Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money
When faced with multiple choice and lots of different models and specifications to look at, this was attractive because it was reduced from 179 to 114.
With an 8Gb card (not supplied) it can take 1.5hrs of video clips.
The quality is not broadcast quality but what would you expect for the price .. not bad for YouTube and email as it also takes stills as well...
Published on 20 Jan 2010 by G. Chin

versus
80 of 83 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looks good but thats about it.
I was really happy when i opened the box and picked up the P30 for the first time. It looks great and is very lightweight, the controls are fairly easy to use with the one hand and the screen is nice and bright. Having said it is lightweight, it could certainly not be classed as rugged. The build quality isn't fantastic especially the flip down cover that hides the...
Published on 4 Nov 2009 by Emma O. Reilly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 83 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looks good but thats about it., 4 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Toshiba Camileo P30 1080p High Definition Camcorder (Electronics)
I was really happy when i opened the box and picked up the P30 for the first time. It looks great and is very lightweight, the controls are fairly easy to use with the one hand and the screen is nice and bright. Having said it is lightweight, it could certainly not be classed as rugged. The build quality isn't fantastic especially the flip down cover that hides the cable ports, this was a bit loose from the off. Onto videos, having used a friends Toshiba Pro HD camcorder at my daughters first birthday party, i was expecting great things as the video quality from the Pro HD was excellent, albeit outside in near perfect lighting conditions. I thought i'd get straight onto a tough test by taking some full HD footage indoors in dim light as realistically these are the conditions it would mostly get used in at family gatherings, weddings etc. I was actually pretty shocked when i watched the video back, firstly on my TV then on my laptop. The picture was VERY grainy and dark, detail was missed and colour definition was very poor, in fact the video i've filmed on my old LG KC 550 mobile phone was substantially better quality than this. The auto focus really struggled in these conditions and constantly adjusted itself even when looking at static objects and the video light doesn't help with objects over a metre away. Over the next couple of hours i tried various setting changes including filming in 720 HD, WVGA and VGA and with image stabilising turned on and off (stabilisation not available in all modes). The footage taken at 720 HD with stabilisation turned on was the best of the lot but still disappointed. In brighter settings the performance is much improved but unfortunately this was too little too late to convince me to keep the camera and i'm afraid it is currently on it's way back to Amazon!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 20 Jan 2010
By 
G. Chin (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toshiba Camileo P30 1080p High Definition Camcorder (Electronics)
When faced with multiple choice and lots of different models and specifications to look at, this was attractive because it was reduced from 179 to 114.
With an 8Gb card (not supplied) it can take 1.5hrs of video clips.
The quality is not broadcast quality but what would you expect for the price .. not bad for YouTube and email as it also takes stills as well as video. Not too good in darkly lit scenes.
Simple and easy to use with no complicated instructions to remember .. just push the buttons and it does the job.
Perfect for the non-technically minded video maker. Attractive slim metallic design which fits neatly into a handbag or jacket pocket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars toshiba camileo p30, 3 Jan 2010
By 
Graham Hogben (north yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Camileo P30 1080p High Definition Camcorder (Electronics)
Bought for christmas holiday in Florida results were ok for family holiday vid. Found mov. format files not compatable with any of my editing software - could only upload direct to bundled movie software which is very limited - so had to download file converter (free from Prism ) Low light video was poor, Otherwise would recomend if you want low budget very compact camera
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic video is possible, 18 April 2010
By 
I. Flinders "Film Loving Dad" (South Croydon, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toshiba Camileo P30 1080p High Definition Camcorder (Electronics)
I would only buy this camera if:

1. You are not planning to do much low-light filming. It is OK indoors on a bright day, but as soon as the sun goes down, this camera is next to useless. Apparently all cameras at this price point suffer from the same problem.

2. You don't mind tinkering with video editing software to remove the shakes (there is no optical image stabilisation built in, and the electronic stabilisation is only selecteable at the lower HD resolution). I found some free software (Virtualdub, Avisynth and Deshaker) that do the job of removing shakes nicely and you can end up with superb shake-free footage.

3. You are aware that it records in 1440x1080 not full 1920x1080 resolution, so you don't feel cheated. Apparently 1440x1080 is a valid "full HD" resolution so Toshiba aren't making any false claims. It is "anamorphic" video so it still displays widescreen on your TV or computer.

One strange thing I noticed that isn't mentioned in any of the reviews that some may be interested in is that the camera seems to switch to a wide-angle mode when taking still images. This is great for me (off to Switzerland next month!), but its a shame that the same wide angle isn't available in movie mode.

At this price it is an absolute bargain - provided you are happy to accept the shortcomings above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars camileo p30, 9 April 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "Tricia" (Dartford, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toshiba Camileo P30 1080p High Definition Camcorder (Electronics)
after reading other reviews I did wonder if product would for me. When a neatly package arrived I was impressed with quality. Then after a short 2hr charge was able to take photos. Even got a macro setting and the quality is much better than expected. OK when in movie mode you cannot expect to pan without blurring. Thats a small handycap the photos are brillant. Its like anything else practice makes perfect. I love it and small enough to pop in pocket or bag and go anywhere with it. Battery life is impressive. Movies when held steady outstanding. Yes would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 10 July 2010
By 
M. Corner (Leicester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Camileo P30 1080p High Definition Camcorder (Electronics)
The picture in good light is excellent provided you can hold it still (I use two hands, one on the handle, one on the screen), but then it comes with a mini tripod as standard which may help for some shots.
The auto focus is effective in good light, if a little slow after using the easily controlled 5x optical zoom.
There are two major problems with this unit, and one minor. However they are not bad enough for me to return it for the price I paid for it used, and what I bought it for. The first major issue is low light. Indoor use with natural light during the day is OK, but try and use it in a room with no windows, or at night and there is quite a lot of noise. You can still see what is going on if you turn night mode on, but that does not stop the noise. The LED on the front makes little difference. Secondly it does not come with a lens cap. When traveling you will have to be very careful where you store it, and don't take it to the beach. The carry case provided does not fully cover the lens either! The third minor issue is the usability of menu system and controls. You cannot just pick the unit up and know how it works, or press the buttons until you find the function you want. I refused (being a man) to pick up the instructions, so I struggled on a bit further, and accidentally came across the main menu. When you know how to find your way around, this is no problem at all, but those less tech friendly may dislike using it for this reason.
There is a photo function too. The pictures look top quality on my HDTV. It does take SDHC cards, as I am using a 8GB class 10 no problems.
The video picture quality is excellent, the sound quality is great (I originally bought the Kodak Zx1 - High Definition Pocket Video Camera - Black but sent it back because if its sound quality), a good spread of functions and settings.
For 85 (used ex display) delivered, there is no way I am sending this one back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars toshiba camilo p30 camcorder, 11 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. R. Cherrington "Chez" (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toshiba Camileo P30 1080p High Definition Camcorder (Electronics)
very handy size and simple to use...has far more features than a 'point and shoot' like me could ever need!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 30 Dec 2010
This review is from: Toshiba Camileo P30 1080p High Definition Camcorder (Electronics)
I find this camcorder wonderful. I purchased a similar, but bigger version for work, but settled on this version for my personal use and after a 4 week holiday I was not disappointed.
The light makes a huge difference and is a wonderful addition, helping in low or uneven lighting conditions. I have some wonderful night shots as well as videos taken indoors in very poor lighting.
I was dubious at first as lots of camcorders in this price range/type had poor reviews when it came to low light conditions, however I find this really good. It does take a bit of practice to work out what setting to use and if you should use the light with the conditions you have, but after a short test run it is easy to decide.
Memory wise, I get around 1 hour of video per 1gb of memory card on full hd resolution and the battery lasted also. During my holiday charged it probably twice each week and I did an awful lot of recording.
I would recommend this over a larger camcorder as the hand holding position is comfortable and natural and the quality is great. It is also compact yet sturdy, has a great battery life and looks stylish too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Broke after a couple of months, 25 Sep 2010
This review is from: Toshiba Camileo P30 1080p High Definition Camcorder (Electronics)
This product broke after about 8 or 10 weeks and trying to return the product became more hassle than it was worth so its now lying in a drawer not working
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovin' it., 2 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Toshiba Camileo P30 1080p High Definition Camcorder (Electronics)
This lightweight camera/camcorder is nice and compact, simple to use and GREAT value for money. I would definately recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Toshiba Camileo P30 1080p High Definition Camcorder
Used & New from: 49.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews