Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite games of all time.
Mafia II is probably my favorite game of all time, with Red Orchestra 2 being second. Although the game is short, the replayability is there, as there's so much to do around the city.

Vito is a very lovable character, and I found myself getting attached throughout the game. I have played through the story tens of times, and love it even more every time I...
Published on 26 Jun 2012 by Leon

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok game
Most of the games missions demands you to drive long long distances, without any purpose really. It gets quite annoying when you have to travel 7-8 minutes before each mission actually starts. But those rare moments when you use duck, shoot and cover it's great fun. But the driving distances gets frustrating.
Published on 15 Jun 2012 by Walther


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite games of all time., 26 Jun 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Mafia II is probably my favorite game of all time, with Red Orchestra 2 being second. Although the game is short, the replayability is there, as there's so much to do around the city.

Vito is a very lovable character, and I found myself getting attached throughout the game. I have played through the story tens of times, and love it even more every time I play.

Defiantly worth playing!

I have the PS3 version, but plan to get it on PC soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok game, 15 Jun 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Most of the games missions demands you to drive long long distances, without any purpose really. It gets quite annoying when you have to travel 7-8 minutes before each mission actually starts. But those rare moments when you use duck, shoot and cover it's great fun. But the driving distances gets frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Authentic, lively fun, but just too short., 29 Aug 2010
By 
S. Davis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Mafia 2 is authentic. Really authentic. Never before have i quite played a game that seemed to depict it's era so perfectly. From the music to the clothes to the cars to the general layout and feel of the world in which it sits - Czech 2k games REALLY went above and beyond the call of duty on detail.

They also go the extra mile on game settings too. There are different handling settings for the cars in the options menu, so if some people dont like the realism of handling cars in the snow, they can change it to arcade and get more grip. It's these little things that really make the game stand out.

However, it's unfortunate that Czech 2k didnt take the same dedication to the overall experience of the game itself.

The game is short. Extremely short. 8-10 hours is the best you can expect of it, and when you put that alongside a game of a similar ilk like Grand Theft Auto 4 with its 30+ possible hours of gameplay, or some of the Bioware RPG titles of 40+ then you see where the feeling of being sold short comes in.

Mafia 2's story is good, if a little stereotypical and obvious, - the missions all felt more bland and cliched than Mafia 1's did - and the real disappointment is the ending comes ALL too soon, and you're left after the not-so-grand-final mission thinking "wait... that was the last mission? Thats the end of the game???"

The story leaves it extremely open and doesnt really give any closure to proceedings, be it to what Vito Scaletta was getting up to nor to his life story.

To be frank, if the credits rolling is a surprise to you - it means the story was either cut back by time/money constraints, or it was secondary in the game creators thinking, and when a game which is so linear as Mafia 2 is dependant upon its story, it should be ranking at #1 in their minds.

So, coupled with this knowledge, and married together with its amazing feel, i can only give Mafia 2 a 3/5.

It would be a 5/5 from me if there had been just another 5 hours or so to finish off Vito's life story, or if there had been more "meat" to the gameplay (much of it is driving to and from places, not on errands, but missions like "Drive home".
GTA used to be the "we concentrate on driving" game, and Mafia's was "our cars are slow, 1920-30s, so we concentrate on the action and shooting". Sadly, they dipped over the wrong side of the line in this game, and there could've been SO much more done to maximize its potential.

So for that, and the shortness of the game, its a 3/5.

Buy it if you loved Mafia 1, buy it if you dont mind the idea of just 8-10 hours of gameplay out of your 30.

Dont buy it if you're wanting to try a game out for the first time or using this as a benchmark of its game genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 6 Sep 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Like many others I bought and played the original Mafia game back in 2002/3 and thought it was brilliant. The storyline in particular was very good. The game contained 20 Chapters. There were lots of side missions and you could also hop onto the trains and trams to explore the city. Graphics for the time were spectacular. The game included music from the 20s and 30s and was a genuinely classic game.

I eagerly awaited the release of Mafia 2 hoping that this second installment from 2K would contain everything that the first game had...and perhaps more. Sadly this has proved not to be the case. 15 moderate chapters with no side missions and nor can you access the public transport. It is a severely cut down version of what it could have and should have been.

Yes the graphics are fine with lots of detail but the fairly repetitive game playing experience barely last 10 hours. It seems that 2K have lost the plot and instead of offering a genuinely good product at a decent price are now more concerned with the revenue generation that the upcoming DLC will potentially provide. I for one will not purchase any addons. Nor will I recommend Mafia 2 to anyone. Overall I'm very disappointed with this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Interactive Movie!, 5 Jun 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mafia II (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I suspect that after waiting 8 years (!) for the sequel of amazing Mafia: The City of Lost Heaven everyone was expecting something truly special. And in my opinion the game lives up to the expectations: the story line is great, the characters are believable, the scenery, cars and music really take you back to 1950's. Less positive reviews read that the game is too short - I disagree. I believe that the concept of the game was to be more of an interactive movie rather than typical shoot'em-up. Of course, if you set the difficulty to low and lock yourself in the room with a bag of microvawable meals you can finish the game in one sitting, but that's not the point. This game is not for blood hungry kids who shoot before they think all day long! It's very thought through, well composed piece of interactive software that mature gamers with limited gaming time can enjoy for good couple of weeks. I myself finished it in a month playing one chapter every other day. And I enjoyed every moment of it!
Few people try to compare it to GTA IV. I played GTA IV, and it is far more complexed game with larger world and loads more missions, but I would not put them in the same category. Playing GTA you can easily loose track of the main story line engaging in other "side missions" - Mafia focuses strongly on linear story which is far more gripping. The only negative thing I can say about the story is that the main twist isn't too convincing and happens far to abruptly.
Some other negative things are:
- driving any car is quite a task, but all the cars of the era were RWD and had no ESP so it would be pretty difficult turning corners at speed,
- police are somewhat inconsistent i.e. when you jump red lights or are wanted and some of them ignore you totally.
Overall the game is almost perfect. Few niggles here and there, but it is great! I recommend it to any mature gamer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IT WANTS ITS CUT JUST FOR DRIVING AROUND, 27 Aug 2010
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Here is a game with all the trappings of a hit that was to go down smooth - only to turn out the hit was nothing but a setup. And the supposed marks are the ones pulling the strings. Would a made man allow this to happen?

THREADBARE UNDERSHIRTS UNDER FLASHY SILK SUITS
The first thing that grabs you is how dull the graphics look once the (well-done) cinematics end. On top of that, it is not that the environments are badly designed, it is that the same patterns are used over and over resulting in...chain deja-vue episodes. This cookie-cutter approach could had made it easier to get lost - unfortunately, there is not even a chance for that.

FOLLOW THE SCRIPT OR ELSE, CAPICE?
If you enjoyed the freedom experienced in the GTA series, well, do not expect anything close to that degree of sandbox roaming. This a linear game only set on an open-looking background. Which, once more, shows that looks were considered more important than substance. And if you make a mistake and have to reload, be prepared to replay quite a long sequence because this is yet another game with only an autosaving option - and, once more, 2K behaves as if autosaving points are charged by the unit.

JUST KEEP MAKING THE ROUNDS PAISANO!
The next disappointment is how repetitive the gameplay itself is. "Great fighting mechanics" means all of two options: hitting or backstepping. Whereas, "realistic driving" means that your cars handle like boats - and you will still get killed once those 1940's-Detroit death-traps hit a wall or a tree. Realistic? Sure. But fun? Veramente not! All the mini-games and the money-worries are simply too trivial and half-baked to save the day. Fight-by-numbers made it to the big leagues...

NICE SHADES MAN, BUT CAN YOU SEE THROUGH THEM?
As if all of the above were not enough, the camera placement was so bad it reminded me of the notorious NEVERWINTER NIGHTS days. And sometimes, this turns more into a spectacle than a game.

VITO! CLOSE THOSE SHUTTERS NOW!
I always had a problem with censorship boards (from totalitarian censorship bureaus to Nielsen ratings) but, at the same time, I do respect the rights of parents to raise their children as they see fit. Well, MAFIA II will manage to enrage both sides of the generation gap. If the slow-news days keep up, expect some "outraged" news-reports on the content of this game before school begins. True, there are numerous instances in which this game justifies its MATURE (17+) rating - but this hardly makes it an adult game. Like a Dutch school painting of children looking like smaller adults, MAFIA II offers the juvenile version of a grownup world. I very much doubt that any teenager (which obviously is the target demographic for this game) will be impressed.

And for all this ...fun, we still have to activate the game and tie to permanently to a STEAM account. This is clearly not one of those game you would want to keep, so shouldn't you be able to resell it? Well, 2K GAMES thinks not. You can now make your decision accordingly.

My advice: pass on this infamita and, instead, get your Mafia fix from a good old Godfather Trilogy weekend.

This game is so bad it almost enters cult territory.
But it is also boring so it fails to even do that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Scorsese Produced A Computer Game This would Be It. Quite Brilliant, 10 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. T. White (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia II (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Playing this game is nearly the next best thing to watching yourself starring in your own gangster movie. If Scorsese had produced a gangster game he's surely have been proud of this one. Production quality from a mostly Czech team is absolutely as excellent as one should expect. Professional reviews are mostly favourable. Let's not forget that fact, yet reviews here are divided. I just don't know what is wrong with so many people nowadays - if they'd only grew up, getting some fun from playing "Pong" or "Breakout" on an old Atari Ent System then they could appreciate just how far games have evolved nowadays. And this one is no exception. Still, people under 30 really were spoilt in terms of by the time they were 10, games were already far more evolved than those of the previous generation. They would have started with games like "Sonic the Hedgehog" etc., which was quite wondrous in its time, yet ordinary to the 10 year olds of the day. It must be that those 10 year olds have grown up to be the unimpressed brats of the current generation - for whom no programming brilliance is good enough to impress them! And that's why I feel reviews here are so divided. To those who feel that this game is average, I suggest you try programming some machine code and then you'll learn just how incredibly skilled you need to be to pull of a game as excellent as this is. Honestly, I really mean it: try programming code yourself - if you feel that this is an average game, and at the very least you should start to get a feel for the work that went into this title! Then there are those who complain that Steam doesn't work and rated the game at one star - well Steam does work brilliantly for most of the rest of us, so your one star reviews are ridiculous!

Ok, that all being said, you better appreciate cut scenes, as this is definitely a strong, story based game too. And you'll be watching more than the usual number of cut-scenes. personally, I enjoyed them, but some people wouldn't. And as for those who say the game is too short, it took me 7 hours just to complete the first twenty percent. Now that's hardly short at the current extremely cheap price - is it!?

Anyway, some people just won't be impressed until a great starship lands on their doorstep and delivers them Michelin starred lunch! This game *is* brilliant. Buy it, and forget about the talentless "ipod generation" who've seen it all by the time they were 10, yet couldn't string a working line of code together if they tried.

If you like a Grand Theft Auto game I'd say that is is even better. Definitely as good as if not better in many respects than the first game which this one succeeds. It is clear that so much work and thought has gone into making this title yet as is too common nowadays, people are divided on this one. There are those like myself who really enjoyed playing it, and could appreciate the work that went into producing such a polished game. And there are those who expect the inhumanely impossible when it comes to computer games - it's as if they couldn't be impressed by anything any more, because standards are so high, yet the highest professional standards are still not good enough for some people. Oh dear..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Discusting, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mafia II (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I instead it on to my new laptop and the quality and speed was poor it took ages just to aim the gun I would not recommend buying this item cause its a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mafia II (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I like that , that's exactly what i was looking for , Thank you very much , have a nice time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mafia II (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
the game is not bad it is ok but not like a gta , gta is best game i like gta
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mafia II (PC DVD)
Mafia II (PC DVD) by Take 2 Interactive (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
5.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews