. Having completed Mafia II it seemed like the game tried its best to improve on the GTA4 gaming experience, with some (in-my-mind) useful features. Below I want to summarize those and some general observations, hence beware that spoilers will follow:

PROS

- Music: As GTA4 taught the industry a lesson on the worth of original licensed music, Mafia II walks the same line with a great soundtrack. Dean Martin, Fats Domino, Bing Crosby, John Lee Hooker, Little Richard, Chuck Berry - The list goes on and on. Over 100 original songs; several radio stations to choose from (during the 40s era even with WW II news updates from Europe - nice touch).

- Cars: From the get-go I had the feeling of being teleported back into the 40s/50s with the authentic look and feel. The cars (as in GTA4) are based on counterparts (though some look strikingly close to the real original - Example: Shubert Frigate / 1953 Chevrolet Corvette). The fact that you can collect up to 10 cars in your garage is a nice bonus (instead of the GTA4 parking-infront-of-the-apartment option; with reload sometimes certain cars being gone). Local body shops allow you to tune the performance, repair damages, purchase different sort tires, change the color of your car or even change the license plate. When driving you can see your speed-o-meter and even have a deceleration button to quickly shift down to the permitted speed limit (very handy when wanting to avoid cops). The cars handle differently, especially when it has snowed or rained. All these features are a welcomed upgrade to GTA4.

- Cops: The AI of the local police is far more advanced than of GTA4. Want to steal a car and are being seen? Dispatch puts out a warrant for your arrest and you need to hide and change your clothes. Accidentally drove too fast or ran over some pedestrians? Dispatch announces your license plate to all units and you need to ditch your car or have your license plate changed. When you are running from the police (given your wanted level), the police will aggressively follow you, chase you down and shoot at you. Speeding off like in GTA4 is not enough - Getting away from cops will take skill and patience - A nice challenge.

- Guns: Squeezing off a few rounds on a legendary Thompson or an MG 42? The game makes it possible, offering over a dozen authentic pistols, shotguns, submachine guns, rifles and machine guns - You even get to throw some grenades in certain missions. While I have never shot any of these guns in person before, each gun does have a unique sound to it. When using a Thompson Model 1921, you will know what I mean.

- Graphics: The city, the cars, the people - It looks beautiful. Especially inside buildings (mall of Jewelry robbery, meat factory, Joe's apartment building, observatory at the end) it all looks amazingly rendered onto the console. I cannot claim it is more stunning than GTA4s Liberty City but at least it is equally as beautiful. Driving through Empire city is a real joy.

CONS:

- Playing Time: A lot of people have complained about it and it too is a thorn in my eye. The game is completed in under 10 hours. Playing it a 2nd time you also realize how many cut scenes there are in the game. It reaches a point where (similar to Metal Gear Solid 4), you can spend almost as much time 'watching' the game as 'playing' it. The cut scenes are great and obviously a lot of time and effort has been put into them but after a while they disrupt the pace of the game and you find yourself skipping them. A `less is more' approach on the cut scenes would have been useful.

- Gameplay: Most missions can easily be summarized with: `drive somewhere, kill/beat someone or drop someone off, drive home, sleep, next chapter'. Maybe the hope was that the repetitiveness of it all could be disguised with the amount of cut scenes involved but as others have highlighted, the game is in dire need of some side-missions. Especially, since after having completed the game, you cannot go back and continue your saved game. Though you can re-play individual missions, this is highly unsatisfactory. Furthermore, certain missions in the game make little sense (example mechanic Mike Bruski - Joe invites me to see him whenever I am looking for a job aka stealing cars for him - After the initial auto theft; there are no other missions to be had - Why bother building a whole cut scene/story around it if I can only get 1 job from him for the entire game? Seems rather pointless and there are other nuances that leave you scratching your head too: turn lights/faucets/fans on and off; why include that option if it is not utilized in the story? Or having phone booths across the entire city, which are only being tied into the story ones). All these features are rather strange and unfulfilling.

- Storyline: While Mafia II again learned from GTA4 and included likeable and less likable characters in the story (Roman Bellic / Joe Barbaro anyone), the finale of the story must feel like an utter anti-climax to most people: broke and no money, best friend getting killed, living in a rat-hole of an apartment. The fact that I cannot drive the cars I collected and explore the city in more depth, because you can not continue a complete game, adds insult to injury. The marketing of this game left me with the impression that I would work my way up to the higher ranks of the Cosa Nostra. In reality, even infamous Henry Hill walked away with more to show for than my character Vito Scaletta. Sure, it leaves all sorts of scenarios open for Mafia III, but I felt short-changed to say the least.

Summary: My bottom line verdict is 3/5 stars. This game had a bunch of great, new ideas, how to extend on the GTA4 gaming experience and add more depth to the whole gameplay. The whole setting in the 40s/50s is a nice experience. Unfortunately, the game falls short in playtime and gameplay. Overall, I am interested to find out how Vito's life continues, maybe with a great setting in the 60s/70s, potentially elevating him up to being a boss but certain changes will have to be made to the game, before I would commit to buying Mafia III.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Such a Shame!, 30 Aug 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II (PS3) (Video Game)
I waited for a long time for this sequel - the teasers looked great and even when I first started the game it gave me a buzz and I thought it was going to be really amazing, lovely scenery, great music, classic cars... sadly after chapter 2 it ended up being a very short linear game.

There is a vast and beautifully detailed city full of potential and I got the sense that there should have been so much more - even on a parr with or actually a lot better than GTA 4. Its as if the budget was cut half way through because even on the map legend it indicates side missions but there are not any... all way round the city when your searching for collectibles you find large areas that look like mafia compounds - there's barbers, casinos, nightclubs etc... that look like they were going to be used but have been shut up, there are even suspicious looking ramps for stunt jumps all over the place which you never need, pool tables you don't play on. There are 2 BIG areas that no missions etc ever go near. There's nothing wrong with the missions but it feels so unfinished or cut and what happened to the church covered in christmas lights from the teaser?

I would at least like some honesty from 2K because normally their games are good - this was delayed again and again and I was hoping for an open world experience that would last me at least a few weeks not 3 days (and I really stretched it out!). Why put in so much detail like car boots that open and filling up with petrol - if there was no intention of free roaming activity - Yes, you can rob a shop, but I think they intended to put in more ways for to earn money outside of story missions. It is basically a real waste of a game that could have been a massive hit and should of had us 5 starring it like mad.

If you have never played any classic PS2 open world games then this will be a fairly good game for you, but if you loved GTA 3, Vice City, San Andreas or Scarface, then you will be gutted like me! Come on Next Gen game makers give us what we want... take a look at Fallout 3 and start from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than people say, 25 May 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mafia II (PS3) (Video Game)
Ignore the haters this was a thrilling ride which I wish lasted longer. The games story and voice acting are amazing. "How the F*** did you get here" (Gets Knocked Out) "I followed the yellow F****** brick road!" These are just a few of the funny lines made by these interesting characters. Having watched mafia films and programmes such as The Godfather and Sopranos this game fits in well to that theme of gangsters and constant backstabbing. You will play as Vito Scaletta who needs to get rich quick or die trying and the only way he can make money quick is doing crime. It is a very similar style to GTA as the character works his way up to becoming what they want to be while meeting some interesting characters along the way. Just remember the names Joe and Henry as these two provide amazing acting and really help to emphasise the mafia theme.

In terms of the gameplay it provides a little bit of everything with variety with some stealth missions too and shootouts. The game really tries to focus on realism as the police will even chase you for speeding. The presentation is also nice despite the graphics not being up to the standard of games such as Uncharted. It does however provide a good view of how a city would look like in the 1940s/50s with the evolution of the city showing the transition from cold winter scenery to a sunny energetic one and you will even see citizens trying to repair their cars in the snow which is a nice touch. The music isn't bad either, ever heard of the song Let it Snow? In this game mafia 2 provides music of the past of that quality so you get that 40/50s feel even more.

There are some problems with the game and the major issue is, due to the addictiveness of the story it is a real shame that the campaign ends so early. Unfortunately the game is open world by title but plays a style like your usual 10-12hour action game. There is not much to do outside the main story as there are no side missions making it extremely limited. Hopefully if they make Mafia 3 they can address these issues as it really prevents the game from reaching the levels of GTA. The A.I however is much better in this compared to the likes of GTA as enemies will constantly try to flank you and with the sensitive life bar it makes you play with more caution rather than going all guns blazing without even coming close to death.
The game is really entertaining and provides so many laughs while at the same time it can get very serious making you feel like you are Vito and making these difficult decisions which are life threatening. You will be griped by the storey from the beginning to end making you feel frustrated that it wasn't longer as the ride was so enjoyable but please try this game out if you are looking for a good mafia focused story and remember get your Tommy gun and get rich or die tying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great while it lasted, but finished far too soon, 1 Sep 2010
By 
D. Crane (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II (PS3) (Video Game)
I thoroughly enjoyed Mafia 2 while it lasted, but after completing the game in 10-11 hours there was just nothing left to do. No side-missions or collectables...

The story, the graphics, the driving mechanics, the shooting mechanics... all work well. However, once completed you are unable to go back and explore the city without reloading a previously-completed chapter. This wouldn't be too bad except your saved game then reverts back to that chapter, so you can only play subsequent chapters by playing the game through again.

Frankly, I couldn't be bothered.

I was looking forward to driving around, admiring the views, exploring the hills and areas where the story never took me, tracking down the 50 Playboy pictures (turns out you have to do that while in the storyline) etc etc, but you can't.

Perhaps the developers are relying on DLC to flesh the content out but that's not what I expect when I buy a game and, to be honest, I find it a bit offensive.

So, I recommend the game, but it may be worth waiting until the price comes down a bit or you can get one second hand. £40 for 10 hours gameplay just isn't worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Massive let down please read!, 15 Sep 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II (PS3) (Video Game)
When I bought Mafia 2 I had an open opinion and did not know what to expect. I found the whole game a let down from start to finish - expecting something good to happen which never did..

The storyline was basic and unoriginal - most of the plot lines were predictable and stolen from other games.

The gameplay and interaction with environment being very poor.

The moves that were performed (e.g. fighting) were limited and did not vary.

Apart from the storyline there was noting to do. When driving fast the computer lagged - moving from indoors to outdoor (the few buildings you could enter) you would have to wait for it to load.

Overall a massive let down and waste of money. If you want a good gangster game but 'The Godfather' its an older game but better in every way (apart from the graphics), or GTA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Short, rushed, pathetic game, 29 Aug 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II (PS3) (Video Game)
If your looking to pay for a game that is going to be over in under 24 hours, with no re playability then buy this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Big Let Down, 11 Sep 2010
By 
B. Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II (PS3) (Video Game)
I have to say I had expected a lot more.

I found myself disapointed that having spent the money on what had been promised to be a fatastic open world game that in under 24hrs (not all playing time either) it was all done and dusted finished with nothing else to do!

In fact the game felt so short it almost felt as if it had been a demo not a full game.

A great game wasted!!It could have been so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 15 Feb 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II (PS3) (Video Game)
I loved this game. I never did have the first mafia but I wanted an open world game similar to GTA. This is better than any GTA I've ever played. The graphics are amazing, the missions thrilling and the time setting seems accurate. I have to say it is a bit short in terms of the storyline but I found several hours to be a sufficent amount. There is open world but you are limited to freedom only at certain times. This game does pass through a decade showing how changes in America came quickly. Not to spoil the story but the missions are everywhere from the army, prison to the outside world in the 1940's and 1950's. Another great part of the missions is everything is diffrent you really can't even imagen what is next. Love it best game on ps3, first game I completed on ps3 because I was hooked and by far the very best game on the market to date. I recommend this game to anyone a fan of GTA especially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth any gamer's money and time., 10 Aug 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II (PS3) (Video Game)
The main story is great but as others have mentioned before unlike other free roam games there aren't any side missions available in between missions which makes the free roam nature between missions a bit pointless. However, the story is great and after adapting to Joe's adventures I am thoroughly enjoying that too. The main floor with this game is the lack of ability to save the game where you want to (while on a mission). The load from last checkpoint option is better than having nothing, but in the Joe's adventure missions this basically means starting from the beginning of the mission.

Another point of contention I have with Joe's adventures is the whole bonus points concept which makes it a bit like saints row or burnout and getting a missions score just seems a bit pointless as you aren't given a rank overall throughout playing the game.

I would have given the game 5/5 if Joe's adventures had been as original and entertaining as the main story without the silly timed missions and with its lack of updated checkpoints and if you could save more often as a whole in the game to avoid repetition of parts which you have easily got through before.

But as it stands Mafia 2 is a brilliant game worth anyone's money and time. I will review Jimmy's dlc later when I have played them both. I hope there is a Mafia 3 in development as the game was very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mafia II (PS3)
Mafia II (PS3) by Take 2 Interactive (PlayStation 3)
£9.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews