Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars56
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£32.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 2010
Our club have tried other Race Night DVDs, but this one is the best so far. Good price, good quality picture, good commentary, and clear numbering throughout the race to indicate current positions of horses.

The best features, though, were the option to choose 8 out of 9 races, to ensure completely random selection, and the mixture of flats and hurdles, with a few fallers throughout to add to the excitement.

But the star of the show, and what makes this easily the best, is the commentator with the posh voice reviewing the runners before they start. The comments are funny enough, but coming from such a plummy voice just made it all the funnier. Everyone was in stitches, and eagerly awaited the next commentary.

Highly recommended, and costing much less than the inferior, 'professional' competitors. We'll use them every time.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2012
I purchased this for an upcoming event and discovered that, for reasons only known to Apple, that the DVD wasn't working correctly on my Mac (It works great on DVD and PC and I'm probably just pressing the wrong buttons). I dropped Derek at Race Night Services an email that night and had a reply in half an hour offering to let me download the races to save me anymore hassle. This worked great and I was delighted at the swift reply.
Great service.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2015
We used it as a charity fund raiser just last night and it was really successful. The disk has 10 races, both flat and national hunt (over the jumps). I recommend you only use eight and you pick them at random just before you show them. The races are all exciting with close finishes, which got the crowd cheering encouragement and really added to the atmosphere. The commentary of the race is very professional and the horses not named; They are just given numbers. This is exactly what you need for a fund raising event as it lets you sell the naming rights to the sponsors before the event to sponsors. A lot of cheeper Race night sets are meant just for family entertainment and are not suitable as they name the race and the horse.

The ticket books are all colour coded by race, so it's easy to tell which race a ticket is for. Every ticket has the number of the race, horse number and a sequential ticket number. This sequential number lets you know how many tickets were sold for each horse. This is really important when you calculate the payout.

Finally there was lots of extras. These included ideas on how to run the race night and a spread sheet to calculate the payout. I didn't use these, but if you'd never seen a race night before I think they'd be useful.

Two words of warning: Firstly read up on the law regarding fund raising on race nights. It's easy to find online and you don't want to get into trouble. Secondly the DVD did not work on my Mac. It did work on a Windows 7 PC, which we used and a Blueray player.

This kit was a lot cheeper than getting a professional company to run the night. Which means more funds raised for our charity.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2011
this is not a toy but was a great way to raise funds and have fun.Over 600pounds raised for sons team and a good night too.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2011
We bought this for a retirement evening do. We had a 100 or so people who all enjoyed it. Instructions were straightforward and it came with extra kit to help you run the evening. Ideal as a money raiser evening for schools or other groups.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
This pack was just the job, we wanted to raise some money pretty quickly
for our local boys rugby team.This pack enables you to raise money prior to the event and also on the night.We could not go wrong and raised over £450 on the event. I hope there is a volume 2 on the way , because we will be buying it!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2011
For use in a race night fund raiser the dvd was great espesilly as it was a comentry by the the horses numbers everyone enjoyed the different races a great econmical buy
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
A very good way to raise money for charity. I recently used to raise money on a charity night and made over £1000 and will use it it again very good.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
We had a night in at the pub that i work at and it packed out our pub! Great atmosphere, GREAT!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
We've paid £200 a time for somebody to come in and run Race Nights for us before. This cut our costs by a great deal and it was great fun to organise and run it ourselves. The sound wasn't great but that may well have been our equipment rather than the DVD in fairness, but nobody minded much anyway. One good tip - Make up your own horse names and publish the list (We even had a powerpoint slide to show the horse names before every race, along with an advert - extra income!) By making up silly horse names based on members we knew would be there on the night (Staggering Steve, Lightning Luke etc.) it created further interest and more betting. Interesting how the amount staked on each race rose as the evening went on as well and the beers went down! Brilliant resource.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)