Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catch Like A Virus
This album should carry a Health Warning. Truly the musical equivalent of Measles, infectious, an itch you cannot scratch. I hated this album when i first heard it. I am, after all, a dedicated Heavy Metal fan... this electronic rubbish was not to be to my taste. 48 hours later i was sat in a friends car when i heard La Roux again. I have probably never had a greater...
Published on 8 Mar 2010 by Bongo

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Retro but good
It's not a *brilliant* album, it does taper off towards the end, but it *is* their first so give them space, and "Bulletproof" is just so great it's almost worth buying just for that track!

If I have a criticism though it's so blatantly influenced by early 80's synthpop I almost feel Vince Clarke should have a royalty credit - this music just wouldn't exist if...
Published on 7 Nov 2009 by SynthBoy


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catch Like A Virus, 8 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
This album should carry a Health Warning. Truly the musical equivalent of Measles, infectious, an itch you cannot scratch. I hated this album when i first heard it. I am, after all, a dedicated Heavy Metal fan... this electronic rubbish was not to be to my taste. 48 hours later i was sat in a friends car when i heard La Roux again. I have probably never had a greater musical epiphany. Elly Jackson has one of the best voices of this decade and La Roux have produced one of the most intelligent 'pop' records of this genre. Instant classics like 'In For the Kill' and 'Bulletproof' are immediate in their impact and infectiousness but the true depth of La Roux is hidden in gems such as 'Colourless Colour'. Dismiss at your peril... you really would miss out on the freshest and most intelligent pop albums of all time. Catch the bug now! Now... how do i disguise this amidst my Maiden albums..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of pop's most refreshing releases in recent years, 30 July 2009
By 
J. Goh "Jason Goh" (Birmingham, West Mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
I am 42 and have been in love with music since my childhood. I am deeply passionate about a very wide variety of music, from serious classical music to opera, lived through the 80s with the the New Wave movement, then Madonna and Pet SHop Boys formed the soundtrack of life from the 90s on; discovered trance and danced till it died in the 21st century.

I still buy CDs and always try to keep up with pop other than those from winners of TV talent shows. Why is all this relevant? Let me say this, this album is one of the most refreshing pop releases in recent years!! Yes she has got an odd voice, yes, the lyrics are odd, yes, she looks odd, yes, at first and second listen many of the tracks share similar beats and even chords. But this girl knows how to put a catchy tune together. Remember when songs used to be about melody and tune? This is like the 80s all over again. What were the better pop releases in the past year or two? Sasha Fierce? E=MC2? Day and Age? Funhouse?The Sweet Escape? Relapse? Count La Roux in! Give it a go, don't take it too seriously, and treat your ears to some catchy tunes again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It’s better than the 1980s., 21 Jun 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
Elly Jackson has the Eighties obsession, red hair and androgynous looks, doesn't she want to be the next Annie Lennox? Admirable, but La Roux frontwoman has a somewhat limited range of a voice, she sings every song in the same high-pitched thrill, which tends to become almost a scream when she struggles to give a note emphasis. That said, I still really enjoyed the album and lived through a period of playing it over and over again.

The album is a mix of vintage style synth sounds and beats, sharp riffs, spooky background vocals, cheerful bassline, lively keyboards and Jackson’s penetrating voice. It is a good effort, very well rounded and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La Roux, best new singer, 8 Oct 2009
By 
R. Pipe "Roy Pipe" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
Heard La Roux on Alan Carr's show for the first time. Reminded me of Leo Sayer when he first started absolutely spot on with notes and a great performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fan since Quick sand!, 7 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
I couldn't wait for this album to come out and I was not disappointed!! I have since converted several friends to being fans and can't wait to see her in November in Glasgow! I totally recommend this album- Tigerlilly (track 2) is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a good cd, 5 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. R. Merrydew (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
I didn't get this for my self but the person who I got it for thought it was a very good cd and they love La Roux.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but not far off, 5 Aug 2009
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
I waited 6 months for this album so I had quite high expectations that, understandably, were going to be hard to live up to.
Having said that, i think it's a fantastic debut from a great artist, even if it's not to everyones taste.
My personal favourites are 'Tigerlily', 'Colourless Colour' and 'I'm Not Your Toy' (as well as the released tracks).
The only forgettable tracks are 'As If By Magic' and 'Armour Love' and even these are still pleasant to listen to.
Overall, a great album - not perfect, but not far off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars return to the 80's, 29 July 2009
By 
T. BUTTERS "Trevor Butters" (Spalding,Lincs,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
Love the 80's? Love electropop? Then love La Roux & love their amazing debut album! Favourite tracks: Cover My Eyes & Reflections Are Protection as well as the singles, but there's not a duff track on the album. Elly's vocals are superb throughout,Ben's keyboard work is simple but sensational! If you love Erasure & Human League you will LOVE La Roux!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 July 2009
By 
L. Gerrish (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
I love this album, and although it is mainly the same-ish sounding it can be listened to over and over again, i love it! xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I heard it back in 2009 and to be honest I feel like I need to give credit to the fantastic song ..., 18 Aug 2014
This review is from: La Roux (Audio CD)
I realise this review is very 'late' as such but I'm not really reviewing the album. I heard it back in 2009 and to be honest I feel like I need to give credit to the fantastic song that is 'As If By Magic'. So many reviews here concentrate on 'In For The Kill' & 'Bulletproof', both good songs but As If By Magic has a melancholy quality that moves me each time I hear it. it should certainly have been a single, maybe around the winter of 2009/2010 which would have suited its sound. In my opionion it is their finest song and I'm glad they made it. Just thought I'd give the track some belated praise :-).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

La Roux
La Roux by La Roux (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews