Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We are all Africans under the skin"
In this excellent BBC TV series Alice Roberts follows in the footsteps of our ancestors, who left Africa and ended up populating the whole world. The TV series is very enjoyable, and there is also an accompanying book which goes into much more detail on the scientific debates. I recommend both the DVD and the book. I first wrote this review in relation to book, but it...
Published on 3 May 2010 by P. Webster

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, well done, but out of date on some parts
This is a well done production, but I was mindful that recent genetic findings contradict some parts. The Out of Africa view appears predominantly correct, but has been recently modified by evidence of interbreeding with archaic populations.

In May 2010 there was a paper showing that humans of European and Asian descent have between 1 and 4 per cent of our...
Published on 12 Jan. 2011 by Viewer


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars How did we get here?, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incredible Human Journey [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this series some time ago but only found the book recently. Am now ordering the DVD at cut price from Amazon. This is up-to-date, scholarly and amazingly readable. How I wish I had had it to hand when teaching A Level Human Biology. Teenagers find human pre-history fascinating, but are put off by too much bone detail. This book keeps the excitement coming. Nothing about apes, just every type of human there has ever been found evidence of. Should be required reading for every sixthformer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not all correct (probably!) - but a worthwhile watch., 24 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incredible Human Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Five programmes on two DVDs.
Alice engages the viewer and the people she meets and the series is interesting. It make you realise just how... fortunate.. it is that we are all here.
Science moves so fast these days that it is difficult to say how many of her conjectures are correct. For instance, I read recently that we have a small percentage of Neanderthal DNA within us, something that Alice said was not likely.
It is still in my opinion, a worthwhile purchase and watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining documentry, 19 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incredible Human Journey [DVD] (DVD)
I found this series to be more entertaining than many documentaries, and bought the DVDs after seeing it on TV. The locations and filming are great, and for me bring the story to life. It is well presented by Dr. Alice Roberts who is very knowledgeable in her own right, but also able to deal with other peoples opinions in a sensitive way.

As I did feel that there was quite a lot of space taken by title sequences and reviewing previous information, I have only given four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent presentation of the spread of 'modern' humans out of Africa., 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incredible Human Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Very clear and seemingly unrefutable argument for the spread of modern humans out of Africa.
The use of changing climate factors and the effects on humans and their journeying gave a very good explanation of the incredible journey. Incorporating up to date gene research makes the story even more convincing.
A very good presenter with clear diction, and not overridden with music.
Should be comprehensible from teenagers and upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the incredible human journey, 2 Nov. 2012
This review is from: The Incredible Human Journey [DVD] (DVD)
great series regarding human evolution, and presented excellently by alice roberts
anyone who is remotely interested in questions like who are we, where do we come from
how have we evolved in to the species that we are today namely HOMO SAPIENS (the 5th ape)
should really buy this dvd. this kind of scientific knowledge should be made compulsory
to be taught in schools for all ages. pcc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The incredible human journey!, 24 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incredible Human Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Aptly named and very watchable presented by the intelligent, likeable Alice Roberts, who gives us a fascinating insight into the current thinking and evidence charting the spread of humanity across the globe. Well worth watching by those who want a real world understanding of what any of us are doing here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great, informative documentary, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incredible Human Journey [DVD] (DVD)
I took this home for my parents and we watched bits of it on a family holiday. Everyone enjoyed it thoroughly and even the day after my mother was expressing surprise over how much we didn't know about the 'human journey'
Hats off to the research involved in putting these documentaries together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Incredible Human Journey (DVD)
A fascinating documentary looking at the evidence we have today, to try to find out how we expanded out of Africa to cover the world today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating., 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incredible Human Journey [DVD] (DVD)
A very clearly explained and entertaining way to find out more about why we are what we are. Dr. Alice Roberts is as ever, very clear in her explanations and opinions making her programmes interesting and informative without being dry or patronising. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Incredible Human Journey DVD., 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incredible Human Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Delivered on time and in perfect condition. Alice Roberts happens to be another of the masters in so far as presenting complex and interesting matters in a simple series of documentaries which can appeal to wider audiences precisely for their amenity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Incredible Human Journey [DVD]
The Incredible Human Journey [DVD] by Alice Roberts (DVD - 2009)
£6.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews