Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitler's Bodyguard
As the passing of time fades the passions, and ever more previously secret documentation comes to light; the genuine reality of 20'th Century historical events become clearer. That process is obviously now at work with the sometimes awesome events of World War Two, as the sheer detail revealed by this highly informative and largely impartial series shows. Compiled largely...
Published on 15 April 2010 by C. W. Bradbury

versus
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good series, but not without flaws
I learned a lot about Hitler, his bodyguard and some of his henchmen despite the fact that I've read a few books and seen a few other documentaries about the Nazi era. I also agree with one reviewer who enthused about the images in the series. Like another reviewer, however, I feel that there is a bit too much duplication of content and I became a bit bored towards the...
Published on 8 Sep 2009 by the Knight


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good series, but not without flaws, 8 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitler's Bodyguard [DVD] (DVD)
I learned a lot about Hitler, his bodyguard and some of his henchmen despite the fact that I've read a few books and seen a few other documentaries about the Nazi era. I also agree with one reviewer who enthused about the images in the series. Like another reviewer, however, I feel that there is a bit too much duplication of content and I became a bit bored towards the end of the series because of this. Also, I found it a bit irritating that the narrator constantly tells the viewer that Hitler was a bad guy. Surely, for most mature viewers who are interested in the topic, it is a given that Hitler was a bad guy and so it is surely unnecessary to keep making that so explicit by referring to him as 'evil genius', etc. Another slight gripe: I found the narrator's voice impersonations of Hitler and some other Nazis to be a bit comical. One surely does not watch such a program for light relief. Finally, although I agree that in order to put the viewer fully in the picture it was necessary to refer to events during the Nazi period that were not directly related to the topic of the series, i.e. Hitler's bodyguard, I felt that some of the episodes went a little too much off topic. It was as if the makers of the series wanted to pad it out in order to fulfill a quota of viewing hours. Still, on the whole, as someone interested in the Nazis and the Second World War, I think that buying this DVD was ten quid well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hitler's Bodyguard: A good series let down by significant duplication of content., 17 July 2009
By 
P. Mead (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitler's Bodyguard [DVD] (DVD)
Hitler's Bodyguard [DVD]

A useful documentary series, but with significant duplication of content between the 13 episodes. As with most TV series there is a standard introduction to each episode, and each episode is designed to be meaningful if that would be the only episode you were able to watch. Each episode deals with a separate aspect of the threats to Hitler's life during the rise and fall of the Nazi party in Germany, and the challenges faced by his bodyguard to defeat them. The episodes do not follow in chronological order. A significant amount of material is relevant to more than one subject, hence the duplication between episodes. This can become tedious if viewing several episodes together. As with any historical documentary what you get out of it depends on how much you know before you start. It is best used together with other source material. On balance this series earns its place on the shelf of source material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitler's Bodyguard, 15 April 2010
By 
C. W. Bradbury (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitler's Bodyguard [DVD] (DVD)
As the passing of time fades the passions, and ever more previously secret documentation comes to light; the genuine reality of 20'th Century historical events become clearer. That process is obviously now at work with the sometimes awesome events of World War Two, as the sheer detail revealed by this highly informative and largely impartial series shows. Compiled largely from recently uncovered official SS/Nazi records by the same Nugus/Martin team that gave us 'Churchill's Bodyguard', I found this series by far the more interesting of the two. Detective Thompson of Scotland Yard had his problems protecting Churchill, but they were as nothing compared to the task facing Adolf Hitler's black uniformed SS 'Begleit Commando' guards, who really did have to earn their wages!

The slaughters of WWI and the fatally flawed Treaty of Versailles had achieved nothing except to destablise Europe; which was left riven by deep and enduring class, racial and ideological hatreds. During this chronically unstable era Communist, Capitalist and Nazi ideologues more reminisent of Al Capone style gangsters than political leaders, fought each other, at first on the streets, then in the halls of power and finally on the battlefields of WWII; each faction determined to ensure their vision of the future became our reality. Germany was the pivot of this titanic struggle, with Bolshevik/Marxists attempting to gain control of her industrial power and then use it to ferment worldwide revolution; and with Hitler's Nazi's attempting to prevent or hijack that revolution.

This 10 hour, 4 disc documentary series explains this momentous time from the viewpoint of men like Bruno Gesche, Ulric Graf and Julius Schreck as devotedly loyal and ruthlessly tough, these 'Killer Angels' protected their Fuhrer from more than forty assassination attempts, in the twenty years during which he strode the world stage. The sheer detail on previously obsure events such as the 'Beerhall Putche' and 'the Night of the Long Knives' is amazing; and having watched this series I can now clearly understand why Hitler mistrusted his Generals. They tried to kill him more often than either the Jews, the British or the Communists did!

I was also impressed with the sections detailing the security features designed into Hitler's cars, train and aircraft. The series is made in thirteen episodes listed below:-

1. How Hitler's Bodyguard Worked.
2. Early Attempts On Hitler's Life.
3. Kill The New Chancellor!
4. Night Of The Long Knives.
5. Jewish And Emigre Attempts To Kill Hitler.
6. Kill Hitler Before War Starts.
7. Bombs and Paranoia.
8. Dangerous Car Journeys.
9. Flights into Danger.
10.Hitler's Dangerous Train Journeys.
11.Attempts To Kill Hitler A The Wolf's Lair.
12.Nearly Assassinated At The Berghof.
13.Poison Gas Plot In The Bunker.

To conclude, this is a highly detailed, top quality and entertaining series. I recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone with an interest in the events/personalities of the inter-war years and/or World War Two, and expect it to become a classic on it's subject. Hitler's Bodyguard [DVD].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A War That Could Have Been Prevented, 8 May 2011
This review is from: Hitler's Bodyguard [DVD] (DVD)
Hitler's Bodyguard, is a fascinating DVD ( I am still watching it ) from the makers of Churchill's Bodyguard, and equally as griping. According to the producers of the documentary they had access to unseen files and as such make some astounding claims. One of which was that before WW11 had started, Hitler's generals were not happy with his plans to go to war and that his actions would bring misery to many and be the ruin of Germany. So a number of the top generals hatch a plot and they make it know that they want help from the Allies that they wish to overthrow and kill Hitler. France supports the idea but Britain is not. According to the makers of the documentary, then Prime Minister ,Neville Chamberlin wanted peace and he also believed in negotiations. It is alleged that Chamberlin before meeting Hitler forewarned Hitler of the attempted assassination in order that he, Chamberlin could have a bargaining tool and give himself leverage..but also to show that he was skilled in the art of diplomacy. They stress though there is no concrete proof Chamberlin did this...However, if he did then our perception of the former Prime Minister would be radically altered. There are a number of instances before the war had started where opportunities arose to remove Hitler from power and others of high rank..on another occasion, a British operative was told no he could not go ahead as it "Would not be sporting "
Had they achieved this or the Generals gone ahead with their assassination, then it is conceivable that WW!! could have been prevented , and more to the point the misery and suffering of millions could have been avoided, not to mention the horrendous crimes that were committed. Obviously it did happen, but I find it fascinating to know what was going on on both sides, and what lessons we can learn from the past.
My only criticism of this documentary is that part of it is dramatisation and the actors use English but with a German accent..and it sounds terrible..especially Hitler, for a modern production would expect better hence the 4.
Over all this is a brilliant documentary and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hitlers Bodyguard, 28 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitler's Bodyguard [DVD] (DVD)
A very good DVD series from the makers of Churchill's Bodyguard.
I found this series better as the production team had improved on their previous endeavours with Churchill's Bodyguard. This series is less narrative heavy and features interviews (or recordings of) people who were close to Hitler at the times of the events described in the episodes.
I prefer this series to Churchill's Bodyguard, but this is perhaps because I currently live not very far from some of the locations where the events described in the series took place.
Thoroughly recommendable for anyone interested in Hitler's rise to power, how the nazi regime and it's "apparatus" establisched itself as well as the socio-economic and political situation in Germany during the 30's and 40's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent documentary about hitler, 10 Dec 2011
By 
C. Nielsen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitler's Bodyguard [DVD] (DVD)
This documentary focuses on the security apparatus which surrounded the Führer. It shows everything fro the earliest days in the beer halls to the last days of the war. It gives an excellent account of both the organisation of the security apparatus as well as the numerous attempts which were made on hitlers life from the early days to the end of the war. The graphical presentations are excellent and the series is well written and presented. The only bad point is that events are not presented in chronological order, which is a bit irritating. It would have been a nice thing to have a book about the subject available, but this series is in itself an excellent piece and well worth the money. Do not miss this series if you are interested in WW2 and Hitler
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!!!, 18 Jun 2009
By 
Edwin James Crane (New City, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitler's Bodyguard [DVD] (DVD)
Outstanding!!! This Series is the definitive study of Hitler &
his Bodyguards. I never knew just how difficult it was to keep
"The Most Hated Man Of All Time" alive and well. Unfortunately,
Hitler's Bodyguards did too good a job, and it resulted in a
World War! The footage I have never seen before, and I have
"The World At War" and the entire collection of German Newsreels!
Rather than wait until this Series was released here in America,
I ordered it from Amazon.co.uk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Critical eye, 19 May 2010
This review is from: Hitler's Bodyguard [DVD] (DVD)
This documentary was featured recently on Australian television and, having missed it, decided to purchase the series at a very reasonable cost.
Firstly the visuals and historical footage in the series are the highlight of the purchase. They also manage to interview some survivors from the various era's portrayed in the footage, which add interesting comment to what is being shown on the screen; those are the positives.
Unfortunately with the positives come the negatives and they are the downfall of this series in my mind. Most of the commentary is repetative and, to put it bluntly, absolute emotive drivel. For instance, the intro states "Hitler was indirectly responsible for the death of 60 million in the second world war" What? Does that includes the deaths in the Pacific, or the poles murdered by the NKVD at Katyn, or maybe the thousands incinerated at Dresden? In addition, some of the footage is out of time with the events being described, and the events described are absolutely incorrect historically, both in time and event.
If you have an interest in the historical era or subject portrayed buy it for the visuals but leave the history lesson to reading some of the better biographies of Adolf Hitler, you will learn more than shown in this doco.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a superb documentary, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitler's Bodyguard [DVD] (DVD)
this man had thousands of bodyguards he always felt threatened by inside and and outside forces within his own organization a complete and thouroughly interesting series recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hitlers bodyguard, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitler's Bodyguard [DVD] (DVD)
id been watching the programes on yesterday and had seen this dvd advertisded with other dvds for a significantly more ammount of money so was pleased when i saw this at a price i could afford
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitler's Bodyguard [DVD]
7.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews