Customer Reviews


256 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hugh Jackman was born to play Wolverine and this a great spin-off to the X-Men saga.
This X-Men film is set before the first three X-Men films and tells us the story of Wolverine and his twisted brother Sabretooth. The action comes thick and fast with a clever plot for a comic based movie. Deadpool makes a great villian and his final battle with Wolverine is super cool. One of my favourite X-Men heroes Gambit is introduced to us at long last, it only...
Published on 7 Jan. 2010 by Dragonlord

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Wolverine: the exposition years
With the x men films having rather come to a halt after last stand, and with the practicalities of reuniting a starry and increasingly expensive cast for more of them proving prohibitive, what better way to relaunch the franchise than with solo movies instead?

Naturally enough the first of them focuses on wolverine, the most popular character. Hugh Jackman...
Published on 9 Nov. 2009 by Paul Tapner


‹ Previous | 117 18 1926 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
brought for present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best yet by far!, 15 Jun. 2010
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
I'm going to go against the grain here and say that this is easily the best yet of the X-Men films. Why? It works exceedingly well on all counts; the acting is spot-on, the dialogue is natural, the sets are believable, the storyline is good and the directing is magnificent. As a film in its own right it easily outshines the majority of the trash that Hollywood are dumping on us nowadays.

Fun, exciting and enjoyable, even to those who are not usually inclined to comic-book movies.

Very highly recommended.

PS.- I have all four (thus far) films and enjoy watching them back-to-back, this is easily the best of the bunch.

:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best wolverine/ x-men movie, 21 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great movie. Blu-ray has astonishing visuals and sound compared to DVD. This film is clearly aimed at teens and adults who like a pop-corn movie. It ticks all the boxes and is the best X-men movie in my opinion. Some of the acting is a bit too staged and to be honest not as good as the other films, but the whole package seems to work better. Not the same feel as the other movies, there is less of a general overwhelming threat throughout the film and this allows some plot lines to gain more depth. I enjoyed this film a lot and did not expect to. Recommended highly if you like this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
item as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Whoops somebody dropped the ball on this one, 21 Jun. 2011
I'll start by saying wolverine is one of my favourite comic book characters he is full of mystery and danger so it's a bit strange then that they decided to make an origins film first before visiting some of the great wolverine storylines.

The film starts well enough a cool period opening and great title montage scene, at the end of that though my advice would be to stop the blu-ray, you have all ready seen the best of this movie it's down hill from here and it's a steep hill.

The first major mistake is the same mistake that X-men the last stand made, overcrowding to many mutants introduced who have no real payoff or consequence.

the title says wolverine origins and it should have been a wolverine solo story with no x-men characters shoehorned in to sell toys.

now in the x-men movies he is part of a team so we dont need that much violence in those films to be convincing as the x-men would not stand for wolvie maming people, however this is wolverines movie and his weapon is six razor sharp claws but wait this movie is a 12 so all logic goes out the window and wolverine dosnt really use his claws except on mutants who can heal which means no consequence so instead the show him cutting doors, cutting ladders, ripping bed sheets, piercing boxing gloves and finally cuts a bathroom sink in half, it's lame.

Now i'm not saying i need violence for violence sake but hes a violent character.

anyway this movie has now been retconned out of the x-men film series along with last stand due to the much superior prequel X-MEN first class so avoid this movie.

picture looks good, sounds good, extras are lackluster and the movie is terrible, AVOID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Oct. 2014
By 
L. HOLMAN "AMAZON QUEEN" (ASHTON ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
love x-men films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's going on with these other reviews?, 14 July 2009
to be honest, what's wrong with a bit of wolverine kicking butt. these other reviews make it out to be an awful movie, its got a good cast, and the cgi is very good (dont belive what c. mackellen says). if you want a good comic book action movie, then you cant go wrong with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wolverine; Origins!, 25 Jun. 2010
By 
Je Salter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
Although I thought this was worth watching, I was expecting so much more. The story could have been better for example, where did Wolverine and his brother get their pointy claws etc. The film should have shown how this came about.

The special effects weren't brilliant, you could see they were effects and weren't polished. This film could have re-vitalised the X-Men genre but it failed, therefore it gets a lowly three stars from me I'm afraid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, but a good action movie regardless of plot holes., 11 July 2009
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
Hugh Jackman is excellent as wolverine and Liev Schreiber is fantastic as Sabretooth, in fact they are the two best things about the movie. Gambit is well done but hardly features as is Ryan Reynolds Deadpool. The overall story is fine but it is the final act where it all falls apart, well it does if you are a fan of the comics any way.
There are some very weak effects too, usual bad cgi claws and the like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mega, 11 May 2009
By 
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
this film was awesome amazing action i loved every minute of it and hugh jackman is the only guy to play wolverine.people read into things too much with the past and comics and stuff just watch the movie for what it is and if u have seen the xmen trilogy then wolverine explains the events tht went on in those 3 films and the background of his character is fully explained too. cant wait for the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 117 18 1926 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Men Origins: Wolverine [DVD] (2009)
X-Men Origins: Wolverine [DVD] (2009) by Gavin Hood (DVD - 2009)
£3.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews