Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "....Keeps Me Searching..."
As we all know, Neil Young has famously resisted the remastered reissue of his huge catalogue on CD because of what he feels is the format's less than stellar representation of analogue tapes' 'original sound' - and almost a full 20 years after 1989's first issue of Harvest on a dullard CD - it looks like the guy is having the last laugh - because this meticulously...
Published on 14 Aug 2009 by Mark Barry

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Amazon's Cloud Player a disappointment!
I have used Amazon Music Importer download for some time, & always had success with it. However, since the only way I can download now from Amazon is through using Amazon Cloud Player, I am most disappointed. I cannot play my Cloud Player Down Loads through my memory stick in the car without having to convert it using another music Programme. I was informed by Amazon...
Published 3 months ago by dek


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "....Keeps Me Searching...", 14 Aug 2009
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Harvest (Audio CD)
As we all know, Neil Young has famously resisted the remastered reissue of his huge catalogue on CD because of what he feels is the format's less than stellar representation of analogue tapes' 'original sound' - and almost a full 20 years after 1989's first issue of Harvest on a dullard CD - it looks like the guy is having the last laugh - because this meticulously prepared tape transfer is GLORIOUS. It really is.

First to the details - Harvest was released in February 1972 on Reprise Records MS 2032 in the USA and K 54005 in the UK (it went to Number 1 in both countries and many others around the world). This 2009 NYA OSR remaster (Neil Young Archives - Original Release Series) is Disc 4 of 4 and carries the HDCD code on the label and rear inlay (High Density Compact Disc). Until now, 2004's "Greatest Hits" set (which offered us three Harvest tracks remastered into HDCD sound quality) was the only real indication of just how good the album 'could' sound. And outside of the DVD Audio release (which few people have), this is the first time the 'entire' album has been given a sonic upgrade. The Audio Tape Restoration and Analog-To-HDCD Digital Transfer of the Original Master Tapes was carried out by JOHN NOWLAND (24-Bit 176 KHZ) with the Editing and Mastering done by TIM MULLIGAN - and they've done a stunning job.

The inlay faithfully reproduces the foldout lyric sheet in the same earthy textured paper that the matching album cover had (a sort of first for recycling way back then) and the print isn't cramped either - it's very readable. In fact the booklet in "Harvest" is probably the most aesthetically pleasing of all 4 releases.

And as these are the first four albums in a long reissue campaign - to identify them from the old CDs, the upper part of the outer spine has his new NYA OSR logo at the top and an 'issue' number beneath - D1, D2, D3, D4...and on upwards of course.

However, the big and obvious disappointment is the complete lack of musical extras or any new info in the booklet; they're in "The Archives Vol.1 1963-1972" box set that's still sitting in shop windows at varying extortionate prices. Still - at mid price - this remaster of "Harvest" is great value for money and with this hugely upgraded sound - it makes you focus on the music as is and not anything else.

Some have complained that the sound is a little underwhelming after all the hype that has preceded these releases - I don't think that at all. The danger in remastering would be the cranking of everything, ultra-treble the lot - but I'm hearing ALL the instruments on this carefully prepared transfer - especially the bass and drums which now have a clarity that is so sweet rather than flashy. The sound is very subtle - there's no brashness, very little hiss and when the muscle of the remaster does kick in - like the strings of the London Symphony Orchestra on "A Man Needs A Maid" and "There's A World" - it's really BEAUTIFUL. The music is just 'there' in your speakers all of a sudden.

I suspect for many fans, rehearing this album and the other 3 will be like revisiting old friends and finding something new - thrilling to them once again. I'm onto "After The Gold Rush" as I write - it's impressive stuff - it really is - beautiful reproduction too.

The gold sticker on the jewel case of each of these issues states - "Because Sound Matters" - and although it took him a few decades, on the strength of this reissue, I think Rock's great curmudgeon was right to wait to get it right...which in many respects is the ultimate nod to his fans.

Highly recommended.

PS: I've reviewed "Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere" and "After The Gold Rush" also - just as good soundwise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BLUEPRINT FOR LATE 20th CENTURY ROCK MUSIC, 26 Oct 2006
By 
J. C. Bailey (East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvest (Audio CD)
"Think I'll jack it in and buy a pickup; Take it down to LA."

So begins one of the half-dozen-or-so greatest albums in the history of rock music - with a prosaic reference to teenage escapism sung over a laid-back country groove. But forty minutes later it's grungy distorted guitars that accompany the more metaphysical verdict:

"It's only words, words, Between the lines of age."

Thus Neil Young sets out his credentials as philosopher and prophet to the hippy generation. He foresees, and in less than three quarters of an hour he foretells, the future history of the children of freedom: Financial independence - lack of responsibility - search for belonging - divorce from reality - alienation - drug dependency - and finally a kind of uneasy reconciliation as experience supplants idealism.

Behind the lyrical journey there is a stylistic journey: from country to grunge via lush orchestration and rock'n'roll, that charts the future history of popular music. No wonder late `90's rockers saw Young as a creative godfather: they saw with hindsight how music had followed the agenda he had first set out a quarter century earlier.

But the most wonderful thing about "Harvest" is that even at it's most harrowingly prophetic, it is still sweet on the ears. Prophesy isn't usually this much fun: listen to Stravinsky or early Dylan or punk or early rap for evidence that in music (as in all areas of life) good medicine often leaves a bad taste. "Harvest" must be one of the most important landmarks in rock to have tasted good at the time and still to taste good nearly three decades on. Most impressively of all (and unlike some of Young's later work), the message still rings true.

I think this record is probably an indispensable part of any modern record collection, but it's not just an important museum piece . . . it's fine music that can be listened to over and over again without ever losing its appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent remaster - great sound, 22 July 2009
By 
D. Helyer (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvest (Audio CD)
I have just received the four cds from Canada where they were released on 14th July. Each is labelled Neil Young Archives Official Release Series, Discs 1 through 4 being Neil Young, Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere, After The Gold Rush and Harvest respectively. They are HDCD 24bit 176Khz digital transfers and they sound just great! No extras just the best sound quality so far. If sound quality is important to you, buy them and you won't be disappointed. If you are new to Neil Young buy these and then On The Beach and then..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Once, the 'Digitally Remastered' Thing Works!, 14 April 2010
By 
Og Oggilby "Og Oggilby" (North London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harvest (Audio CD)
Okay, so CDs have been with us getting on for thirty years now. We were told back then that they represented the pinnacle of recorded sound. So, when me and a few million other mugs bought CDs of albums we'd loved to death on vinyl, why was the listening experience so underwhelming? The record labels then realised that they had to be properly remastered using original tapes with a cutting engineer who knew their stuff. Neil Young has constantly frustrated his long standing fanbase by simulataneously whipping the horses and stamping on the brakes - threatening to release stuff then stepping back when some other format (5.1, Blu-Ray) came into view. Anyway, having finally got his finger out, the first batch of Neil Young reissues eventually came out, and, casting cynicism aside, I can honestly state that they are fantastic. I always felt ambivalent about 'Harvest'; on the one hand, it was a massive commercial success internationally, but its success seemed to cause moments of self-doubt, and Young then set about, if not actually sabotaging his career, embarked upon a series of recordings culminating in 'Tonight's the Night' and 'On The Beach' (and when is 'Time Fades Away' gonna make it (Legitimately) to the digital format?), two of the darkest records in the rock genre.

Anyway, I digress. 'Harvest' sounds wonderful in this new, remastered incarnation. The guitars on 'Alabama' are brittle and sharp around the edges, and you can actually hear the room in the recording - and the bits where the instruments leak over into one another. The hit single, 'Heart of Gold' sounds so full and dynamic - you can hear the individual beats on the hi-hat, and the rhythm section - especially the loping bass line - have real depth. Also, the orchestrations - especially on 'A Man Needs A Maid', are amazingly rich and vivid. 'The Needle and The Damage Done' is totally in your face - you have to check that Young's not in the room with you! It's like hearing the record all over again, and in my mind (it's such a fine line), 'Harvest now resides as a total classic - one of Neil Young's (and anyone else's) finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still love it..., 22 Jan 2009
This review is from: Harvest (Audio CD)
This was the first Young album I heard, it is a classic, but not as great as After The Goldrush or Everybody Knows, as it does have a couple of slightly weaker tracks....But it also has some stone cold Shakey classics (Heart of Gold, Old Man...). So get it!

PS You might also like:
Your Arse Is Mine [Explicit]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Harvest, 11 April 2008
By 
Mr. Peter Steward "petersteward" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvest (Audio CD)
I'm sure many people waited eagerly for this release and I was certainly one of them. The fear was that it would be a huge disappointment after Goldrush - well it wasn't. Harvest has taken on almost a mythical feel over the years.

Many consider it his best work and certainly it met with critical acclaim and is still talked of today. When Young releases a low key, tuneful album it is always described as "The New Harvest" and the composer also references the album many times in his subsequent offerings.

It was more progressive than Goldrush. To me the songs aren't quite so effective but there is no denying the power and beauty of an album that once again contained some outstanding music with the likes of "Harvest", "A Man Needs a Maid" "Heart of Gold" (I can hear you singing it now and two songs with much stronger messages "Old Man" and a foray into drug culture "The Needle and the Damage Done."

The only question on the lips of Young fans were "where does he go from here and can he produce a trio of essential albums?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neil Young - "Dream up and let me fill your cup with the promise of a man", 27 July 2007
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Harvest (Audio CD)
What a knowledgeable expert on Neil Young the previous reviewer is! And there's me thinking that Neil Young alongside Bob Dylan and Joni Mitchell is one of the greatest living songwriters alive. Well thank you Mr Johnson I can now safely cast aside everything Young recorded after Harvest and bin 30 years of one of the most startling careers in music.

Thankfully not all of us found ourselves disconnected from the mains power supply in the early 70s and have followed the great man with increasing fascination since. Harvest is wonderful example of Young's music particularly the gentler country acoustic side. I love the title track and there are superb versions of many of these songs on the newly issued "Live at Massey Hall 1971". Perhaps our friend should also invest in the dark classics forming the "Ditch" trilogy namely "On the beach" or Tonight the Night" And please come on Reprise Records reissue "TIME FADES AWAY" on CD AND I will buy shares in the company, scouts honour. Finally anyone who invests in "Zuma" "Rust Never Sleeps" "Ragged Glory" "Freedom" "Weld" and the excellent revisit of this territory in "Harvest Moon" will be mightily rewarded with Young's best work. More recently his recent broadside against Bush and Iraq with "Living with War" showed Young prepared again to stick his neck out and do the right thing. When I read the cavalier comment from the previous reviewer that Young "lost his way musically" after Harvest I nearly required a Heimlich manoeuvre! There are a number of poor albums especially from his dubious 80s period but Young has never been predictable and long may he run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peerless Genius., 14 April 2008
By 
Mark Hilton (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvest (Audio CD)
Okay. Pub argument Number 120. Who is the greatest song-writer ever? Dylan, Lennon and McCartney are all in with a shout. Brian Wilson, Kurt Cobain, Roger Waters, the list goes on. But seriously, how could anyone take this title other than Neil Young. I mean it, this guy is so good, it defies belief.

I did try to collect a few Neil Young albums a few years back. In time they disappeared or got sold, and I continued to listen to all sorts of mindless rubbish (what the hell was I supposed to know, I was only a punk kid). But over the last few years i've come to the conclusion that not only is Neil Young far better than even people think he is, but even amongst the elite, he's virtually untouchable.

Don't believe me? Then listen again. Every single song on 'Harvest' is masterful. Honestly, not a single note is wasted anywhere. My favourites are probably 'A Man Needs A Maid', a touching ballad about then-girlfriend Carrie Snodgress, 'Needle And The Damage Done', concerning heroin addicted rock musicians and 'Old Man', a song about old and young lives being similar.

But whatever the merits of the rest of the album, it's 'Heart Of Gold' that remains Young's masterpiece. His only number one single and the fan's firm favourite, a beautifully soft ballad that for me, is endlessly re-listenable.

If there's one thing I hate, it's hyperbole. But for 'Harvest' i'll make an exception. And if William Blake was a rock star, he'd be Neil Young. He really is that good.

So to conclude, there are great song-writers, and then there's Neil Young. And anyone who wants to disagree had better step outside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harvest (Audio CD)
exc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harvest (Audio CD)
I don't have the words to describe how wonderful this album is so I won't try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harvest
Harvest by Neil Young (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews