Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O Karen
The Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs debut album was an exciting, raw slab of New York punk rock. They struggled to replicate that on their second album, Show Your Bones. It looked like a classic case of an exciting debut followed by a steady decline. To their credit the YYYs have gone back to the drawing board and come up with an album that is a genuine progression, yet still...
Published on 22 May 2009 by Mark Ferris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Not a big Yeah Yeah Yeahs follower but bought this after seeing them on Jools Holland. This album reminds me a lot of Moloko, with the strong female vocals and poppy but kooky feel. Enjoyed the first 5 tracks but then it seems to tail of a bit.
Published on 6 Sep 2009 by JB


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Karen O and Co. kick bottom., 3 April 2009
This review is from: It's Blitz! (Audio CD)
Part of me wants to hate them.
Karen O & Co. are some god-damned ice-cool, so irritatingly hip and self-assured that a little segment of my psyche couldn't stand them, if only I didn't love them so much.

If ever was my chance to eject them from their hallowed reverence in my heart, to repeal the acerbic journalese immunity that their magnificent back-catalogue has afforded them in spite of their posturing: the time is now.

With the imminent release of It's Blitz, there is an amnesty on my pent-up niggles with the band that have been - like Mary Poppins - practically perfect in every way. The simple reason for this is It's Blitz has hardly any guitars on it, at all.

Music Week has simultaneously - and rather inelegantly, by their own admission - compared the whole record to both Blondie and the genre of disco! *Oh dear, surely this must be the end for our tenacious trio? Have Ms O and Co. gone the way of the dodo? Will It's Blitz be more of a mayfly than a doodle-bug? For the answers to this and more, dear visitor, read on...*

With the trend towards all that is Eighties at the moment, we'd be forgiven for thinking that these hip-kids were jumping onto another bandwagon, particularly since this album initially seems to have more in common with the Ting Tings then their past work. OK, that comparison is overly harsh, though they are certainly taking a leaf from the collective compendium of avant-garde electronica emanating from Brooklyn and basements apartments of the swelling ranks of sound artists from the further reaches of NYC's five boroughs. Parts & Labor recently released a not dissimilar record and - though only one will get air-play - both are ambitious and beautiful, full of ambient electronica and yet still passionate and rockin'.

Yes, that's right: as reward for persevering with both this article and the album proper, the rocking moments do come; they just take five tracks to happen. Then, suddenly, the YYYs are Wayne's World band, Crucial Taunt covering Ballroom Blitz. There are also sound-bytes reminiscent of Seventies' kids TV mysteries, slips of Eighties' hip-hop, a veritable smorgasbord of disparate delights crafted into a neo-cut'n'paste rollercoaster, all rattling long at a fair old lick with the inertia of past glories. By the time you get to Runaway, a track as achingly delicate and beautiful as a Jean-Pierre Jeunet flick, you'll have fallen in love with YYYs all over again.

J Capeling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Blitz! (Audio CD)
Good album. Easy to listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWSOMEE!, 5 Feb 2011
This review is from: It's Blitz! (Audio CD)
I am a huge fan of the yyys and have all there eps and albums and l always loved the whole karen 0 rock chic thing but im really loving this new album which is all about the electrona dance but theres still some rock in there to! all in all superb album! ive had some fantastic times listening to this! and at that price BARGAIN! ENJOY! you couldent be disapointed if you tried! ; )) <3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 26 April 2010
By 
Polar Ben (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: It's Blitz! (Audio CD)
This is my 2nd Yeah Yeah Yeah's album, after 'Show Your Bones', and it takes a few listens to get in to it. Some of the tracks are more mellow and less rocky than expected, but once you've got used to this it's a good album and i'm glad that i've bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Blitz - comments, 12 Sep 2009
By 
J. Young (Britain, England, Plymouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Blitz! (Audio CD)
There are very few albums I have where I can say that I loved listening to each track. This album is one of those few. In comparison to their other albums you can say that they have produced a new sound but there are still very recognisable elements in the guitar, drums and infectious vocals. I very much look forward to their next release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous fabulous fabulous!!, 11 Sep 2009
By 
C. Jones (Donegal, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Blitz! (Audio CD)
This was my first YYY album - purchased to see what the fuss was about.
Absolutely astounding melodies and Karen O's lilting makes the hair stand on the back of my neck.... ten out of ten - not one dodgy track, and a great mixture of tempo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yeah Yeah No, 8 April 2009
By 
J. Ball "Joshua Ball" (Valencia, ES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Blitz! (Audio CD)
We all change, our style, our tastes sometimes even our eye colour. Ever since listening to "Fever to tell" I have selfishly craved for more of the same from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. Unfortunately this album and their previous one did not cut the mustard for me. This is not to say this album lacks quality or style, as it had bags of it, it just doesn't encapsulate the rawness of the first album. The vocals, the guitars, the beats are all very polished - most of the tracks on the album are great songs, but if you listened to "Fever to tell" and "It's Blitz" back to back I don't think you would realise they were the same band.

Overall, this is a good album but I do miss Karen O's screeching vocals and clunking guitars, and I just don't think I will be getting them back any time soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 6 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Luckily got to see them at Glastonbury 2009.

Absolutely brilliant and well worth every penny.

Rare when you buy an album and pretty much all the songs are class!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 1 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. A. Merrick (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Blitz! (Audio CD)
This cd has the best songs ever and Karen O has done it again with her amazing voice. So glad I purchased it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Times are changing, 22 April 2009
By 
R. N. ESPIÑEIRA "Rne" (Malaver , Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Blitz! (Audio CD)
Los Yeah Yeah Yeahs han alcanzado la madurez. Al trío neoyorquino le ha tomado tres discos conseguir lo que otros alcanzan tarde o no logran nunca: evolucionar. Y esta evolución ha sido a base de sacrificios, de abandonar las guitarras, restringir los gemidos y los gritos, bajar los decibelios.

En It's Blitz la banda ha renunciado al post punk para abrazar la electrónica, el glam y el pop. Y aunque han logrado conservar el sonido adictivo y envenenado de sus comienzos, también se han desprendido del toque ríspido para dar paso a un ritmo más refinado y elegante.

Mientras que en sus inicios la guitarra de Nick Zinner llevaba el mando con sus incansables cuerdas, ahora el grupo ha incorporado más instrumentos y traído invitados para darle a su música un fuego nuevo con tracks que sobrepasan los 4 minutos de duración, renunciando a la brevedad en favor de la experimentación.

Las letras también han sufrido cambios. Con el tiempo las palabras de Karen O se han vuelto cada vez más metafóricas y aunque sigue repitiendo frases como antaño, aquí se nota un espíritu contenido y misterioso que habla por igual del amor completo, las dudas amorosas, la añoranza por el pasado e incluso de una lujuriosa determinación.

El disco arranca con "Zero", el primer sencillo de la producción y uno de los temas más escandalosos, que si bien no sirve para definir el sonido del álbum sí muestra la amplia gama de texturas que el trío ha conseguido en esta ocasión. A éste le sigue "Heads Will Roll", canción de sintetizadores omnipresentes inspirada por el amor al baile de la vocalista del grupo.

La tranquilidad llega con "Soft Shock", tema de influencias pop que habla sobre la indecisión entre seguir adelante o abandonar el barco amoroso. El amor también ocupa los espacios de "Skeletons", canción de alcances épicos y sin duda una de las mejores del disco.

Con la llegada de "Dull Life" y "Shame And Fortune" la guitarra de Zinner hace finalmente su aparición para subir de nuevo los decibelios. En la primera su sonido lleva toda la canción y en la segunda interviene a la mitad para recordarnos porqué este músico es considerado como uno de los mejores guitarristas en la actualidad.

Las teclas regresan para producir la melodía de "Runaway" y acompañar a Karen en sus añoranzas amorosas. A esta le sigue la que en mi opinión es la mejor canción del álbum, "Dragon Queen", una joya de influencias thecurescas con una letra directa y muy claras intenciones.

El pop regresa para llevar el ritmo en "Hysteric" y "Little Shadow", tema que empieza como una especie de canción de cuna y poco a poco va subiendo el tono para darle un digno final a la producción.

En resumen, los Yeah Yeah Yeahs han madurado sin miedo y sin dejar de lado la diversión, han expandido su sonido, han mejorado en su ejecución pero sobre todo, han demostrado que se puede crecer sin perder el estilo. It's Blitz es un gran paso adelante y un disco arriesgado. Una producción perfecta y sin momentos blandos y en muchos aspectos la mejor de la agrupación hasta el momento. En su construcción el grupo ha arriesgado todo y el riesgo afortunadamente ha valido la pena.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's Blitz!
It's Blitz! by Yeah Yeah Yeahs (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews