Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Present From Portland
Hockey are an energetic and proficient little ensemble
and their debut album 'Mind Chaos' is packed with goodies.

They wear their musical mentors' influences lightly and
have come up with a fairly distinctive product all their own.

Mr Grubin is an affable frontman despite his vocal limitations.
His cheeky, upbeat performances more than...
Published on 4 Oct 2009 by The Wolf

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfocused album with moments of magic
Hockey burst onto the scene over the summer with fantastic debut single "Too Fake", before blowing people away with the soul-soaked joyous rapture of "Learn To Lose". It's no wonder then, that by the time the Strokes/Dylan tune of "Song Away" hit the airwaves, the anticipation for "Mind Chaos" was growing rapidly.

So does the album live up to the brilliant...
Published on 5 Oct 2009 by Mikey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfocused album with moments of magic, 5 Oct 2009
This review is from: Mind Chaos (Audio CD)
Hockey burst onto the scene over the summer with fantastic debut single "Too Fake", before blowing people away with the soul-soaked joyous rapture of "Learn To Lose". It's no wonder then, that by the time the Strokes/Dylan tune of "Song Away" hit the airwaves, the anticipation for "Mind Chaos" was growing rapidly.

So does the album live up to the brilliant singles? Well, not quite, not this time. It's frustrating because when Hockey are on fire, they really are unstoppable. "Mind Chaos" however, contains so many influences, that often they sound unfocused and messy. "3am Spanish" starts off well, before changing direction and sounding rather cheesy. "Work" is pleasant enough, but lacks any real sparkle.

Best album track is "Curse This City", a great stomping track that hits its groove and chops and changes to a great climax. This is when Hockey shine.

Aside from that, "Four Holy Photos" is really an attempt at being Bob Dylan for 4 minutes, as pleasant as it is. "Preacher" would have been best left off the album in my opinion, despite starting off well. "Put The Game Down" is better, as is album closer "Everyone's The Same Age".

So all in all, a fair attempt. You will find magic on this album, but it is few and far between on an album with too much filler. The singles however, give hope of better things to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Present From Portland, 4 Oct 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mind Chaos (Audio CD)
Hockey are an energetic and proficient little ensemble
and their debut album 'Mind Chaos' is packed with goodies.

They wear their musical mentors' influences lightly and
have come up with a fairly distinctive product all their own.

Mr Grubin is an affable frontman despite his vocal limitations.
His cheeky, upbeat performances more than make up for the
occasional blooper. He gives it his all and we should not
expect more of him than that.

The formula is a relatively simple one. Light, bouncy,
fluid arrangements with addictive rhythmic structures
and memorable, good-time choruses.
'Song Away' is a particularly confident example of their ability
to get hairy toes tapping and small woodland creatures jumping.

Mr Reynolds (bass) and Mr Stassi (drums) are a crisply
efficient rhythm section;
Mr White's economical guitar elegantly fills in the gaps.

The general atmosphere sizzles with a good kind of raw energy.
'Wanna Be Black' and 'Preacher' both zip along at a cracking pace.

'Too Fake' and 'Put The Game Down' achieve a healthy balance between
pulsing electronica and guitar-hero-gonna-be-a-rock-star antics.

Final track 'Everyone's The Same Age' is a simple
and pretty tune simply and prettily performed.

There is very little evidence anywhere of the chaos
promised by the project's title.

Coherent, competent and tightly organised, Hockey can
be proud of their first outing in the listening world.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very promising, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mind Chaos (Audio CD)
High-quality, easy-listening, catchy and very very promising debut album from West Coasters. Filled with nice surprises, each song is very neatly produced. Just give a listen to their single "Too Fake" to get a feel of this amazing album. Leaves you happy after listening to it (and suitable even at Halloween party - everybody loved it!)
Plus they are also GREAT live. Catch them back in England in February 2010!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good debut, 3 Nov 2009
By 
PaulR "PaulR" (Central England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mind Chaos (Audio CD)
Saw Hockey on Jools Holland and they impressed enough for me to pre-order the album. Ive only recently given the album a good listen to, and like others have said it has its highs and lows. The 1st couple of listens I could hear many influences and it bugged me to put my finger on just who they were like. They remind me a lot of Mott The Hoople for some reason - probably because they can alternate between the great and the average.
They certainly have lots of energy and character and Im guessing that they are better live than in the studio. All in all a good strong debut that warrants a 3.5 out of 5.......so I will give it a 3 - just to balance out some of the earlier 5 star ratings from those who hadnt even heard the album when they reviewed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice . . . But not much else . . ., 28 Sep 2009
By 
Toby Staunton "dancing mole" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mind Chaos (Audio CD)
From first impressions make pretty simple indie-pop but on closer inspection there is something more to them. `Too Fake' is a nice opener and single that gives you a bit of an idea of the band with a bit of synth and the bass pretty high in the mix which gives a slightly different angle to the sound. `3am Spanish' then builds on this idea with muted strumming, jumping bass and a bouncy trumpet line to support it all. The vocals are energetic and focused to balance with the music very nicely.

`Learn to Loose' is another single and shows off the bands slightly sunnier aspects. The vocals are high and echoing with supporting harmonies and rolling guitar lines. It is certainly a very accessible single. `Work' then adds another aspect to the album with reggae like guitar parts and bongos, before `Song Way' adds another slice of pop/rock to the mix. `Curse This City' is a little bit of a throw away track, however `Four Holy Photos' is a nice surprise adding some Dylan like melancholy to proceedings. It is a nice effort with plodding bass, harmonica and highly descriptive/narrative lyrics. `Preacher' then opens with Beatles influences plain for all to see, but then bursts into a chirpy indie track with plenty of energy. `Put the Game Down' is a simple track with a strong base to it. Popping synths eventually build into a suitably energetic chorus which holds a strong bass line and a good lead line. Proceedings are then closed nicely by `Everyone's the Same Age'.

It is an interesting album that ultimately doesn't engage enough with the listener. It lacks a little emotion and conviction. This is not to say that musically it isn't good, it just could be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hockey Rocks Glastonbury!!, 28 Jun 2009
By 
P. L. Rice (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mind Chaos (Audio CD)
As one of the many who didn't get tickets for Glastonbury this year, have resorted to watching on TV, and by far the stand out act so far is Hockey! Am definitely getting this album when it comes out, and about to search for gigs.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destined to be big, 27 April 2009
This review is from: Mind Chaos (Audio CD)
Saw them in Oxford in Feb and yesterday in Bristol with FF. They are superb. Work & Too Fake first class - Can't wait to get this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These guys are going to be at the awards next Year, 25 April 2009
By 
Mr. J. C. Kiddell "JoeKid90" (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mind Chaos (Audio CD)
I also caught these guys on Jools Holland tonight, Preordered the album, Already singing the song in my head.

I was about to indulge and buy the MP3 bout Amazon you have let me down big style. 1.09 for 1 track. I think you might be taking the pee... That was going to be my first digital download outside of itunes and my first foot into the waters of the new world. Suffice to say I have satisfied my digital apettite elsewhere for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 25 April 2009
By 
Guy Wynter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mind Chaos (Audio CD)
this is interesting - they were great on Jools Holland this evening - looking forward to this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great!, 22 Jun 2009
By 
Mrs. C. Gordon (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mind Chaos (Audio CD)
probs the best band, like, ever! saw them live performing with friendly fires in edinburgh and got our picture taken with benj grubin (lead singer), he is sooo nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mind Chaos
Mind Chaos by Hockey (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews