Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars16
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2011
As soon as the rough guitar kicks in from STFUppercut you know what this album's going to be - full of punchy riffs and magnificent screams from Sean Smith (co-vocalist with Gavin Butler). With lyrics like "You can't bring us down, we're the best in town!" you can certainly tell The Blackout are confident in themselves, this really shows in `The Best In Town' as they're producing hits that appeal to everyone. This album could never be described as boring as we go from harsh, screamo tracks like STFUppercut to a more tame pop-punk track like 'I Love Myself And I Wanna Live'. This doesn't by any means mean that because it's less brash that it's any less of the incredible standard The Blackout have set themselves. This song contains one of the catchiest choruses of this year and by the time you've heard it a few times, you can't help singing along! The instrumentation fits together so well - with each member being equally as talented as the other. 'Children Of The Night' is another smash-hit that has a strong vocal riff that you cannot get out of your head even if you try! The Blackout have succeeded with an absolutely fantastic album that'll convince anyone to like a bit of screaming in their music. Another amazing album from the Merthyr Tydfil boys - you will not be disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2011
two words absouloutly brilliant. An amazing blend of screamo and singing. S.T.F.U is brilliant but my personal favourite children of the night blows it to kingdom come. However heavy or light you like your metal there IS something on this album for you. Simply brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2009
The Blackout have finally given us the Album we have been waiting for. Their is a lot of great tracks on this album, the opener, Shut the **** Uppercut, is outstanding, It leaves you in no doubt that they are seriously Talented rockers. This is by far their best effort and deserves a serious listen by all metal lovers,this is only my personal opinion but, you will regret not giving this a spin. I'm not gonna tell you to buy it, though I'm sure you will after you've heard it
Krazy Ken
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2009
This album is SO good- no joke. Kerrang gave it 5 stars (well Ks) and people said it did'nt deserve it, they are wrong!! I think if you like bands like A Day To Remember, that mix really good tunes with screamo then this is the album for you! I'm not a huge metal fan, but The Blackout are easily my fave band so seriously get this album if you want some really ace listening :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2009
Really really good album. If I'm honest I wasn't totally thrilled with it the fist time I heard it...but after the second time I totally fell for it. Its very true to The Blackout's style of screamo and pop-ishy tunes. Really really really good album created by an excellent band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2009
Just a few weeks after getting "The Blackout"'s first album after finding out about them in Kerrang Magazine, their 2nd album came out.

This is packed full of amazing songs. One of them: Top Of The World, it has to be the best sounding guitar tune EVER!

BUY IT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2009
Ah, this is it. The first album lacked the growl that their ep promised but the best in town delivers a harder sound with more screaming. It's not as varied as We Are the Dynamite (there's no slow experimentally one like Life and Death in Space) but it is a much better album. All the songs do have lots of ideas and catchy choruses. It's a good album and I think it's great! Plus i love the artwork, if you're into that sort of thing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2011
this is such a great album its highly recomended
my favourite would be children of the night
this album has such great energy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
I purchased this CD years ago but I can honestly say that this has remained in my collection and I still enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
One of my all-time favourite albums musically. The best when played live.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.63

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)