Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical indeed.
The films need no introduction. Promotion in this case goes to these excellent DVDs.
Though not all are remastered and with the exception of GIGI, SEVEN BRIDES and AMERICAN IN PARIS, they look stunning. The three specifics are definitely good looking, slightly less pristine with some occasional speckling, very viewable nonetheless. That's very viewable!
And...
Published on 16 Jun 2011 by Sofia L

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cinemascope
The collection was spoilt by one item (Seven Brides for Seven Brothers) being in Cinemascope which would not display on my TV except as a narrow horizontal band.
Published 10 months ago by Ian Hall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical indeed., 16 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magical Musicals Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The films need no introduction. Promotion in this case goes to these excellent DVDs.
Though not all are remastered and with the exception of GIGI, SEVEN BRIDES and AMERICAN IN PARIS, they look stunning. The three specifics are definitely good looking, slightly less pristine with some occasional speckling, very viewable nonetheless. That's very viewable!
And there are extras: a commentary, interviews, newsreels, cartoons, trailers, making ofs, behind the scenes, outtakes, and a vintage short.
Hats off to Warner Video. For the price, it's a no-brainer. Buy with confidence.
p.s. Okay, so Blu-ray it ain't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More complete restorations, please!, 17 July 2010
By 
P. Barnes (Malta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magical Musicals Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Some of the films in this bargain set are fully restored; including overtures, intermission music and play out. Some, sadly, are the general release version with considerable editing and no intermission. Restored, full wide-screen, versions of these wonderful musicals offer us the first opportunity to see them in their original form since the West-End or Los Angeles showing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Musicals Collection [DVD], 25 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magical Musicals Collection [DVD] (DVD)
[ASIN:B002L7O7U4 Magical Musicals Collection - (Annie Get Your Gun / Seven Brides For Seven Brothers / Singin In The Rain / Gigi / Wizard of Oz / Calamity Jane / High Society / Meet Me In St Louis / American In Paris) [DVD]]
I regard this boxed set of 9 musicals to be of excellent value for money. To date my wife and I have enjoyed three of these, which have evoked memories of the times we first viewed them on the 'silver screen'. We look forward to being entertained by the others shortly. The quality of the DVDs themselves is very good and well presented with additional useful information given on some of these discs.

Brian Sharp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical boxset, 25 Mar 2009
By 
Peter Bonte (Bruges, Belgium) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Magical Musicals Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The films themselves need no introduction, 9 of Warners best known musicals bundled in a nice affordable boxset. 9 DVD's each in a slim case, nice and simple.

Annie get your gun is pure English but the other 8 movies have English, French, Dutch, Arabic and Italian subtitles. Only the features have the subtitles, not the extra's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Collection of Musicals, 9 Sep 2010
By 
D. McAllister (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magical Musicals Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my mother's 70th. Turned her into a little girl again.

A good collection of musicals from this era, and genuinely entertaining movies . There are some extra's on each dvd too. So all in all good value for this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truly Magical!, 5 Feb 2010
To use the cliche these really do 'what it says on the box'. Feel good films in glorious colour and sounding great. It is hard not to sing along with so many of the tunes and I defy anyone not to feel happier after watching them. Perfect for a nostalgic evening, preferably with a glass of wine within reach and, if possible, someone to share the mood with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best Box-set that you'll ever buy!!, 8 April 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Nine Classic Musicals that were much more than that - they are classic films, too! Where else can you get, for around two pounds each (current movie rental, for those who've lost touch in this department, is DOUBLE that - and then you have to give the DVD back!) names that everybody knows, such as The Wizard Of Oz, Singing In the Rain, High Society and Calamity Jane?

Even the possible lesser knowns - Gigi, An American In Paris, Annie Get Your Gun, Meet Me In St Louis and Seven Brides For Seven Brothers were cinematic heavyweights in their day and all are still shown on TV regularly. They're often cut up by ad-breaks, cutting off at the worst times and often shown in the wrong format.

Where else can buy a staggering TWENTY Oscars in one box? All that talent, the creme de la creme of Hollywood?

Don't be put off by those who moan that these might not all be the latest restorations - all the ones I've seen so far look gorgeous and far beyond what we saw on telly as kids - they're now in stereo and widescreen (where the originals were).

The discs come three to a case, flip-style and the three cases slip into the outer box, which is nicely made and presented. The back of the box has a little icon for each film and a short intro. The reverse of each case tells you what ratio the film was in and what extras there are. All this value means that it seems that you get hard-of-hearing English subtitles and that's about it.

So, if you've got a couple already, stored in a cupboard on worn out video, or want to show The Wizard Of Oz to the grandkids and it's not yet Christmas, then you know what to do. Also, its cost and size make this stunning collection a lovely gift to someone special - like yourself, perhaps?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money, 20 Feb 2011
This review is from: Magical Musicals Collection [DVD] (DVD)
So much entertainment in so little space, all of the great musicals to enjoy without the useless packaging - brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic collection, 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: Magical Musicals Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered this musical compilation, having seen most of the films. However having now watched ALL of them I am absolutely thrilled with each and every one of them. Whoever decided to put this little lot together did a fantastic job. Every film has a great storyline behind it, something that is often either missing or predictable in today's movie market. What a thoroughly enjoyable watch these are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really magical, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: Magical Musicals Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This nostalgic collection really appealed to our 10 year old granddaughter (as well as her grandparents). Maybe it's the timeless quality of the music, dancing and acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magical Musicals Collection [DVD]
Magical Musicals Collection [DVD] by King Vidor (DVD - 2006)
59.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews