Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars (& that's from a guy....)
I won't include any spoilers on this mixed up & crazy romantic tale of several relationships & how they intertwine & relate. This is a well-crafted relationship movie rather than just a romcom. Sure, there's comedy in it but there are also some fine performances from a stellar cast.

We have the married couple who probably shouldn't have got married. The girl...
Published on 22 April 2012 by Sean T. Page

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
This is a slightly more adult version of Love Actually. For the first hour it's a quite insightful film offering some interesting and often very realistic observations about the dating scene. Justin Long's character in particular has some interesting views on pick up artists.
The film isn't particularly funny but it does touch on some issues that we can all relate...
Published on 1 May 2010 by L Stein


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars (& that's from a guy....), 22 April 2012
This review is from: He's Just Not That Into You [DVD] (DVD)
I won't include any spoilers on this mixed up & crazy romantic tale of several relationships & how they intertwine & relate. This is a well-crafted relationship movie rather than just a romcom. Sure, there's comedy in it but there are also some fine performances from a stellar cast.

We have the married couple who probably shouldn't have got married. The girl looking for love. The guy too scared to look for love. The guy whose seen what he thinks is love etc.

Made in 2009, this movie is actually based on a self-help book (I know - I don't know how that works either). For me Jennifer Connelly's sad, bittersweet story stands out, as she's a woman trapped with a man who doesn't really seem to love her.

There are twists & turns in this, I also advise having a tissue handy for a fantastic endings, with all tales tied up.

Get the wine & popcorn in, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 1 May 2010
This review is from: He's Just Not That Into You [DVD] (DVD)
This is a slightly more adult version of Love Actually. For the first hour it's a quite insightful film offering some interesting and often very realistic observations about the dating scene. Justin Long's character in particular has some interesting views on pick up artists.
The film isn't particularly funny but it does touch on some issues that we can all relate to, so there are opportunities for laughs but often it just left me feeling uncomfortable. Unfortunately the last half hour is a bit of a cop out (much like Love Actually) where everyone gets what they deserve. Even though that's an acceptable way to end the film it's just not really in keeping with the mood of what went before. Even so, this is well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not particularly romantic, not funny, but it is interesting. A "Rom-com" with a bitter aftertaste, 28 Aug. 2010
This review is from: He's Just Not That Into You [DVD] (DVD)
This appears to be a love film written by somebody who has absolutely no faith in men. If you doubt this, re-watch the film and see how many of the men in it actually act in a manner that makes them likeable to their girlfriends/wives. I can only think of Justin Long's barman, and for a film that advertises itself as a romantic comedy, that's a pretty bad footing to work from. Having said that, the writing's pretty hard on all of the characters, with even perhaps the most central female role played by Ginnifer Goodwin having astoundingly poor judgement and an almost unrealistic manic air about her. Jennifer Connelly plays bravely against type as a horrendously overstressed wife with a 1 millimetre fuse and a very aggressive temper. Drew Barrymore's character perhaps comes out the best of all the female roles due to portraying a rather sweet sense of longing - a sense of "if only I could meet the right guy" rather than the crazed manic state of mind of half of the cast. Justin Long's character is far from a stereotypical nice guy, but his blatant honesty and lack of pretence, coupled with his natural charm, help make what could have been an objectionable "you're doing this wrong" style 'mentor' role a clever and interesting character. On the whole, the storylines are flimsy, and some of them just aren't memorable: for instance, I know Jennifer Aniston was in this movie, I'm just struggling to remember any of her acting. Many of the storylines are misjudged as well. The Affleck and (Aniston?) storyline ends up feeling almost more like a case of a guy caving under relationship bullying than wanting to compromise. The story Connelly is in is perhaps the worst of the bunch, a very sour bunch of grapes that taints the whole fruit bowl. The writer(s) would have been far better off trying to focus on some of the stronger and more amusing storylines rather than spreading themselves across the entire selection presented here. The scattergun method they chose means the best ones (Goodwin and Long) get shorter running times than they deserved.
Don't misunderstand - this is a good, largely well acted, and rewarding film. But boy is it NOT a 'romantic' comedy in the sense that your faith in love is restored. It's more an examination of how badly overcomplicated and disastrously messed up relationships can get, with a few sparsely spread funny moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Watchable - An American Love Actually, 18 Sept. 2011
By 
This review is from: He's Just Not That Into You [DVD] (DVD)
In the same vein as Love Actually (only american!) this film is a well paced, well cast, interesting, tearful, laugh out loud, well observed night in. (Personally I love the John Hughes reference to Some Kind of Wonderful...) Each individual story within the film stands up on it's own and occasionally intertwine with each other in a non cliche way. The design and scriptng of this film ensures that no matter who you are you will find a character to identify with and although there are some big names in there no one steals the limelight and some genually underated actors get to showcase their talent on an equal footing. It's not the usual 'chick flick' offering as the manly men out there get plently of opportunity for some laughs. Overall it's a film that leaves you sighing with satisfaction at the end. I would recommend a watch as it will not fail to disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful - if I wanted to watch insane people, I'd buy One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, 9 Jun. 2013
This review is from: He's Just Not That Into You [DVD] (DVD)
This film is one of the worst "romcoms" I've seen. Everyone in this film seems to have some kind of personality disorder. There is no way that Gigi is a normal person, as she seems to stalk every man with a pulse, and I also have my doubts about the woman who's married to Bradley Cooper (I have no idea of most of the characters' names). I couldn't tell if I was supposed to root for Scarlett Johanssen's character, and Drew Barrymore's character was the most normal one by miles.

The male characters were no better. All muppets! No character or personality, and it was just bad - I didn't want anyone to end up with anyone else in this film, and it just had these random sound bites from extras, which didn't really add anything. They would have done better to work on characterisation and personality within the existing stories.

I have seen it twice now, and it didn't improve upon a second viewing, so I'm donating the DVD to charity tomorrow morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "He's Just Not That Into You" - Your date-by-numbers guide!, 19 May 2009
This review is from: He's Just Not That Into You [DVD] (DVD)
Hey, you...stop sitting by the phone waiting for him to call...get up and go watch this movie!

I have to admit, I'm not much of a rom-com watcher. Unlike others of its ilk, though, this flick wisely admits that relationships aren't all rainbows and butterflies, but that they are complicated, confusing, messes that aren't necessarily all sorted out by the time the credits roll.

The premise is simple enough - the film claims:

"If a guy says he'll call and doesn't, he's not in the hospital with a broken number-dialing finger; he's just not that into you".

After a mediocre first date with pre-recession real estate agent Conor (Kevin Connolly), the film's main protagonist Gigi (Ginnifer Goodwin), over zealous for date success and naively optimistic as ever, is certain that she has found Mr. Right. But when he doesn't call, her friends (Jennifer Aniston as Beth and Jennifer Connelly as Janine) comfort her with assurances of his interest and case studies of how they knew someone who knew someone in the exact situation - and it worked out for them, of course!

Not that Beth or Janine are living it up in the mansion of romantic bliss, mind you. Aniston's character has been living with Neil (Ben Affleck) for seven years, and for five of the seven, she's been dying to know why he won't pop the question. Wholly against the institution of marriage, though, Neil says that he's totally committed to her and he doesn't need a piece of paper to prove...yadda, yadda, yadda.

Connelly's character Janine on the other hand is married. Happily? Not so much. Ben's (Bradley Cooper) baby blues are soon tempted toward blonder waters when he meets Anna (Scarlet Johansson) at a convenience store one fine evening; how convenient. Too bad he's married, he reasons.

Drew Barrymore easily plays Mary, Anna's friend. Her role is pretty forgettable; but then she did spend most of her time producing the movie.

Justin Long plays Alex, the woman conquering bar owner who decides to school Gigi in the thinking of men, no feelings spared.

For the most part the story lines are tied together in believable ways and it's interesting to watch just how they're all connected - kind of like 6 degrees of separation.

A tough pill to swallow:

Perhaps too realistic at times, "He's Just" exposes the well-intentioned way we women attempt to comfort our spurned friends - not with assurances that despite her many attractive qualities, the guy just isn't interested for one reason or another. Instead, we assure our friends that there is no way he could be uninterested.
Really ladies, if you suspect that your friend is dating a guy who can't see her true worth, before you swell her head with an idealized, irresistible image of herself, please take her to see this movie, and let her do some soul searching. The film will do all the talking for you without patronization.

Be warned:

It's hardly a date movie (unless you want to end the date by breaking up when the scales have dropped from your eyes and you realize that you're more "into" the relationship than your significant other).

Best performances from: Jennifer Connelly as Janine who is more obsessed with the idea that her husband is smoking behind her back than that he is having an affair. Ginnifer Goodwin too has earned her keep. Her embarrassing attempts at securing "the one" are so realistic you will likely find yourself reddening at the all too familiar lengths to which she goes.

Best line from the movie: Listen out for the line the guy uses who ends up with Gigi (won't say who ;-)), it could be the "You complete me" of the 21st century!

Disclaimer:
This film may cause some discomfort. Side effects are generally mild and may include feelings of embarrassment over previous postdate obsession/stalking.

4.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible and evil!, 20 Sept. 2009
This review is from: He's Just Not That Into You [DVD] (DVD)
Since I like to be positive, I will start with the good things:

1. Jennifer Connolley is very good, especially considering the terrible material she had to work with.

2. There is a moment in the film that could have been great had the rest of the film not been so poor.

3. It's a fantastic lesson in how NOT to write.

That's about it I'm afraid. Onto the bad stuff.

1. The film title tells you the message of the film. So don't sit there for two hours having it drilled into your skull: it's tedious (and that painful).

2. If you're a woman - don't watch this film: the film portrays women to be stupid.

3. If you are male - don't watch this film: all men are scum who are cheaters or unwilling to commit (apparently).

4. Not only is its portayal of men and women horrible, its portrayal of their relationships is even worse. The tiresome observation that men and women are so different they can't communicate or understand each other properly.

5. the dialogue treats you as if you are stupid. There is a rule in writing - show, don't tell, and this film fails completely at that.

6. A rom-com by genre - it's not funny and it's most definately not romantic.

7. The amount of stories in the film is ridiculous considering they all have the same malicious(it's not insidious, for they TELL you everything!) message - relationships fail.

8. Even by the end of the film, I didn't know any of these characters names ( except bloody Gee gee) and I referred to them as "Ben Affleck" or "Jennifer Anniston". This tells you that they had to get these big stars to be in this film, otherwise it would be a complete disaster.

9. the characters are so one-dimensional.

10. Life is too short to be treated like a moron and told you're either stupid or horrible.

I don't like to be negative, but nobody deserves to be put through this film. If it makes you happy then that's wonderful, but I couldn't stand it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I'm just not that into it!!!, 5 Aug. 2009
By 
This review is from: He's Just Not That Into You [DVD] (DVD)
He's just not that you is one of those movies released just in time for Valentine's Day, guaranteeing its success as loads of love-sick couples will flock to see it. It really is clever marketing but no amount of cute packaging can disguise the fact that this movie really is rather mediocre.

The story tries too hard to be the American version of Love Actually, only without the Christmas magic and the happily ever-afters. However, unlike Love Actually, He's just not than into you is neither as funny or as romantic. It follows the lives of a series of loosely connected couples. There's one couple who are feeling the strain since they still haven't married after being together for seven years, another woman is feeling exasperated with all the technology available to communicate with now-a-days, another man is being tempted by a mysterious blonde to have an affair as his wife becomes inceasingly obsessed, while another girl is trying to find Mister Right but unfortunately she can't get it into her head when he doesn't return her phone-calls that he's just not that into her. In the meantime she fails to realise that her true love could in fact be the lad she least expected.

You get the general gist of the storylines: all problems that many people face in the real world. Nothing majorly original but hey what romantic-comedy is? The problem very simply with this movie is that it is neither funny (I laughed twice) or desperately romantic (only one storyline fits into that category). The script is weak as it tries to cover too much ground. It could have done without Jennifer Aniston's storyline, which tended to drag and go nowhere especially all the wedding sequences, which seemed extremely out of place, as they did not relate back to any of the other characters. The affair storyline and Goodwin's were probably the most interesting. It would have been better to have scrapped the other stories as they didn't go anywhere.

With an all-star cast featuring Jennifer Aniston, Jennifer Connelly, Ginnifer Goodwin, Drew Barrymore, Bradley Cooper, Ben Affleck and Scarlet Johannson, it is true to say that the acting cannot be faulted but to be hoenst the script or the stories aren't exactly challenging. However even the big names cannot save this film. Perhaps the producer should have focused more on actually having some good raw material rather than hiring as many big stars in the hope of them carrying this movie. True it ensured good cinema ratings but hardly good reviews.

To conclude this movie is just alright: nothing special but one could see worse. Watch it if it's on television or rent it out for a girly night-in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not just for the girls, 11 Jan. 2010
This review is from: He's Just Not That Into You [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely LOVE this film. At the cinema I laughed out loud, but also shed a few tears, and I loved it so much I couldn't wait for it to come out on DVD. My boyfriend really likes it as it is easy watching but you also feel for all the characters. He laughed at some of the things the women do.. but then I would say, I've actually done that!!! Then the men would come in with their chat up lines and I laugh... and my boyfriend says... men actually say stuff like that!! Hilarious!!! Great for watching with the girls or with your partner.

It's one that you can watch over and over again and isn't too long so you don't get bored. Every person who watches this will connect with at least one of the characters and its make you feel really strongly about them all.

It kind of like Love Actually with different story lines, that some how all link together, it makes you say.. oh my god, that happened to me, that's how I feel or felt and you become gripped. There are a host of brilliant actors, a fast moving plot, you get straight into the film immediately and I can't even pause it to go to the loo because I want to keep watching. In fact writing this makes me want to go and watch it again right now!

One of my favourite films of the year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 18 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: He's Just Not That Into You [DVD] (DVD)
This film is brilliantly set out, with all the different stories it really keeps you interested.
Very clever movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

He's Just Not That Into You [DVD]
He's Just Not That Into You [DVD] by Ken Kwapis (DVD - 2009)
£4.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews