Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice antivirus, but hold the spam, 23 Jun 2009
By 
Bernardette Lugner (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AVG 8.5 Internet Security 3 user 2 years 8.5 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
AVG is the company whose free antivirus product is well-liked. In this paid-for version, you get - in addition to antivirus, anti-spyware and internet link scanning - antispam, rootkit detection, a firewall, and technical support by email and phone. With so many capable competitors, would this be good enough? Before you can install AVG, you have to get online and request a licence number which is emailed to you. After that, installation is straightforward.

The antivirus and antispyware components are just like the free ones, protecting and updating automatically and without bothering you at all. I am very happy with these. Scheduled virus scans of the whole PC produced a minor, noticeable slowdown, so I would time these for periods when you will not be working. Rootkit detection (looking for disguised malware) is a separate job which you have to run manually whenever you feel like it. Weekly? Annually? I have no idea. After a somewhat obscure setup process and asking for a few permissions to connect, the firewall has gone on working quietly, replacing the Windows firewall.

Most of us rarely encounter viruses, but we get hit by spam every day. Alas, antispam is the part of AVG Internet Security that most needs improving. It merely scans your email and marks the spam. It does not link with your email program unless you use Microsoft Outlook. As a user of Vista's Windows Mail, I had to set up my own junk mail folder, and set up my own message rule to direct marked spam to it. You have to do the same if you use Outlook Express. AVG antispam also fails to create blacklists and whitelists for email senders. You must do this by hand. I cannot see any way of marking emails as "spam" or "not spam" so the blacklist and whitelist will soon get out of date.

An email request for technical help (my Windows Security Centre falsely reported that AVG was switched off) got me a response in half an hour, which is good. AVG marked its own staff's response as spam, and the fix it contained did not work. A few minutes googling found a fix that did. The user manual on the AVG CD is very clear and helpful in explaining what the product does, but the printed User Guide is a disgrace. It is hard to read, being printed in pale grey on white and partly in white on pale grey, and the language talks down to us ("you'll know your product's working in the background keeping you safe").

So here is a competent security product which loses a star because the antispam component is so disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIGHT, FAST, SECURE - AND OLD SCHOOL HONEST, 31 Oct 2009
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVG 8.5 Internet Security 3 user 2 years 8.5 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
I am using AVG INTERNET SECURITY 9.0 for over a month now. But I never bought it. What I did buy was an older AVG security suite (v7.5), 2 years ago. Nevertheless, whenever a later version becomes available, the suite updates itself to the latest version -- FREE! It happened at least three times over these past years, with versions 8.0, 8.5 and recently 9.
You have to respect a company that does this! With AVG a 2 year license means you shall have the latest security suite for 2 years (and not just new database definitions). Can you imagine buying McAfee or Norton 2009 in October and in March been offered their later release, free?

As a security suite, AVG is light and reliable. It does not tax my system resources either idle or actively scanning, and one can trade speed for resources with a scalable slider. The interface is user friendly and intuitive. The default settings will protect the initiate user from confusing alerts and warnings. On the other hand, the experienced user can dive in and configure the suite to suit him best.

The only thing I did not like with v9.0 are the icons in the main interface, which I found bland and boring. But appearances are a very minor thing when it comes to security suites.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Strars, Not enough, 24 Dec 2009
By 
Bazpal - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVG 8.5 Internet Security 3 user 2 years 8.5 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
This is an excellent product well worth the money, which isn't a lot.
I can recommend this, five stars from me, But five stars are not enough, this is a ten star product.
You can keep, Norton, McAfee, & all the rest, AVG is by far the best.
Easy to install, easy to setup, once everything is up & running, just relax, as AVG will take good care of your computer without nagging you all the time.
This is version 8.5, But once you have it installed AVG will upgrade you to the new version which is 9.
You must uninstall any other security you have running first before you put AVG into your computer, Norton, & McAfee have a tool for this which you can download from thier websites.
Well woth the money, buy it, & you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good product, good price., 27 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVG 8.5 Internet Security 3 user 2 years 8.5 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Recieved intact, though not in the box shown in the item listing, it was a small A5 envelope, with a disk inside, and instructions as to how to install it. But for the price, and for what you get, its absolutely brilliant. You get fully professional AVG, fully updated and supported, for 2 years, and it can be installed on 3 machines.

Does what it says on the tin(almost). Fast delivery, and cheap product. Happy to recommend this product to those that want to move on from AVG free, and get something more comprehensive, without forking out 60 euros a year for a licence for only one machine. The built in AVG firewall can be slightly problematic, but all in all, its a good product, and stresses your system alot less than anything that McAfee, Norton, or Kasperski can offer you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great value, 8 Nov 2009
By 
F. I. Dyson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AVG 8.5 Internet Security 3 user 2 years 8.5 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Great value for money, works a treat on laptops and computers alike. Superb technical support team, a must have for all internet users!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 16 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVG 8.5 Internet Security 3 user 2 years 8.5 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
After having used lots of different types of security software, I find AVG the best by miles. It is low on system resources so good for netbooks, as well as laptops and desktops, whilst protecting me from threats. I'm very happy and will be sticking with AVG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Internet Security, 6 Mar 2010
By 
Tootsone (Southport UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVG 8.5 Internet Security 3 user 2 years 8.5 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Excellent delivery from supplier, with clear instructions for installation. The only reason I have not given it 5 stars is that it arrived in cardboard sleeve, but I would have preferred CD to have been boxed to enable extra protection when "filed" away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first class service and backup, 4 July 2009
By 
Mr. B. Downey "71 year old wrinkley" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AVG 8.5 Internet Security 3 user 2 years 8.5 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
I had a problem with my AVG security software to start with but thanks to brilliant after service from Amazon and Fuzion also help from AVG all is running as it should do, the product I purchased is first class I would not hesitate to reccomend and use these companies again.
Regards and thanks to all involved on my behalf.
B R Downey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AVG 8.5 Internet Security, 17 Aug 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (north yorkshire, uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: AVG 8.5 Internet Security 3 user 2 years 8.5 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
AVG seems to be a massive improvement on the woeful McAfee software that I had. It is far less intrusive and doesnt have endless pop ups every 5 mins, it just seems to get on with the job. It loaded first time no problems and was a simple straightforward operation (as it should be)
The only drawback has been that even after using the activation code supplied with the CD to register it, I get a reminder telling me that cover will expire in ??days, even though I've had the conformation from AVG saying the product is registered and fully installed.
Just a wait now to see if the software stops working when the days count down............ Apart from that seems very good, simple and unobtrusive to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AVG 8.5 Security Package, 15 July 2009
This review is from: AVG 8.5 Internet Security 3 user 2 years 8.5 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Generally very pleased. The software was easy to install, and appears to be very comprehensive in its protection. Be aware that a small PC (256Mb RAM) will need more memory. Initially I got a lot of notifications of blocked internet requests, which just shows how much software packages attempt to download updates without the user knowing. These alarms can be turned off when you get to trust the application.
The only downside is an annoying ongoing battle over browsers - AVG is determined to replace my browser with Yahoo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AVG 8.5 Internet Security 3 user 2 years 8.5 (PC CD)
AVG 8.5 Internet Security 3 user 2 years 8.5 (PC CD) by AVG Technologies Ltd. (Windows 2000 / Vista / XP)
£54.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews