Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trespass Genesis Re-mastered CD
` I Once Remember Echoes of My Youth'

Initially I purchased the Vinyl Re-mastered version box set but gave it up as a bad job due to the Foxtrot and Selling England LPs being extremely poor pressings (surface noise, pops, clicks etc). However, the re-mastered vinyl version of Trespass was excellent in sound quality. Not sure why they did not sell the vinyl...
Published on 19 Feb 2010 by P. Kelly

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good songwriting
As with the debut 'From Genesis To Revelation' this album contains some wonderful songwriting and playing, particularly from Tony Banks. Some really fine singing from a young Peter Gabriel also, who sounds mature beyond his years.

But this album is marred by a very stodgy production, with awful sounding drums in particular. This is not helped by the fact that...
Published on 30 May 2007 by John Smith


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trespass Genesis Re-mastered CD, 19 Feb 2010
By 
P. Kelly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
` I Once Remember Echoes of My Youth'

Initially I purchased the Vinyl Re-mastered version box set but gave it up as a bad job due to the Foxtrot and Selling England LPs being extremely poor pressings (surface noise, pops, clicks etc). However, the re-mastered vinyl version of Trespass was excellent in sound quality. Not sure why they did not sell the vinyl versions separately as with the CDs. I have the original 1970 vinyl version, which is now suffering from excessive playing.

I have been listening to this album since the early 70s and still believe these songs are very under-rated. The issue is that collectively the next four studio albums were stronger and live sets contained over this period more classics from these albums (with exception of the Knife). Even for me as a vinyl lover the stereo mixes on this re-mastered CD are excellent. They are crystal clear, fill the speakers with detailed sound and the stereo separation is interesting because it very different to the original vinyl with addition sounds added. Totally the opposite to the very poor quality release of the 1994 Definitive Edition Re-master which unfortunately I have been listening to prior to this release.

To me this album is very easy listening, beautiful melodies and interweaving of acoustic guitars with organ. The vocals are much softer than later albums. Most of these songs the band were playing and developing on the road before recording and I think you can hear this (being at ease) to some degree on the album. There is no other group that sounds like this early Genesis. The band admits during the interviews on the box set version that they took their musical influences at this time from groups such as Fairport Convention and Family.

I like all the seven songs but my personal favourites are ` White Mountain', `Stagnation (changes direction musically constantly)' and of course the master-piece `The Knife'. This to me has been `beefed up' sonically on these new CD and vinyl releases more than any other track vs the original recording.

Clearly musical tastes and memories are different but to me this early Genesis album is still as enjoyable now as back in the early 70s and this remastered CD gives it a new, fresh sonic, face-lift. If you are an existing Genesis fan and want to remove bad memories of the Definitive Remaster or are new to the Peter Gabiel fronted band then I strongly recommend this CD re-issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comparing four CD versions of Trespass., 4 Jun 2012
By 
Andre Nunes (Sao Paulo, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Trespass is a brilliant record. If you like early Genesis but never gave this album a try, don't miss the chance.
What is a little confusing is that there are four CD versions of the album - original UK CD, original US CD, Definitive Edition and the latest Remastered/Remixed version. I have listened to all versions (many times) on different equipment, to get a balanced idea (HiFi set up at home, car stereo and mp3 on my way to work). It's a fact the original recording/mix has limitations, so I think this album will never sound perfect. Every version has pros and cons.
The original Nimbus mastered 1985 UK CD is the closest thing to my original UK vinyl copy. There is a fair amount of hiss and it sounds muddy all the way. If you are conservative and think music on CD must sound like the original LP, this is your version. And indeed, many audiophiles consider this version to be the best one. To me, this version, like many original issues on CD is dull and calls for some respectful remastering.
The original US MCA version is my favorite. The sound is less muddy. A little brighter and clearer, but not harsh. The hiss is there but I don't bother, this version feels just "right". Maybe some EQ was used during the US mastering, but a judicious one. An interesting fact is that the MCA original CD sounds similar to my US ABC/Impulse LP. It would be interesting to know what kind of work was done on the american master...
The 1994 "Definitive Edition" is the album on a facelift. There is less tape hiss (heavy noise reduction applied), some equalization, but to me the difference is not huge, on casual listening the UK '85 and the DE '94 versions sound alike.
The 2007 Remix/Remaster is Trespass on "Extreme Makeover". Brutally LOUD, ultra equalized, and intended to cause a very impressive impact, but after some minutes all that punch is likely to cause ear fatigue. There are lots of people raving about it's "clarity" but, to me, the price for that is too high, this version sounds unnatural and annoying, so I rarely listen to it. Maybe it's just me, after all, people must be by now getting "used" to this wildly loud remasters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dusk, 22 Aug 2006
By 
L. Hutchinson (Newcastle Upon Tyne, Britain) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trespass (Audio CD)
Out of the early days of "Genesis", this is the album that has grown on me. I have always liked this album but have found it an effort to warrant it a listen. That is until now. I only recently listened to it again and found it an exceptional album. It may not be in the league of the albums that were to follow this but it is undoubtedly a classic, and the fact that this album was done by a group who had not even reached the age of 20 is staggering!

The album is a relaxing effort, with melodic pastoral moods, with only occasional loud outbursts. The album starts off with "Looking for someone". A song that makes you sit upright and realise that this album is indeed worth listing to, and reaches a wonderful peak with the denouement which is "The Knife". Certainly what one could call a poetic album: the changes of mood are subtle and this is certainly an album that rewards with repeated listening. Simply bathe in the wonderful images that this album conjures up with its soothing vocals, main and backing alike, expressive and detailed lyrics and subtle overtones of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In The Beginning, 19 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having previously released what was quite possibly the worst album ever created, Genesis got a new drummer and starting writing actual music. This result is one of the finest progressive rock albums you will ever here. This album is quite remarkable in that it has all the greatest trademarks of prog rock (extended instrumentals, strange lyrics etc) but does not sound dated. Maybe that's the result of the remaster but I think this album really stands the test of time much better in fact than some of the Phil Collins era pop.

The music on this album is incredible and each song is beautifully crafted and they each tell a story. I just haven't figured out what all those stories are yet. The lyrics are intelligent and poetic and Peter Gabriels voice completely devours them.

The style varies with each song but never falters in its excellence. Looking for Someone and White Mountain open the album with all guns blazing and you are launched into a mystical realm of mind-blowing guitar and keyboard solos. Visions of Angels is a more relaxed and contemplative piece written by Anthony Phillips who left after this album and went on to produce some of the most pretentious drivel I've ever heard. But never mind that. This song is given the Genesis treatment and becomes a masterpiece.

Dusk gives me shivers. It's almost spiritual and Peters voice is so delicate on this track it's almost awkward but not so much that it takes away from the beauty of the song. Stagnation is a very upbeat and fun track which ends with one of the best and most uplifting instrumentals they ever wrote.

The album ends with track The Knife. They used to do this in the encores and Gabriel would dive into the crowd. The energy is amazing. The vocals are at their strongest on this track and all the players are working at full power to deliver this monster. The last racks on Genesis albums always seem to be the best and this is no exception. Despite being a lot shorter it carries the same energy and power as Suppers Ready.

This has been called Genesis' greatest album. I'm not sure if I agree with that but I can understand why people might say that. The transformation from the little school band producing pop rubbish to prog legends is so sudden and so very complete that i would never have guessed Trespass was by the same band as From genesis to Revelation had I not previously known it.

This is a real treat and no prog collection is complete without it. I cannot recommend this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trespass never sounded as good as this, 11 April 2009
By 
J. Alan "JohnA" (Greater London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had the LP, also the 'definitive edition' CD

The SACD version here blows them all out of the water.
For such an old recording, the clarity is astounding.
Not perfect, lots of mixing artifacts can be heard now, but that is because a veil has been lifted.
A must-buy for fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning, 10 Mar 2013
Anyone who purchased the recent 2006,2007,2008 remasters from Genesis for the CD/Stereo sound completely missed the whole point.

CD's are so old hat now and limited in there dynamic range, Nick Davis championed the Genesis remasters to be placed into a SACD Hybrid Multi Channel surround sound, this means you can still listen to it as a CD or with an SACD player and a 6 channel input amp you can have the SACD level of dynamics either as a Stereo SACD or Multichannel SACD (in this case 5 surround channels and Bass (sub)). OR you can pop in the DVD and with a home cinema set up of 5 speakers plus a subwoofer for bass you can enjoy the album in 5.1 DTS, or 5.1 Dolby Digital or 2.0 Dolby Digital.

Once you have heard the album in SACD multichannel or DVD 5.1 DTS you will wonder why you bothered listening to the Stereo CD layer.

Enjoy the albums as they were intended in surround sound and not in stereo for those who do not understand the potential of the formats.

Regards

Mark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Ignore this record., 30 Dec 2009
By 
Ross J. Warren "Ross" (Wonderful Swindon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although this record may not be in quite the same league as later Gabriel era recordings it is still a great record to rediscover from time to time. I possible against the trend like the first five tracks more than the "knife". It's a very pleasant and relaxed recording that showcases a talented young band finding their feet. All of the elements that made the Genesis sound are here even if they are presented in an understated fashion. I was surprised at how poor the recording sounded on the definitive master series, and although it is somewhat more polished on this version it still hasn't matched the Original Pink Scroll sound. The Production and the less than awesome drumming are only a small problem. I found this album magical, and I have never really understood why it was not as popular as later offerings. The Knife is of course a real Genesis Classic, but I prefer the Live version, as the Guitar work is strong and Phil is a pretty good drummer really. This record is an essential purchase for all fans of this band, and indispensable to Gabriel fans. Considering the age of the people involved this is surprisingly mature stuff. It didn't sell that well to start with, and it was still possible to find a Pink Scroll copy brand new around the Foxtrot period. If you can find one of these far to rare records in great condition, I would recommend that you snap it up. Otherwise this 2008 re-master is not that bad.
Had Genesis continued in the same direction they may have become something of a early 70's oddity, as it is they beefed up their sound and became an extremely competent progressive rock group. This LP is the first in a very fine run of releases and is far to important to ignore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An undiscovered gem, 13 Jan 2007
By 
T. C. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trespass (Audio CD)
I only recently heard this album. Like many Genesis fans, I worked my way backwards and discovered Trespass last. It has really grown on me as the undiscovered gem of Genesis. Trespass has the same feel as Selling England by the Pound, but with a more innocent feel. It also reminds me of King Crimson. I like all tracks, but the first, Looking for Someone, is my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for a bunch of teenagers., 9 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Trespass (Audio CD)
This second offering from Genesis was their first proper prog album and was made before stalwarts Hackett and Collins joined the band. It is severely underrated and has some lyrically astute compositions and superb, if a little unusual instrumental pieces. The album is dominated by keyboards and mellotrons which give it a dreamy feel. "Looking for someone," has Gabriel singing with a tone of resignation and the vocal delivery sounds chillingly similar to Oasis in some places. It possesses some suprisingly good guitar bursts from Phillips and finishes with some urgent flute playing from Gabriel giving the track a disjointed feel. "White Mountain," possesses some rather cheesy lyrics and a reflective, heavanly keyboard solo from Banks. "Visions of Angels," has a somewhat cliched piano solo and some menacing bass riffs around the three minute mark from Mike Rutherford. The track builds to a fine climax with some great drum rolls from John Mayhew. "Stagnation," is one of the highlights of this set and has some superb, dreamy keyboard riffs that give the listener a floating sensation before the drums help the track change gear. The lyrical concepts point to such future sophisticated pieces such as "Supper's Ready," The next song is very interesting: "Dusk," has yet more keyboard riffs and the flute playing sounds more like Jethro Tull than Genesis. It is a mantra and a fine one at that. It is the perfect soundtrack to drinking stout and watching the sun set. "The Knife," rocks heavily and has some rip-roaring guitar solos from Philips that are almost as good as Steve Hackett's work with Genesis and a passionate vocal display from Gabriel makes this fun and a fine showcase for the rapidly developing talent that was Genesis. Overall, the album is not quite a masterpiec but deserves much more recognition than it currently receives, but the best was yet to come as the lineup underwent another facelift...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little known classic, 1 Aug 2005
By 
N. Mason (Taunton, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trespass (Audio CD)
When I was a 'pretend hippy' back in 1970 (pretend because I was only 15 and neither my parents nor my school would let me have my hair the length I wanted it!!) it was this album that started a life long love of the music of Genesis. It may be very different to the music which dominated their later years but anyone who likes Genesis should give this a listen with a very open mind. There are some truly beautiful and original songs on this album. The general feel is very melodic with only occasional bursts of power, particularly in the only track that is ever mentioned from this era - 'The Knife'. My personal favourite has always been 'Stagnation' which develops superbly over six or seven minutes and has a beautiful keyboard solo from Tony Banks which is years ahead of its time. There are some excellent story lines in the songs, particularly 'White Mountain' and the opener 'Looking for Someone'. Go on - give it a try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trespass
Trespass by Genesis
Buy MP3 Album5.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews