Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catch Like A Virus
This album should carry a Health Warning. Truly the musical equivalent of Measles, infectious, an itch you cannot scratch. I hated this album when i first heard it. I am, after all, a dedicated Heavy Metal fan... this electronic rubbish was not to be to my taste. 48 hours later i was sat in a friends car when i heard La Roux again. I have probably never had a greater...
Published on 8 Mar. 2010 by Bongo

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Retro but good
It's not a *brilliant* album, it does taper off towards the end, but it *is* their first so give them space, and "Bulletproof" is just so great it's almost worth buying just for that track!

If I have a criticism though it's so blatantly influenced by early 80's synthpop I almost feel Vince Clarke should have a royalty credit - this music just wouldn't exist if...
Published on 7 Nov. 2009 by SynthBoy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 80s are back, 8 Jun. 2009
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
I have just discovered La Roux after a few months of media coverage and song leaks on the internet (but i'm buying the cd - thats how much i love her sound) and her music is a breath of fresh air. Not that I haven't heard this sound before, its what I grew up on in the 80s (im 32 now) and i still love the music of the 80s, even when people have bashed it over the years, ive always loved it, and now its making a come back, obviously it never went out of style!
I just saw her video for 'bullet proof' and I felt like a was watching a video that would have sat nicely nestled in between madonnas get into the groove and yazoos dont go on Razzmatazz (or top of the pops circa 1984), i really felt like it was just retro and just such a great feel good song, loved the 80s style video, it reminded me so much of my childhood *sigh*

Anyways back to La Roux! I have only heard two songs on here, 'bulletproof' (THE summer anthem - well for me anyway - a surefire number one IMO) and 'in for the kill' - i know i will love the other tracks on here, her music is uplifiting, anthemic, and just 80s synth pop which just makes you want to dance and wear day glo and ray bans and hi tops, its soooo cool, La Roux for a 21 year old, you have good taste in music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
Good item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Debut Album!, 29 Jun. 2009
By 
NAR (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
Having recieved the album a few days early before actual release (thanks HMV, sorry amazon :P) i have been able to give the album lots of listens before i reviewed it, and im proud to say that i love the album as much as i thought i would, not one bit dissapointed in this epic debut album by the greatly talented duo that is La Roux.

So the album starts off lively with the No.2 hit "In For The Kill" which some might not know that the song meaning is going to tell someone you love them, so don't worry no one is getting killed...
but love soon changes to stalking in "Tigerlily", a dark song, which has a spoken word bridge done by Elly Jacksons father which was inspired by Micheal Jacksons "Thriller".

The album then moves on to "Quicksand", the synth heavy first single from La Roux which unfortunately failed to chart in the UK but they have gained the recognition they deserve thankfully by releasing other great singles.
Elly claims that she will be "Bulletproof" in this next track, the insanely catchy No.1 hit proves that she has attitude and shes not afraid to show it.

"Colourless Colour" a song that is instantly catchy but had to grow on me (didn't take long) few listens later loving the song as much as others, its a great upbeat, funky song.
The album moves on to the caribbean feeling song that is "I'm Not Your Toy" which is also the next single, the chorus simply repeats "I'm Not Your Toy but this isn't another Girl meets Boy" but again like Bulletproof its so darn catchy! Great summer feeling song.

The album shows it's more diverse side in the gorgeous "Cover My Eyes" a great ballad, but with it being La Roux it still manages to keep a catchy chorus which stays stuck in your head, Ellys vocals also shine through in this song with assisting backup vocals by The London Community Gospel Choir.
"As If By Magic" lightens up the mood a bit more after the great Cover My Eyes, were Elly shows she is moving on from a broken relationship, with a killer chorus and some added uplifting "Ohh Ohhs" after it you can't help but love the song.

"Fascination" is another synth heavy song but the synths aren't as stabbing as they are on Quicksand, this is probably the only shrill song alongside with In For The Kill (although not as shrill as In For The Kill) on the album but it's still a great song, shrill doesn't ruin anything!
Elly believes her "Reflections Are Protection" on this next track, it's definitely the most relaxing, easy listening song on the album but it still has the great synths and beat an of course killer chorus, some may find this the weakest song on the album (in my eyes there are no weak songs) but i feel that it really depends on your mood.

"Armour Love" is the final ballad on the album, it's just as good as Cover My Eyes in its own way, it does have two minute silence after the song finishes so you may want to skip ahead to the UK bonus track which is "Growing Pains" and it ends the album on a high note which left me absolutely wanting more, but until they begin work on their next album we have this stunning debut album to cherrish, thank you La Roux.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
Brill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Awesome, 22 Jun. 2009
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
This is actually my favourite album ever. La Roux really are amazing, its rare to find an album where all or almost all songs are dynamic and fantastic, as this one is. My favourites include Bulletproof, I'm Not Your Toy and Tigerlily, but they're all great and I can listen to them over and over. I would definately recommend buying it, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As if By magic..., 17 Jun. 2009
By 
Ms. Keri Brown "Keri Brown" (Airdrie) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
La roux created this...totally amazing. I can't wait to see and hear more. Breathe of fresh air. Worth the buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Roux [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like it!, 7 July 2009
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
I like loads of music at the moment i'm listening to this and Marcus Smith's Hooked. This is a great album and deserve the hype it's getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

La Roux
La Roux by La Roux (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews