Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2002
After having read the one star review, I felt compelled to come in here and redeem the Tin Planet CD. The CD is brilliant. I think what I like most about this band is that even though they have a very signature sound, each song on the cd changes with a blend of creativity that makes the cd very easy to listen to over and over again. Each listen is a new discovery. Tin Planet begins with the passionate 'Begin Again' and is chased by Avenging Angels and The Ballad of Tom Jones which are both extremely brilliant and a nice alternative to some of the very monotonous and uncreative lackluster crap that many artists are putting out these days. Space had created their own formula on Spiders and followed it up quite nicely. Tin Planet does have a few weak moments such as Piggies, Disco Dolly and Fran in Japan, but the other ten songs on the cd make it well worth the purchase. Apparently Gut Records decided to not release the third corner of their cd releases 'Love You More Than Football', but I'm sure the cd promised the same freshness that Tin Planet brought out. Unfortunately, most of the world will never know....Well, all I can say, bottom line, Tin Planet rocks. Very unique, fresh, and creative all the way around.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2006
I love this album. I remember listening to it continuously around the time it was first released after hearing the infectious 'Ballad of Tom Jones' and a couple of singles off 'Spiders'. I have recently discovered my old space albums after a long break from them, and rediscovered a sound found nowhere else in music, making me realise why I liked them so much in the first place.
Comparisons to Blur, Pulp and Suede are misleading in order to understand the full extent of the sound that is Space. While darker tracks such as ‘Piggies’ should appeal to rock fans, indie fans should enjoy the melodic ‘Bad days’, while other tracks could interest dance and even jazz fans. It is simply impossible to pinpoint Space’s genre, or to categorize them; their music is a mixture of so many different sounds and styles, creating something unusual, bizarre and completely original. The sounds are likely to appeal to a music fan with a sense of humour, who would like to hear something different and complex.
To summarize, the album is entirely unique; a quirky and exciting adventure from first to last. 'Begin Again' has an amusing edge and starts off the album intriguingly. This is continued with light-hearted tracks ‘Be There’ and ‘Unluckiest Man in the World’.
The contagious sound combined with the distinct, idiosyncratic vocals make the songs fun, catchy and altogether thoroughly likeable. My favourites include ‘Avenging Angels’, ‘The Ballad of Tom Jones’ and ‘Disco Dolly’.
Although ‘Tin Planet’ may not appeal to everyone, there are far too many people who have not heard it. Overall, Space are underrated, the album is an unobvious classic and should be an essential experiment in every music fan’s CD collection.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2004
Space's sound has matured and become fuller than on Spiders (their debut)and much more themed, for instance there's a fantastic playful 50's rock n roll style solo in 'A little biddy help from elvis' And the opening combination of synth, guitar and synthesized orchestration on 'Begin again' really starts the album off on the right foot. 'The man' and 'Fran in japan' are great electronic songs which have such a good vibe to them they're song's which wouldn't be out of place on Primal scream's Screamadelica. Tommy's lyrics have matured and become a perfect balance of cynical and humorous in a style which at this stage of space's history present him as a veteran of 'fun' rock n roll.
'The Unluckiest man in the world' show Space as a fluent talented intelligent band flying their banner far above the indie genre they were dumped in.
Tin planet as a whole shows Space as a band who have created a perfect involving, party, sitting at home, listening to whilst driving, humorous, satirical, yet ultimately misunderstood album.
The synth's feature heavily in Space's sound courtesy of a genius named Franny (his lines may not be cutting edge but he gells Space together so well) To me Tin Planet says music rather than band so if you are looking for guitar orientated brit-pop buy a supergrass album, meaningless party indie try black grape, but if you are looking for the rarity which is a band that creates flowing music something along the lines of Beck's midnite vultures meets the divine comedy. At £8.99 this is definately worth trying if it's not something that would immediately grab you.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2006
I love this album. I remember listening to it continuously around the time it was first released after hearing the infectious 'Ballad of Tom Jones' and a couple of singles off 'Spiders'. I have recently discovered my old space albums after a long break from them, and rediscovered a sound found nowhere else in music, which made me realise why I liked them so much in the first place.
Comparisons to Blur, Pulp and Suede are misleading in order to understand the full extent of space’s sound. While tracks such as ‘Piggies’ should appeal to rock fans, indie fans should enjoy the melodic ‘Bad days’, while other tracks could interest dance and even jazz fans. It is simply impossible to pinpoint Space’s genre, or to categorize them; their music is a mixture of so many different sounds and styles, creating something unusual and completely original. The sounds are likely to appeal to a music fan with a sense of humour, who would like to hear something different and complex.
To summarize, the album is entirely unique; a quirky and exciting adventure from first to last. 'Begin Again' has an amusing edge and starts off the album intriguingly. This is continued with light-hearted tracks ‘Be There’ and ‘Unluckiest Man in the World’.
The contagious sounds combined with the distinct, idiosyncratic vocals make the songs fun, catchy and altogether thoroughly likeable. My favourites include ‘Avenging Angels’, ‘The Ballad of Tom Jones’ and ‘Disco Dolly’.
Although ‘Tin Planet’ may not appeal to everyone, there are far too many people who have not heard it. Overall, Space are underrated, the album is an unobvious classic and should be essential to every serious music fan’s CD collection.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 November 2001
This album rocks,although its not as heavy or as PC as 'spiders',but its very enjoyable,its themed on late 60's music,although taking the mick,it makes for pleasurable listening,the opening track 'begin again' showcases Tommy Scott's songwriting in full form.originally called 'the man that would kill for love' this is one of the best tracks on the album,other stand out tracks are 'the ballad of tom jones' a sweet duet with Catatonia vocalist Cerys Matthews,the fantastic indie anthem '1 0' clock',with guitarist Jamie Murphy on lead vocals again (as with sevaral songs on the debut) with Tommy playing lead guitar,the very joyful 'disco dolly',the heart warming ballad 'bad days' and their mickey take of heavy metal,the disturbing 'piggies'.If you like spiders,but thought it lacked something,this album is for you,if you like wellcrafted rock tracks,this is for you,this is the strange side of rock,and its very good!!.Another track to look out for is the typical space venture 'be there'
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 15 October 2002
seriously diverse and catchy. luckily a few of the tracks, mulder and sculley, and avenging angels to name but two, got heavy airplay on UK radio.
Also went to see Space live promoting this album, and it was excellent.
So hardly an uninformed buy, but still remains an excellent original album, and without doubt marks the high point in Spaces musical career.
some really good/rock pop, with an almost orchestral feel on some tracks.
very clever songwriting, and exquisite vocals and music.
i would be tempted to put this album in my top ten.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 1999
The second album from Space is far less mechanised than there first one , resorting to good old fashioned guitars , but with the usual space melodies on keyboard , and Tommy`s vocals ( also watch out for Cerys Mathews on the ballad of tom jones ). If you loved the first you`ll love this although it`s not as good in parts.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2000
Being an American (how lucky am I..), it's really hard to access Space records, but I was smart enough to order Tin Planet over the Internet and I'm incredibly glad I did. Tin Planet is at least as good as Spiders, with lovely EVERYTHING. I only wish Space would tour in the U.S....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
This review is in regard to the limited edition tin version of the album.
It is an album which comes in a unique and fantastic tin which is great for any collector.
The album itself is not as good as Spiders but still has an edge and good songs on it.
Would recommend it to any Space fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Love Space anyway and replacing my old tired cds. Service was great. CD arrived early..which is always a bonus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)