Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dylan still producing the goods
This recording features Dylan's gutsy blues style that has been present on and off throughout his career. It is not a classic, but still better than could be expected for someone of 68, showing that he is perhaps returning more and more, via his track choices and sentiments to his early rural youth influences, and the folk/blues that is indelibly imprinted in his soul...
Published on 30 April 2009 by MJHulme

versus
35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Extreme.....
It's interesting, the wide ranging opinions on this and the last few Bob albums.... Whichever reviewer said 'stop at Time Out Of Mind' as the rest is drivel' must have cotton wool in their ears - as did Daniel Lanois when he produced Time Out Of Mind... That album had 4 great songs on it, 1 very good one and the rest is pretty dull and sounds like it was recorded...
Published on 3 May 2009 by Samson Briggs


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dylan having fun with friends - nothing more, 19 Jun. 2009
By 
Liesbeth Andries (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Together Through Life (Audio CD)
If you are expecting a master work, you'll be dissapointed. It's ok and interesting for the collection but not a lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Bob too far, 13 May 2009
I'm even older than Bob, and I am a lifelong fan, but Together is not up to scratch. No distinctive tunes - which the always excellent band would have liked - and a lot of maudlin lyrics. "It's All Good" is the only track as good as anything in Modern Times.
Sorry, but it's all over now, baby blue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dodgy, 9 May 2009
By 
S. fraser "silverman" (boro uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Together Through Life (Audio CD)
very dodgy album indeed 'time out of mind' was a classic but his bobness has been going slowly downhill ever since.am i the only person who can hear how clunky,hookless and boring this is?? and i'm sorry but the singing is just terrible. if this was by anyone other than bob dylan who would be interested?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dull lifeless thats this cd, 26 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Together Through Life (Audio CD)
Oh dear what a dull and lifeless cd. The whole effect
Is quite a depressing one. Of course others may disagree
Anyone expecting another brilliant time out of mind effort will be sadly dissapointed I feel. Dismal drab a very poor cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me!, 30 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Together Through Life (Audio CD)
I have a large collection of Bob Dylan albums and CDs and have always loved Dylan's music. However, I can only say I was shocked and disappointed with this album. His poetry and tunes remain, but he is making a mockery of his own music by singing it with what sounds like a pot damaged voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing - very, 26 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Together Through Life (Audio CD)
Bob's songs are not up to scratch although his voioce is - very scratchy!. My opinion is that it is his worse album ever - not the voice I know and love. Try again Bob.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shouting???, 4 Aug. 2009
By 
This review is from: Together Through Life (Audio CD)
Is this new CD evidence of the demise of Bob Dylan's voice?, I hope not!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the worst of bob dylan, 5 Jun. 2009
By 
Mr. Geoffrey Wood (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Together Through Life (Audio CD)
Have been a BD fan all my life. this is just absolute rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply amazing, 2 May 2009
This review is from: Together Through Life (Audio CD)
Bob Dylan is a genius. He is most definitely back on form with this new record - I have been waiting so long for this release and it doesn't disappoint.

You should also check out Priscilla Ahn - A Good Day. It's her debut album, she is incredible too. Currently number 1 in the contemporary folk chart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dylan does it again........, 19 Feb. 2011
By 
FRS (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Together Through Life (Audio CD)
Dylan does it again, he gets loads of media attention for a new album, he even tops the CD charts at Number 1, for the first time in years, and it's an absolute, total, no nonsense, no redeeming features dud!

Not just a dud in the sense that the previous CD's contained various gems, but a dud in the true sense of the word.

It sounds like a bunch of tired old songs, lazy lyrics, no decent hooks played by a bunch of guys on a southern porch who are bored and sick of each other.

Great CD artwork, makes you think it might be another bright new dawn , just like the CD sleeve for Oh Mercy did, but of course Oh Mercy really delivered.

I saw Dylan at the Roundhouse the night before the CD was released, and he played nothing from it.

I thought how clever you genius contrarian you. How wrong can you be.

I think even the Xmas album is better :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Together Through Life
Together Through Life by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews