Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woodstock 1969 Revisited and Extended
I don't think anyone can expect a film made over 40 years ago to have the same picture and sound quality as one made in recent years however the 4 hour directors film is much better than the standard DVD version was. To me, this is more about the content than the picture quality and the real benefits of buying the Ultimate Collectors Edition is the film content and extras...
Published on 13 Jun. 2009 by endlessharmony

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What's with the sound quality?
I decided to purchase the Blu Ray version of Woodstock after buying "Jimmi Hendrix Live at Woodstock " and being blown away by the quality of the sound on the Hendrix disk. However the quality of the sound on the Woodstock disks is very poor, muted and muddy. I wonder why that is seeing as they are sourced from the same material.
Published on 9 Jan. 2010 by Mr. M. Murphy


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woodstock 1969 Revisited and Extended, 13 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't think anyone can expect a film made over 40 years ago to have the same picture and sound quality as one made in recent years however the 4 hour directors film is much better than the standard DVD version was. To me, this is more about the content than the picture quality and the real benefits of buying the Ultimate Collectors Edition is the film content and extras that include:

The 'Woodstock: Untold Stories' feature which includes all of the never before seen performances:

Joan Baez - One Day At A Time
Country Joe McDonald - Flying High
Santana - Evil Ways
Canned Heat - I'm Her Man
Canned Heat - On The Road Again
Mountain - Beside The Sea
Mountain - Southbound Train
Grateful Dead - Turn On Your Love Light
Creedence Clearwater Revival - Born On The bayou
Creedence Clearwater Revival - I Put A Spell on You
Creedence Clearwater Revival - Keep On Choogling
The Who - We're Not Gonna take It
The Who - My Generation
Jefferson Airplane - 3/5 of a Mile in 10 Seconds
Joe Cocker - Something's Coming On
Johnny Winter - Mean Time Blues
Paul Butterield - Morning Sunrise
Sha Na Na - Teen Angel
Canned Heat - Woodstock Boogie
The Who - Sparks
Jimi Hendrix - Spanish Castle Magic

These performances have variable video quality and are in 4:3 format but are great additions to what's already been formally released. The Grateful Dead's 'Turn On Your Love Light' is one of those that the picture quality isn't brilliant but its 36 minutes long and a great performance.

There are several other bonus extras that include:

Woodstock from Festival To Feature
Reflections Of An Era
A Farm In Bethel
Cinematic Revolution
Woodstock Generation
.... and more

The new bonus material is more than 3 hours long and makes this a great value for money set.

You have to make your mind up as to whether the Blu-Ray quality is stunning enough for such old footage but I'm giving this a 5 star review having seen the film and all of the extensive footage which is greater than 7 hours overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, Good extras., 19 Sept. 2009
By 
Ms. Karen Hall (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodstock [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
A must have for any Woodstock fan. This is worth getting just for the extras and to have the full extended version. If you already have the directors cut and are not too bothered about extra features then it's not essential to have this. If you've never seen the film but are a fan of the era or the music from that era it's great to watch and well worth buying. It really gives you a sense of being there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The REAL Ultimate Woostock Version!!, 6 July 2009
By 
Greg (Verona, WI USA) - See all my reviews
I am from the States and picked this up because I assumed that it had the stateside 'Target Store' extras. As it turns out all 6 exclusive songs and all 7 featurettes from Amazon.com AND Target are included. As far as I know this is the only place to pick up a version with all these extras. A great version of this blu-ray!!! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classics at a fantastic venue, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodstock [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I love this DVD for it's really excellent value for money and because there is so much content (4 separate DVDs in total). The first couple of discs have the main editor's cut of the filming of the event. Starting from the crew setting up the venue (building the stage, lighting rigs etc.) in the rolling green countryside, then watching as thousands of people turn up for the event (with all the associated problems) and finally the scene after it's all over and the acres of litter and mud. Interspersed throughout the film you get to see some of the acts from the likes of Richie Havens, The Who, Crosby Stills and Nash and the awesome Jimi Hendrix. You get a glimpse also of how the event affected the local residents of Bethel Woods. You really feel the atmosphere and what it would have been like to have been there, including the moment when there is a huge rainstorm and people get soaked and some of them have fun making a mud-slide. In many places the screen splits into 2 or 3 individual shots, so you get even more content! There is also a short film about the museum that has been set up in recent years.
The second couple of DVDs have individual acts that you can listen to in any order, accessed through a number of screens with individual links. Some of the acts are a bit long-winded and a little unrehearsed, but on the whole there are some cracking performances.
My only wish was that I could have been there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So grateful that this has been released..., 8 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. B. White "geordieno1" (walker, Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So far I've only watched one performance and that's the mesmerising 37+ minute 'Turn On Your Love Light' by the Grateful Dead.
Okay, I'm a fan so slightly biased, but that performance along is enough for me to warrant this a 5 star rating.
Just another 6+ hours of sheer delight to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven on 4 discs, 27 July 2011
Just fantastic. The original movie had a profound effect on my life when i saw it on its first release in 1970 in Leicester Square, London... the audience sang along and I was hooked. It's a film to which i've returned time after time, being the essence of my hippie generation at its peak.

What this 4 disc DVD collection does (along with Woodstock Diaries) is give us glimpses of some of the sets the original movie missed, and it's fascinating stuff. Here'smy points to watch out for:

1) We get to see the Grateful Dead (who spent years not allowing their performance to be publically released) performing "Lovelight" and you can see why it was never part of the movie. Pigpen, their earthy singer before he died in 1973 and on-off lover of Janis Joplin, could not really command the crowd, and his usual facility with words fails him here ...he's reduced to repeating "now wait a minute" way too many times. Babbs, a Prankster,stumbles on stage to provide a stoned and pointless monologue, and Garcia looks discomforted, with Lesh virtually out of camera shot. The song rises eventually to a fiery climax, but its an opportunity missed.

2) Canned Heat are a revelation. Fantastic performance from them. They made it into the director's Cut, but here you see them in greater detail. What a band.

3) Bert Sommers shows up on the Woodstock Diaries. Worth checking out... a great missed Woodstock legend.

4) Hendrix? I'm one of those who thought his performance sloppy... which is what people thought at the time.

5) Joan Baez shines out, a great star of the era.

Lots of mini documentaries about the filming of the movie, its cultural significance and so on.

Cynics have scoffed, the entire hippie ideal rapidly became a sort of easy historical joke: but it was no joke, and all those flower children produced seeds...

Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making the experience better and better... Yes we can!, 7 Nov. 2009
By 
Simon A. J. Rijsdijk (The Netherlands, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The movie has always been great. It's giving you the experience as you were there at the time. But now it's even better. The special features on this document are fantastic. And for now, there it is: three songs of the performance of Creedence Clearwater Revival on the Woodstock Festival! I've been waiting for that one for 40 years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodstock [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I you are a fan of the 1960s hippy movement or love the musicians of that era then this is perfect. You get a real sense of what went on behind the scenes and that even with all the continuing problems they endured it was still one of the most significant events of the decade.

Festivals are so common place now we forget how unique it was at the time. Many kids had no idea how to look after themselves in the country and so the people who made it all possible when out of their way and some went bankrupt to look after the visitors to make sure they were fed and treated for the many medical incidences there were. Drugs were available to everyone and so there were lots of poor kids who had bad trips or didn't understand how to deal with them and so people who were helped were then trained to help the next flow of doped up kids.

The atmosphere there seemed so unique and yes peaceful, people say it was great it was a free festival but it had to be paid by someone and those few people at the top lost millions until this film was bought by Warner Bros. several years later.

Thanks to Michael Wadleigh who managed to get so many camera men with the new cameras to film so much, they must have been exhausted. I would love to see some more of the unseen footage.

I'm a great Woodstock fan, can you tell!?

People were so skinny in those days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest music documentaries of all time., 24 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. A. Binnie "purplesorbet" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodstock [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is a film that just has to be seen. Set aside a Sunday afternoon into evening and you'll have a blast. It really captures the mood of the moment, beyond Yasgars farm but into the whole era and the start of the decline of the American century. The interviews with the people on the ground are as (if not more) inspiring that the world class music that's on the stages. The editing is worth getting this DVD for on its own. It's clear that Scorsese and his collaborators knew what they were doing. Some of the editing is quite trippy but in the main it's straight forward and gives you the best seats in the house.

The extras are great especially for giving you an idea of how hard it was to make a film like this in what became a disaster zone. My only issue with the extras was that it didn't track down the interviewees and get their perspectives looking back.

This is a great movie and definitely one to watch in a double bill with Ang Lee's Taking Woodstock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia - for some!, 9 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. James West "Nebulous" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is for the bluray.

I'm very much a child of the seventies, so the hippy era passed me by, but there is still something quite nostalgic about it; a kind of memory of a glimpse of a favourite teacher in flowery clothes, giving a hint that she once had a life as well!

Over the last couple of days I have watched the bluray version of Woodstock, 3 days of peace and music, almost 4 hours of it. I have also watched some of the additional footage that wasn't included in the extended film. Including a song by the Grateful Dead that extended to over half-an-hour. Half -an-hour, in an era of three minute singles! I still don't quite know what to make of it. I have only seen parts of the film on TV before.

It's funny, but despite it being filmed on 16mm hand-held cameras it seems to work in HD. The cameras seem to have quite a shallow depth of field, and sometimes subjects appear to drift out and into focus, adding a kind of 'trippy' look to it. Colours were quite vibrant, and some of the detail was very sharp, although it certainly wasn't uniform. So Picture Quality was a mixed bag, well so was the sound. Again I think they have done an amazing job in presenting it, but the limitations of the analogue recordings of that era cannot be overcome very readily.

So what of the film? Well it is a lazy, self-indulgent, nostalgic, meandering journey through the three days of the festival. One of the interesting things was how tolerant many of the local people were. Despite being practically cut-off because of jammed roads, those interviewed were handing out water and food and were insisting 'The kids are all right.'

All-in-all it appears to encapsulate the peak of hippiedom. A bit before my time though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Woodstock [DVD] [2009]
Woodstock [DVD] [2009] by Michael Wadleigh (DVD - 2009)
£6.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews