Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diverse, grandoise, epic!
Following the implosion of former record label, Gut (via Institute Recordings) last year, Fightstar decided to form a joint venture with their management team (Search and Destroy Records) and self fund their third album. It was a risk, but much like Charlie Simpson's brave move to steer away from the manufactured pop word of Busted in search for respect and credibility...
Published on 23 April 2009 by C. J. Lewis

versus
1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull
I've heard some of their stuff before and thought there were some pretty good songs, so I bought this expecting to hear and exciting young band.
Instead, I hear uninspired music with lyrics that do say something, just not in a very interesting way.

I realise this lot have a decent, young following. I must be too old.
Published on 22 April 2009 by Jon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diverse, grandoise, epic!, 23 April 2009
By 
C. J. Lewis (Shrewsbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Be Human (Audio CD)
Following the implosion of former record label, Gut (via Institute Recordings) last year, Fightstar decided to form a joint venture with their management team (Search and Destroy Records) and self fund their third album. It was a risk, but much like Charlie Simpson's brave move to steer away from the manufactured pop word of Busted in search for respect and credibility with his new band, it appears to have paid off.

The quartet take a new, experimental step with Be Human whilst still maintaining their post-hardcore roots. You have to credit the four-piece for constantly trying to evolve their sound and clearly not wanting to be pigeon-holed into any particular genre. Co-produced with long term friend, Carl Bown, they drafted in a full 16-piece orchestra and school choir to create a diverse and ultimately huge sounding offering.

Opener, "Calling On All Stations", starts with slow orchestration under Simpson's soft vocals which leads into a powerful, guitar driven number. First single, "The English Way" introduces the choir to magnificent effect. The song is an anthemic sing-a-long with Dan Haigh showing off his talents with some buzzing bass lines. Latest single, "Mercury Summer" presents the band at their most melodic. A light and breezy number as a whole, it's perfectly executed with the duel harmonies of Simpson and Westaway.

"War Machine" is undoubtedly a stand out. The track has a distinctive, cinematic feel to it with the haunting strings and choir vocals to build a crescendo of noise. This could easily be the best track the band has ever written. Heavier moments can be found in tracks like "Colours Bleed To Red", "Chemical Blood" and "Damocles". The latter two combine the growling screams of Simpson with urgent strings whilst still showcasing powerful melodies.

One factor the band is often criticised for is the willingness to wear each member's influences on their sleeves. Arguably, this factor remains on the record. "The Whisperer" has Muse written all over it with its foot-tapping beat and hooky choruses. "Never Change" has a middle section harmony reminiscent of Weezer, while "Give Me The Sky" could easily be mistaken as a tribute for The Cure with its versus. But ultimately, the tracks don't suffer for it. They merely present the diversity of sounds found on this 12-track album.

"Tonight We Burn" is the electronic moment of the record. Preliminary lead by Westaway's soft vocals, it rides on top of the drum beats of Omar Abidi to create a track which proves a huge grower upon repeat listens.

The band chose to end the 46 minutes of running time with the ambient and epic builder "Follow Me Into The Darkness". This is the albums post-rock moment with beautiful violin's preceding a wall of passion with guitars, strings and piano.

As a complete body of work, this record ebbs and flows wonderfully to create a diverse and fulfilling set of tracks. Whilst the influences taken to create these songs are laid bare, it's an ambitious attempt that pays off which will surely allow the band to shake off Simpson's past and stand proud in the British alternative scene.

4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top drawer!, 1 Jun 2009
By 
R. Holding - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Be Human (Audio CD)
Be Human [Explicit]

This album is fantastic. I used to be one of those people who associated this band with Busted and therefore would not imagine listening to their music, let alone buying their album.
I bought One Day Son... and was massively impressed with the album, so this one was a must for me, and I've got to say that it is better than One Day Son..., the songs are maybe not as catchy but from my point of view that just means that you don't get fed up of them so quickly. There is a perfect mix of shouting/singing and the music is as always brilliant.
Fightstar should be a lot bigger than they are, and this can only be because people are narrow-minded about the B-word, I recommend that anyone who refuses to listen because of that should think again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How wrong can a girl be!, 15 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Human (Audio CD)
Had to edit my review as before, I gave this album 3 stars and didn't like it. After giving it mroe of a chance, I am in LOVE! It's worth it just for 'Tonight We Burn', 'The English Way' and 'Follow Me into the Darkness.' Amazing, wonderful, awesome. I was an idiot to think otherwise! If you don't love it the first couple of times, stick with it as I am utterly converted! x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album, 3 April 2010
By 
Mr. B. D. Appleby (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fightstar, yet again, share their brilliant musical skills with the rest of the world. If you have not heard of or listened to Fightstar previously, I would strongly advise for you to listen to this album to get a feel of what they are about.

Iconic tracks such as The English Way and Mercury Summer show the soft, yet strong side of Fightstar's genre, whilst the heavier tracks such as Chemical Blood, Damocles and Colours Bleed To Red contrast most other tracks and show how Fightstar have the pure talent to quickly change between harmonics and something of a more intense composition.

The three new tracks; 28k Resolution, Its Blood Is Black and Mvua Myusi, are both quickly lovable and memorable, such like all of Fightstar's songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow., 19 April 2009
This review is from: Be Human (Audio CD)
I am blown away by the talent these guys have shown. From first track to last I have begun to understand what makes these rock genius's original. No on can replicate the soothing yet harsh vocals of Charlie Simpson, trust me, who are busted? They have left thier old ways behind but still found room to keep the hooking choruses and also omars huge pounding presence on the drums is second to none. If you are even pondering choosing this album, dont take my word for it, buy it! Its easily my best review i have given out and will tell you once and for all this is worth it.

Best Tracks-War Machine, Never Change, Calling On All Stations.
Best Download-Mercury Summer, Mercury Summer EP-Avaliable on iTunes, 1.99.
Worst Track-Wow, If I Had To Choose, Damocles, Bit Too Heavy For My Liking.

Overall Rating-9.8/10..GET IT

Matt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great symphonic album that makes you forget Charlie Simpson was in Busted, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Human (Audio CD)
Fightstar are a group that I've only recently started listening to. It's easy to write them off and shun them considering that frontman Charlie Simpson was a member of the manufactured pop punk (emphasis on the pop) band Busted. Simpson had always wanted to pursue his own musical endeavours however and disliked the commercial appeal that Busted was garnering so much that he formed his own independent band, Fightstar. After Busted split apart in 2005, Fighstar emerged and despite early scepticism toward the group because of Simpson's past career, they gained a large following and gained a rave response within the UK music scene.

Be Human was the first album from Fightstar that I listened to and it has encouraged me to listen to more from this band. I feel like an idiot for not getting into this band before because this is terrific music. This album is a very ambitious and majestic record with symphonic sensibilities. Fightstar always possessed a post-hardcore element to their music that labelled them alongside bands like My Chemical Romance. Similar to MCR, Fightstar often combined emo punk with operatic grandeur and Be Human exploits those fusions well.

'The English Way' is a great example of Fightstar's grandiose rock sound. The lyrics may throw off some left wing listeners (like me) but the song has a great melody and Simpson's vocals work well on it. 'Mercury Summer' and 'Never Change' are also great compositions and provide catchy melodies and lyrics. The last two tracks on the album particularly 'Follow Me Into the Darkness' possess a darker element to the songwriting and Simpson's vocals are more strained and the orchestral backing compliments them greatly.

Be Human is a terrific rock record that shows just how versatile a band Fightstar are and provides some tracks ranging from explosive to melancholy and provides an abrasive but ultimately beautiful album. It's a big departure from what Simpson had done with Busted and shows just how much he has matured as a musician and how talented he is when not having his strings pulled by corporate backers. This album has urged me to hear more from this band and I hope the rest of their work will be just as awesome as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars advert, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Human (Audio CD)
i first heard on one of the tracks from this albulm being used as a clip on a tv advert. i like the music so much, i research until i found it was from this band. having got the cd, the song i wanted is on here, but the others on the disc are equally brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars darn tooting, 9 Dec 2010
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Be human is a grand, fluid , over the top slab of post rock from a talented band who are beyond charlies old job digs now.
This album was good before , this deluxe version turns the album into great, the added tracks add to the album rather than take away from it. The bonus dvd is good also so leap head first forward and get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it, 21 April 2010
By 
Chris "Ro" (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
Great album. The extra songs are good and the DVD of the live show is really awesome. Rare songs done in a way I haven't heard before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow just wow, 14 Feb 2010
This review is from: Be Human (Audio CD)
Theres just something with this band they just cease to amaze me and thats very hard to do. When fightstar announced they were leaving gut instinct records alot of people (including me) thought that could be it for this band, but oh no its just the start. This album is just stunning it keeps the softer sound of one day son but we get some good heavy tracks but these tracks still vere away from grand unification.

The tracks:

Calling on all stations:It aint the best opener ever but with soft sounds from the orchestra moving onto heavy guitar riffs its still a mile away from bad.

The English Way:The first single realest for the album doesnt sound great at first but really grows on you, with a heavy chorus , soft verses, and a good job from the choir this is good.

War Machine: This track is how do I put it um its stunning just stunning thats all I can say.

Never Change: The third single on the album this is a bit different from fightstars usual ground but nevertheless its still grower and I now really like this track.

Colours Bleed To Red:My favorite song on the album and this is the first time we here alex properly sing. This song is one of the heaviest on the album to with alex softly leading the verses then charlie comes in with his growly screamy vocals to take the chorus this is deffiantely a must listen to track.

The Whisperer: This track is mehh probably the worst track on the album to soft and slow and it just doesnt work.

Mercurry Summer: The Second Single again a like never change a different sound more pop 0bviously aimed at the main stream fans.

Give Me The Sky: Another pretty good track

Chemical blood:excluding war machine this song uses the orcherstra the most and what a song this is screaming chorus with beautiful soft verses just amazing.

Tonight We Burn: The Only Song Alex leads another softer song this is a grower.

Damocles: Well where do I start like deathcar but oh so better a godd aggresive screamo witha growling chorus heavy guitar from alex just awsome.

Follow Me In To The Darkness: A pretty solid ending for a great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Be Human
Be Human by Fightstar (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews