Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good....But it doesnt tell you the full story
I was reasonably impressed with "Notorious" and i can honestly say i liked the film. Me being a huge Biggie Smalls fan was eager to watch the movie, so i could find out more about the man and his background.

I thought the acting was spot on, especially by Jamal Woodward who plays the Notorious B.I.G and Naturi Naughton who plays Lil Kim.

However i...
Published on 1 July 2010 by A92

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent but hard to tell fiction from truth
A decent enough film, that charts Biggy Smalls life, but over stylizes the glamour and cuts very quickly through documented detail.

This is quite an interesting story and could have had a lot more scenes, and a bit more grit.

It is full of bad language, sex and occasional violence, but nothing too shocking.

As a tribute to a hip hop artist...
Published 19 months ago by chelios1981


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good....But it doesnt tell you the full story, 1 July 2010
By 
A92 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I was reasonably impressed with "Notorious" and i can honestly say i liked the film. Me being a huge Biggie Smalls fan was eager to watch the movie, so i could find out more about the man and his background.

I thought the acting was spot on, especially by Jamal Woodward who plays the Notorious B.I.G and Naturi Naughton who plays Lil Kim.

However i thought the movie portrayed Tupac Shakur in a bad light and it seemed to me like the producers tried to make him the villain. From my research i know that there was a misunderstanding and that 2Pac thought Biggie "set him up", the first time Pac got shot in 1995, however this case has been denied.

Also there were parts in the movie which were inaccurate. For example

1) When Biggie see's the news report that 2Pac had died, he was watching it in his house. Biggie always claimed that he was in the studio recoding a song when this happened.

2) When 2Pac got shot the first time, Biggie and all his friends all jumped in the lift straight away to aid 2Pac. However in real life Biggie claimed that when Lil Cease told him Pac got shot downstairs, they did not get up straight away as they thought he was lying.

3) Lil Cease (Biggie's cousin) does not grow up !!

Overall apart from these small issues, i think that the movie is very good and i acknowledge that they had to cut a few scenes out to make it more commercial. I would 100% recommend watching it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars is this a B.I.G mistake?, 7 April 2011
Got this and chucked it in the DVD player asap!

First thoughts: Oh, no extras? - Pretty disappointing there are a couple but nothing like I hoped.

The feature:

Shows his life from as a young boy dreaming of being successful to him selling drugs on the street making money well but relationships which fail then getting picked up by a producer and then being a multi millionaire who gets killed (in a nutshell)

BRILLIANT performances! apart from the guy playing Tupac is terrible and looks/acts nothing like him!

I was gripped onto my seat but unfortunately everyone always knows what happen about him so no surprises in the film.
It does make you upset at some parts and is a very moving film, it documents his life into 2hrs 40mins (something like that) so i does miss a few points but it really shows what life was like for him but on the other hand it makes it look like everything was easy : baby, teenager, sell drugs, rap for a minute, millions , and then get shot!

Oh well it's definitely a must buy, a nice movie night in :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent but hard to tell fiction from truth, 10 Sept. 2013
By 
chelios1981 (Glos, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A decent enough film, that charts Biggy Smalls life, but over stylizes the glamour and cuts very quickly through documented detail.

This is quite an interesting story and could have had a lot more scenes, and a bit more grit.

It is full of bad language, sex and occasional violence, but nothing too shocking.

As a tribute to a hip hop artist it paints a picture of a very complex life, full of hangers on, trying to be an onstage swearing thug image and being a (albeit unfaithful) family man.

Not the best biopic, but certainly the man lived a crazy, full life in his short time if even a small percent of what happens is true.

Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good movie, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a good movie and it shows the life of BIG and it shows BIGGIES version of what habend when tupac got shot the first time
so good movie
R:I:P TUPAC
R:I:P BIGGIE
there music will always live on
SO buy it if you want to see a good movie with fealings and struggle and about never giving up
ALWAYS GO THE STARS if you dont get the stars or your dream then at least you tryed
NEVER GIVE UP MY BROTHER OR SISTER AND WHEN IT GETS HARD KEEP YOUR HEAD UP AND TRY TO SMILE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 2 April 2011
By 
Andy (Walsall, UK) - See all my reviews
A really really good film, a great portrayol of Biggie's life, really good actors, all the actors look like who they are suppose to be (apart from 2pac), a look at biggies childhood right through his life till his death, from the making of a number 1 album, to cheating several times on his girlfriends right to his fall out with 2pac and death, brilliant film and worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Laughable, 4 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Notorious [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Caught this movie on film4 recently n all I can say is that they wasted a big opportunity to tell an interesting story about the life of biggie smalls. the film is really terrible both tonally and visually and the acting was so bad by the lead character that I found myself sniggering in disbelief on more than one occasion. not for me this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jessilou, 5 Feb. 2011
I think the film is great, however I wouldn't recommend as a family DVD as there is scenes of violence and abusive language. However it is an extremely good film, it maps out the life of Christopher Wallace (Biggie Smalls/Notorious) and shows his way up to his high rap career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars notorious!!!! BIG, 13 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film shows B.I.G biggie smalls growing up from a young age. from dealing drugs to producing number 1 single . 9/10
but ..to me i didnt reaally keep me focused through the wholeee film but still one of my favourites
N..N..N.. NOTORIOUS!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film!!!!!!, 10 Nov. 2011
This film is amazing!!!! It really shows the story of the life of Notorious BIG. Amazing soundtrack and brilliant story line. Just a shame he had to die when he did. So wish he had made more music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant film and a must have for any hip hop ..., 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant film and a must have for any hip hop fan. Even if hip hop isn't your cup of tea I would still suggest you give this film a try. Fast service and excellent condition for a used DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Notorious [Blu-ray]
Notorious [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray - 2009)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews