Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Have a Thoroughly Enjoyable Evening!
"New In Town" is a romantical comedy set in a cold (in more ways than one), small town in Minnesota. Lucy Hill, played by Renee Zellweger, comes into town to manage a traditional home town plant with instructions to mechanize and downsize. This is a predictable story of conflict and conversion as Lucy and the workers, especially the union representative, played by Harry...
Published on 4 Dec. 2010 by James Gallen

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the Ice Woman cometh . . .
Every man must do his duty and so I did mine taking the girlfriend to see this movie. Renee Zellwegger, queen of the genre "chickus flickus" swaps her big pants for killer heels as ruthless career woman Lucy Hill in this small town/big town rom-com.

Drawing the short straw and unceremoniously dispatched from sunny Miami to a freezing small town in Minnesota...
Published on 6 Mar. 2009 by tallpete33


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the Ice Woman cometh . . ., 6 Mar. 2009
By 
tallpete33 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: New In Town [DVD] (DVD)
Every man must do his duty and so I did mine taking the girlfriend to see this movie. Renee Zellwegger, queen of the genre "chickus flickus" swaps her big pants for killer heels as ruthless career woman Lucy Hill in this small town/big town rom-com.

Drawing the short straw and unceremoniously dispatched from sunny Miami to a freezing small town in Minnesota (near Canada apparently), the unfortunate Ms Hill's task is to halve the headcount of the Muncke food processing plant; the town's main source of employment and it's lifeblood. After kitting herself out from head to toe in North Face, she surprisingly finds herself warming to the town and it's welcoming (for the most part) people and in particular Ted Mitchell, the union rep (Harry Connick Jr.) thus causing a serious conflict of interest. Rescued from the snow by the bearded "beer drinking pick-up driving loser", her heart slowly melts and she finds herself empathising...and more with the townspeople.

This is gentle stuff, all well acted, if a little predictable but none the worse for it. The "fish out of water" card is played but not overly so, same goes for the small town/big town resentments and clichés. This part was written for Zellwegger who can wear killer heels or anoraks and look hot and girl-next-door in the same film. Small town "hicks" come out on top, of course, but that's the nature of this type of movie and it's not bad stuff.

This has mum's birthday/Christmas/Mother's Day present written all over it. I'm just glad I didn't have to sit through Momma Mia (7/10)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Have a Thoroughly Enjoyable Evening!, 4 Dec. 2010
By 
James Gallen (St. Louis, Missouri, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New In Town [DVD] (DVD)
"New In Town" is a romantical comedy set in a cold (in more ways than one), small town in Minnesota. Lucy Hill, played by Renee Zellweger, comes into town to manage a traditional home town plant with instructions to mechanize and downsize. This is a predictable story of conflict and conversion as Lucy and the workers, especially the union representative, played by Harry Connick, Jr., clash and win each other over. Amidst the story is a series of downright funny incidents. I am generally not a movie fan but my daughter told me that this was a family movie so I gave it a try. She was right! We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. You have one too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars warm and funny, 1 Aug. 2010
By 
B. Broom - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New In Town [DVD] (DVD)
Me and my daughter just watched this dvd and laughed our heads off, brilliant easy to watch rom com. Im giving it a five star as its such a fun movie to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, Uncomplicated, Funny. What's The Problem??, 7 Feb. 2010
By 
Ghostgrey51 (Britain) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: New In Town [DVD] (DVD)
OK. Head's above the parapet time! I bought this in HMV so that my wife and I could sit down and just watch an enjoyable easy-going film.
Having read the info on the back of the DVD jacket I had a very, very good idea on how this was going to go, and indeed I was nearly 100% right (we didn't get an ending with a marriage ceremony or during a visit by the grouchy suits at Miami Head Office one or all of them taking a tumble in snow, moose crap or a food vat).
It was a light, funny and generous film, and one I would recommend to anyone who wants to just sit back, kick off the shoes and the cares of the world. Good work by the cast!
And that is absolutely, positively, certainly well and good by me.
I just might buy the Soundtrack CD
By-the-by if you think Renee Zellweger is pure lite-weight watch Cold Mountain or Nurse Betty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars aka The Renée Zellweger Show!, 31 Jan. 2010
This review is from: New In Town [DVD] (DVD)
If you're into air-head blondes with a prune-like face, which prance around slippery pavements through icy weather in stiletto heels, 'New In Town' is most definetely the one to watch. Renée Zellweger travels from Florida to Minnesota to implement sunshine-state-living into a rural society, situated somewhere near the polar circle. In doing so, she features in every scene, whether it be jogging in lushy Miami surroundings, attending boardroom meetings, settling in with bible-belt arctic natives, or being stranded on a snow driven motorway with a see- through nighty on a stick as cry for help. In this picture Renée's character is called Lucy Hill. Why the men upstairs bothered to give her character a name at all is beyond me. Renée would have done fine. As I see it, this film is Her Show and her co-actors feature as extras who seem only too thankful for the opportunity of appearing alongside her highness. It is this supporing cast whom I rate three stars. The ladies in New Ulm were wonderful with their quilts, scrap-books and home made tapioca. Tapioca - a lumpy kind of custard, eaten straight from the fridge, out of a glass bowl with cling film still attached and best enjoyed sporting a face like a wet weekend - turns out to be almost as vital an ingredient for NIT as Renée herself. It is this pud which saves the cold-ridden inhabitants from complete hypothermia. Renée makes sure she gets all the credits, wins the hunky, full bearded unionman around and lands him as husband to be, after he'd streamlined himself into Renée-fitting attire. So, off went the beard and on came the three piece suit, atop which a shiny, clean shaven face wondered where, on the way, it had gone wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This Isn't What Blu Was Made For, 30 Mar. 2010
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: New In Town [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
New In Town is a good film, don't get me wrong, Renee Zelwegger trying to improve a town in turmoil is funny and heart warming, but sadly this blu-ray doesn't even get close, the picture is not as good as the standard def edition, which is disappointing. The colour is good, but it's just not as glitzy as Stranger Than Fiction on Blu-Ray. The sound wasn't particularly impressive either, which was disappointing too. This is no where as good as Entertainment In Video's last release - Rush Hour 3, which was high bitrate, and good quality, with rich sound.

Definitely not worth buying, this offers nothing over the standard definition version, which is really a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cliched but entertaining, 27 Dec. 2009
By 
shpadoinkle - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: New In Town [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a bit patchy. There is some good, witty writing for the excellent supporting cast, and the two leads are charismatic and likeable (if a little one-dimensional). I loved the quirky, snowy town setting (somewhere in Very Northern America, possibly Canada - geography isn't a strong point for me). However, it contains every rom-com cliche in the book, and this kind of detracts from the story. For example- (Mini-spoiler if you dont know how rom-coms end...) -obviously, they are going to get together in the end, but does there HAVE to be a kissing-while-a-room-full-of-people-cheer-and-applaud-them-scene? It's just embarrassing. And it's not even a good cliche. If a couple suddenly started smooching infront a huge room full of people in real life, I'm pretty sure awkward silence would ensue, and perhaps the odd 'Get a room.'

But overall, this film is very pleasant way to spend an hour or two, if you have a sweet tooth. It also has a few nice extras -two lighthearted making-ofs (it sounds like it was cold, and fun), and a very twee look at 'The Art of Scrapbooking'. (Scrapbooking is featured in the film - it's not just a odd way to get another special feature on the DVD.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needed more humour, 28 Sept. 2012
This review is from: New In Town [DVD] (DVD)
For a romcom, this movie seemed more Rom and less Com. It was the viewing equivilent of easy listening music. Very predictable, very easy on the viewer, but could have done with more laughs along the way and a bit more to the plot, which would have made it feel more involving. It's not a bad movie per se, but not one I'd watch again and again, if you see what I mean?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New In Town [DVD] (DVD)
I actually purchased two copies of New in Town and sent one to my sister as I love the film that much. I think it is a lovely chick flick and it never fails to cheer me up especially as I am a big fan of Harry Connick Jr and Renee. If the DVD wears out due to contact watching I will most certainly replace it as I love this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An unusual purchase........, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New In Town [DVD] (DVD)
Not the sort of thing I buy as a rule,but having seen a small part of the film on TV,decided it might be amusing. I was pleased that my guess was right. It does help the fun of the story if you have a rough idea of the U.S. way of life in certain areas. Although it is "America" each state does have it`s own quirks and behaviours as well as slightly different ways of looking at life. This film takes a slightly tounge in cheek look at small town Minnisota,and is witty and to some degree informative of a way of life. All in all Ms Zellwiger does her usual sterling job,but the rest of the supporting cast have a great deal to do with the films success at being funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New In Town [DVD]
New In Town [DVD] by Jonas Elmer (DVD - 2009)
£3.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews