Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous fiesta!
Anybody who is aware of the Simon Bolivar Youth Orchestra will know what a tremendous and successful project it has become. For those of you who do not know, the project has given underpriviledged children the opportunity to develop their musical talents to an extremely high degree. Julian Lloyd Webber is hoping to develop a project along these lines in the UK. This CD is...
Published on 2 Jun 2009 by M. Cumming

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the great venezualan orchestra
Having watched the children in this orchestra and marveled as to their intensity, hard work and love of what they have achieved. UnfortunatelyI was alittle disappointed with the cd- would have expectedmore of their variations of other great composers.Neverthelessthe pieces of musicfully encapsulate the origins of the country.
Published on 22 Jun 2009 by J. Endean


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous fiesta!, 2 Jun 2009
By 
M. Cumming (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fiesta (Audio CD)
Anybody who is aware of the Simon Bolivar Youth Orchestra will know what a tremendous and successful project it has become. For those of you who do not know, the project has given underpriviledged children the opportunity to develop their musical talents to an extremely high degree. Julian Lloyd Webber is hoping to develop a project along these lines in the UK. This CD is truly fantastic. The superb orchestra reacts to Dudamel's direction with perfection.
If you have been lucky enough to see the orchestra live, you will know that it is an experience that lives with you. They are super talented, engergetic and entertaining.
Enjoy this CD with the passion it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Jun 2009
By 
I. Ruseva - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fiesta (Audio CD)
I keep on listening to this recroding all the time - it is brilliant, energizing and powerufl music and the fact that it is played by a youth orchestra adds even more energy and passion to the recording.
Of course it is not like actually being at one of their concerts but you can feel all the beauty listening to this CD as well.
Highly recommended for anyone who thought they don't really like classical music - after this one it will be impossible not to get addicted to classical music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully exciting!, 5 Jun 2009
By 
J. Gaddas (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fiesta (Audio CD)
This CD is brilliant. I bought it after I heard just one track and wasn't disappointed with the whole thing! It's hard to realise that this is a youth orchestra and is from a nation with no traditional background or love of classical music. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo Fiesta!, 22 July 2009
By 
M. A. MacIocia (Kirkcaldy, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fiesta (Audio CD)
The combination of latin classical music, plus the youthful exuberance of the band, plus the flair of their hugely energetic and charismatic conductor all combine to make this a MUST BUY addition to the collection.
Bravo Dudamel. Bravo Simón Bolívar National Youth Orchestra
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tribute to modern youth at it's best., 30 April 2009
By 
C. Stott "Colin Stott "Chameleon"" (Walsall England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fiesta (Audio CD)
I have listened to classical and vocal C.D's for years, but Fiesta beats them all. The orchestra responds to the direction of Gustavo Dudamel with precission and total enthusiam. It made my hair curl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly enjoyable experience (eventually), 15 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Fiesta (Audio CD)
Like others I bought this for one track - in my case (and I suspect others) Danzon no. 2. Initially found some of the other pieces 'difficult' but after a period of continuous listening on the car stereo really got into the rest and they are all now favourites.

To really appreciate the enthusiasm and passion this orchestra has to be seen live - it is an unforgettable experience and thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique disc and a unique band of musicians, 10 Jan 2013
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fiesta (Audio CD)
This live concert showcases the considerable skill and enthusiasm of this remarkable youth orchestra in a program that finds them very much in home territory.

The program, with the exception of the encored Bernstein 'Mamba' is all original Latin American and is obviously completely natural to these players. The orchestra is a very large one so the textures we hear are not the same as those one would hear even with a fully professional orchestra. This is of no concern in this concert as atmosphere counts for more than worrying about such niceties as size of orchestra and the inevitable sonic consequences. It is doubtful if this very festive concert could be reproduced by any other ensemble with this level of sustained excitement.

The final 'Mambo' seals the concert as it often does with this group, having become something of a party piece. Fortunately the recording does the occasion full justice.

Comparisons are pointless in this case. For anyone interested in the program, or indeed the players, I would suggest that this disc must warrant very serious consideration indeed. It is truly a unique experience.

Further considerations for purchase:
There are two outstanding Euroarts DVDs which I would suggest would appeal to anyone interested in the Fiesta disc as above. They are:
1 Gran Fanfare played by the Venezuelan Brass Ensemble - equally exhilarating
2 Sao Paula 'Samba' - the 2008 New Year's Eve concert, Brazilian style!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiesta!, 29 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow what incredible musicianship from these young people. If only I had had the opportunity to play an instrument when I was that age. Inspirational!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last ! an Orchestra with Life and Enjoyment, 28 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fiesta (Audio CD)
Wow! Mi how these youngsters can play, No stiff and sniffy playing here. Just feeling the music. and I'm crying with joy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Feast of Sound, 3 Sep 2009
By 
N. J. Crisp "Mollys mum" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fiesta (Audio CD)
This orchestra of young musicians has recorded some pieces of mainly little-known South American music with verve and enthusiasm. Under the marvellous conducting of Gustavo Dudamel, they produce a sound that is bold yet mature. Probably the most familiar of the pieces on this recording is the dance from Bernstein's "West Side Story", making a wonderful finale on the CD. If you enjoy youth and modern classical music combined, this is the one for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fiesta
Fiesta by Gustavo Dudamel (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews